Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

2 People found this comment helpful

These pills are the only ones strong enough to put an end to my horribly painful menstural cycles. I have been on this pill for six months and have not had a single issue. I have participated in a study for this pill and my sister did one for Yaz where 10 women were given the placebos (fake pills) and the other 10 were given the active pills and the 10 women on the placebos were the ones that gain...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I began using this medicine for irregular menstral cycles about 2 yrs ago. I have 2, (yes 2 periods) a month. Since using the pill, I have gained no weight (something I really need to do b/c I have other medical problems epilepsy & crohn's disease), I am still having 2 periods a month & I was married 5 mos ago so I truly HOPE the effectiveness of birth control is working. My doctor suggested skipp...

Shared reviews and ratings

mary | 55-64 | Female | Patient
7/16/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Use Ovcon50 I donot clot if I didn't take this pill would bleed out in 3 days it saved my life it have been month since company stopped putting ovcon50 out no date they said ran out how long going take make pills now lost 5packs because of this. please help me I need get something work until they get them back for sale again I got 4 packs left only take yellow pills not sugar why take 50 so can't bleed all my blood please help mary Burger of waldport oregon 97394 P.O. Box 2281

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I reviewed this drug in early March on this site (mine is the review below this one). As expected, I had to come off of this medication and I was switched back to Nortrel 1/35. The side effects of this medication were way too much to bear, particularly around the time of "menstruation". The main reason I was switched is because this hormones caused severe depression. Though I must be honest and say I am already a person who is susceptible to depression as I was diagnosed in the past. However, I did not have any major problems on my previous birth control, which is the one I've switched back to. Normal mood swings and other side effects during the first month of switching back but NOTHING like I experienced on Ovcon-50. If you have any susceptibility to depression or other mental/emotional issues...OR you get particularly bad PMS....I do not recommend this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lifestyle | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2012
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this pill 6 days ago and OMG my lower back and lower abdomen hurt like hell. is like is something was forming inside of me or is being destroy. The walls of my vagina hurt literally speaking. I'm nauseas all the time and depressed. My nights are horrible can't sleep cause there is no position that I feel help my pain. I feel the need to pee all the time because of the pressure down there. I'm seriously thinking of getting off the pill. I took generic birth control for six months but it was recall and it was as bad as the one Im taking. There most be a better way to do this! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ovcon Hell | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was involuntarily switched to ovcon 50 from nortrel 35 when my doctor alerted me that I needed to be on a higher dose of birth control due to interactions with another medication im taking. Well the side effects have been almost unbearable. ive only just finished my first week and ive had severe depression/mood swings, bloating, cankersore, headaches, nausea, abdominal cramping and just yesterday started to have breakthrough bleeding. I just ended my period right before I started this medication, and it feels like I have it again a week later. Miserable. I havent had any noticeable weight gain/loss..then again, I havent weighed myself so im not completely sure. I know the body takes time to adjust during a switch, especially to a higher dose of estrogen, but I dont know how long I can tolerate these side effects. Hoping they subside after a little more time on the medication, but I guess only time will tell. As of right now though, im miserable. :(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amywright | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/7/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I dont have any problems it regulated my monthly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/11/2010
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a bleeding disorder called Von Willenbrands disese this med has changed my life , I take continuously with only 2=3 periods a year , per doctors order , I am no longer tired and anemic all time , no cramps, also a good side effect no more depression . I am under the care of Ob-Gyn, and Hematologist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/3/2010
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im 23 i was diagnosed in June with endometrosis. I have been taking this medication for almost a year. It stopped working for me. I have been on it constantly for four months and have no results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
isavelives | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/17/2010
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had bleeding on and off constantly. Since this medication I have had normal painfree periods and love it! I like knowing when I am going to bleed and when I am not. Makes my life easier and stress free. I would recommend this medication to anyone who likes to control their periods.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/8/2009
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
whiskeygirl_18 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my main concern is that this medication is not working for me in the way that was perceived by my doctor and myself. I am still having severe pelvic pain. I have been on this pill for 4 or 5 months so far and everyday all day my breasts are sore. It used to only be when my period was here, but this is a constant pain. Great, another constant pain to deal with. If it's not one thing, it's another. As far as my period goes, my cycle is pretty regular, not 100% yet, but hopefully getting close. If I can just get my breast and chronic pelvic pain to go away I'd be well off.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/20/2009
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Periods are not regular and lots of cramping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/23/2008
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began using this medicine for irregular menstral cycles about 2 yrs ago. I have 2, (yes 2 periods) a month. Since using the pill, I have gained no weight (something I really need to do b/c I have other medical problems epilepsy & crohn's disease), I am still having 2 periods a month & I was married 5 mos ago so I truly HOPE the effectiveness of birth control is working. My doctor suggested skipping the last week of the pills & go straight into the next month. I will begin that this month. So we'll see. Also, I still have extremely painful cramps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Little LL | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/27/2008
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These pills are the only ones strong enough to put an end to my horribly painful menstural cycles. I have been on this pill for six months and have not had a single issue. I have participated in a study for this pill and my sister did one for Yaz where 10 women were given the placebos (fake pills) and the other 10 were given the active pills and the 10 women on the placebos were the ones that gained the weight. It's all mental. You hear you can gain weight from a medicine so your mind tricks you into packing on the weight. It's really your eating habits that you need to look into before anything. If you stuffed your face with hot dogs and sticks of salami before you took the pill and you don't change your eating habits then of course you are going to pack it on. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenpro | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/20/2007
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I still have some pain but overall it's much more manageable. I initially was seen for painful orgasms, but since I have been on this medication I have had a 99% decrease in painful intercourse! However, I did notice though I had changed my eating working out habits for the better I put on a fair amount of weight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More