Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

This medication worked very well for me. I will request it if needed in the future.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

This medication only made my BV worse. It was too messy and it caused me to have to wear a mini-pad during the night and day. After the 5 days of usage, my BV seemed to be a lot worse than before I started taking the medication. I didn't have any side effects, but I feel that due to the cost of this medication ($15), it should have worked. Now my doctor has prescribed the pill form (flagyl)500...

Shared reviews and ratings

Boulderchick | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2016
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Post menopausal BV for 3 mos before diagnosis. Have used oral flagyl in my younger years and it was horrible on my stomach. The gel was kinda yucky but the 5 days passed fast with no side effects and condition is much better. Was unhappy that it contains parabens and propylene glycol which I avoid in other skin care products

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kd | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2014
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JayLeon310 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2014
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication only made my BV worse. It was too messy and it caused me to have to wear a mini-pad during the night and day. After the 5 days of usage, my BV seemed to be a lot worse than before I started taking the medication. I didn't have any side effects, but I feel that due to the cost of this medication ($15), it should have worked. Now my doctor has prescribed the pill form (flagyl)500 mg, 2x a day for 7 days. Today is my first day, so hopefully it'll clear up my BV.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tilt69 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/15/2013
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed this and antibiotic for "cervix and uterus irritation." This medicine caused MILD cramping after 3rd dose and SEVERE cramping after 4th dose. Not worth it in my opinion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/8/2012
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/20/2012
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JBT3618 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2012
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PinkyPie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2011
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did not work for me! Prior to taking it my only symptom was an increase in discharge. The medicine has caused iching and burning and after 5 days of taking it I'm worse then when I started. I had severe cramping (think BAD period cramps) for 2 days and was nauseated for 1. I delt with the side effects because I wanted the infection to clear up... however that did not happen!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marlow08 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2010
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

got very dizzy and pelvic cramping, and nauseated...and i did not drink any alcohol...id rather be itchy!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2010
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately it has not worked for me. Looking into other options. Also important to note that I had a severe rection to alcohol use with this drug. Do not have alcoholic drink, use mouthwash, or anything containing alcohol on skin. Swelling occured in tongue, lips, and oral glands.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/26/2010
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel better after the 5th doses and I two doses per day due to severe infection. After the 5th dose, I feel tired but the itchy seems to be cure. I wash myself two to three times a day to avoid too much moisture and hope that this can prevent yeast infection. I am on my 6th dose and believe this medicine cure my infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2010
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has stopped the itching like right away and I don't have a sweaty odor anymore!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deeva | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2010
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ditto..this has worked far better for me for treating BV than taking pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sealovingmom | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2009
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had some reactions to it like dry mouth, blood pressure went up and flushing and I only took half the dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
classywoman | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2009
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is not effective. I am still experiencing abdominal pains and my vagina seems as if its dilating. I have a constant discharge and odor when moving around for long hours. I really wish there was something else out there, because this medication is not doing it for me. ugh!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2009
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Experienced a large amount clotting discharge, swelling, and a rash. Discontinued use of the medication before the 5 days were up because of it being very painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed a big difference after one application but have used it for the full five days as prescribed. I'm confident that this has treated the infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
judge | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2009
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had good results just after one application! I'm still using it ,and it seems to be very effective. The only ill effective was that I drank a glass of wine and soon after I got sick. I did not know til I read it here that you can't drink.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dreamer29 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2009
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find this drug to be very effective and easy to use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More