Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

Very effective for wheezing and coughing of asthma. It does give me nausea and a sore throat, trouble sleeping and dizziness, however it's better than not being able to breathe. It doesn't make me agitated and belligerent like Albuterol did. Rinse your mouth after using to get rid of the taste.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

after being on this drug for over a month I have had constant Nausea , Diarria and my heart feel like its going to go blistic on me ! not to mention the feeling of faintness and dizzy it has halted my life for now !After today I will NOT use this again .

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | Patient
8/1/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this since 2003 when COPD became part of my life. This overrode the 1st inhaler that sent me back to the ER. It has saved me from 911 more than once and is just part of my day. It is always with me and allows me to keep walking. Part of my COPD help is walking-at least 3-4 miles a day. I joined a local Mall Walking group that has enhanced my life and keeps me a better, healthier person. This inhaler is always in my pocket- until the NEW AND IMPROVED Version! It now has a counter on the top and it no longer fits in my walking pants pocket! I am not happy! I tried a container from Amazon that had a hook for my belt loops and was the largest one with outside measurements that are exactly the outside on the unit-but that is not the inside measurements-the inside has a ribbon that runs the inside and this new unit will not fit inside w/o pushing the top counter. SO now I have to shove it into my pants pocket and put tissues around it and hope it stays there or carry it all the miles. I will not give up walking but this is not going to work for me. All the years w/o the counter, in my purse, pocket where ever I went it is with me but now I have a major problem...an added 1"plus. Same great product but this new packaging is a real problem for me. HELP!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WOlveria | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2017
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great when I have chest tightness and shortness of breath. It's the 3rd rescue inhaler I've tried since I always get shakiness. I didn't have shakiness at first, but on the 3rd and 4th doses I have had the jittery shakiness, and also chest pain when I take a deep breath. That's a new one. Doc says it sounds like my lungs are inflamed and gave me prednisone, but I only had this pain after taking Xopenex. So if you have chest pain when you breathe in deeply a few hours after you take Xopenex, that may be why.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/18/2016
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works so much better for me than Albuterol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
leander | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2016
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works much better than Albuterol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patti O | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This rescue inhaler has worked when four previous ones have not - my only negatives are keeping track of the number of doses remaining and my insurance company doesn't cover it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/12/2012
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only inhaler I've ever used which has helped me. Forty five minutes after taking it I usually get rid of a huge gob of mucus from my lungs. After taking Xopenex HFA for three months I have noticed some blurred vision and occasional slight dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/24/2012
Condition: Bronchospasm Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no rapid heart rate; works with one puff right before I exercise. Great drug - much better than ventolin

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/6/2011
Condition: Bronchospasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love this stuff, I use to use Albuterol and I use to get jittery, and had to take 4-6 puffs of it to feel relief where with the Xopenex HFA I only need to take on or two puffs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2010
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My physician prescribed Xopenex to replace Proventil. I have found that with Proventil I needed to take 2 - 3 puffs to receive full relief; however, with Xopenex HFA I need only 1 puff. The only side effect that I have experienced is a jittery feeling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mother | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
5/27/2010
Condition: Bronchospasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finding the right medication for my 15 year old son was difficult when he was first diagnosed with asthma because of negative side effects of medications used. Advair for example was not well tolerated at all. For many people it works. It was through trial and error that the right medication for him was found. He now uses Pulmicort and Xopenex successfully, but many of the others made him sicker than the asthma symptoms he had. From reading the other reviews it seems that finding the right medication(s) for asthma is also a process that one goes through. We had a very difficult time, but we eventually found the medications that he could tolerate, no side effects. Finding the right medication can be a difficult process and watching your child suffer from trying a medication that should make him feel better, but it doesn't, is a trying scenario. What works for one individual does not always work for another. Through trial and error and good medical support we found the right scenario for our son. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xopenex user | Patient
2/17/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everytime I use this medication I am relieved of my athesma but suffer tremors and tachycardia but it works so I am ok for now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zombi | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/6/2010
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This inhaler works good for me but it makes me cough. Does anyone else experience a cough with this inhaler?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn't use this medication as treatment because it is to expensive and medicare part B won't even cover a 1/3 of the cost and the pharmacy that I use isn't willing to loose $277.00 to provide me with the medication I need to get better. I feel that the drug company and the pharmacy are putting a price tag on my health.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rainyday | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/26/2009
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After I had my encounter with and old long forgotten friend(Asthma), I was prescribed this medicine. My experience with this drug is good, I was prescribed both the inhaler in case I had an asthma attack or felt one coming on, and the nebulizer one. I did have the shaking all over, but that has since gone away and my asthma is pretty much under control unless I run...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/24/2009
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like it, it doesn't make me jittery or nauseous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
payne2 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on it about 2 weeks now and it is working well for me. I take 2 puffs twice a day and I am using my fast-acting inhaler a whole lot less. I can even use it before exercising and it works as well as my fast acting inhaler. No problems with it so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/30/2009
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since my Allergist switched me from Albuterol to Xopenex HFA, I've noticed that when I have attacks that recovery has taken longer and has become less effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2009
Condition: Bronchospasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 hours from inhaling I became dizzy and got a terrible headache. Thought the next day would be better, but, got the same results. Did not help with breathing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Golfman | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2009
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it at 4:00 PM (one puff only)and sleeped only 2 hours that night. My heart pounded, I trembled, I was dizzy, I had muscle spasms and I had a head ache. However, I can say that I was breathing well soon after use. Perhaps, I forgot to shake it well and didn't get the proper mixture. I am new to these inhalers and all this is a new experience. Can anybody tell me what you get when you don't shakd it? It was my first use of this inhaler, so it probably sat for some time. I don't plan on using this ever again. Too bad! I'd like to get my moneys worth out of it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More