Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

Worked effectively to bring my ferritin down from 7000 to 1000 in 12 months. It is easy to use, just have to always take it with you and use on an empty stomach. I used it before dinner, so had to make sure to take before going out to dinner or for day long outings. Only downside is, it is very expensive.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

At present I am taking Defeoxamine through a portable pump for a 12 hour period each day. This kit consists of tubes, pump, bag and all the fittings and is starting to get me down. I was hopeing that Exjade would be simpler.

Shared reviews and ratings

IronChic | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2018
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very hopeful. Do not like mixing this med with juice.. psychologically messes with me... but juice doesn't change in flavor, so still have to gulp it down. After the 1st dose, I was in the bathroom for 2 hours. Poor tummy. Hopeful that I don't have to take this forever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2016
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been taking exjade for one month, its hard on stomach and heart.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bblaze | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2014
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MDS patient. Severe stomach and intestinal problems with extreme diarrhea Could not tolerate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alvin | 75 or over | Male | Patient
1/22/2014
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rash and itching

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
margo | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2013
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To much iron in my blood. I'm a MDS patient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunshine6420 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/21/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While I certainly appreciate the oral aspect of this drug (as opposed to the subQ chelation therapy) the drug itself is quite revolting. It's gritty and bitter, I find myself gagging trying to take it (although it's easier in very sweet juices). After years of taking this with orange juice I can no longer stomach the smell of OJ. The GI side effects are the worst. I intentionally skip my doses on days I have big meetings or will be traveling without close access to a rest room. It doesn't seem to matter when I take the drug, it always upsets my stomach and at random times during the day. I'll continue taking it as I'm transfusion dependent but (hopefully) a less disgusting version will be developed in coming years.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
belac | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2013
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

constipation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Badger | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2012
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you need financial assistance, try: Restricted Distribution Program Patients must obtain deferasirox through the Exjade Patient Assistance and Support Services (EPASS) program.21 The clinician and patient must jointly complete a prescription and reimbursement application.21 Following verification of prescription information and review of healthcare benefits, an authorized specialty pharmacy ships deferasirox directly to the patient or the clinician’s office.21 To enroll in this program, call 888-903-7277 or visit .21Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jm | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/27/2012
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken drug for six years, transfusion dependent anemia. Stomach problems helped by zantac. Take meds at night, works better than morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trev | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2010
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had severe rash after a few weeks. restarted onlow dose with steroids. take flax seed oil2tsp. a day eat a higher dairy foos diet. skin goes very dry. moisturise skin as often as possible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
6/8/2010
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is very harsh on the stomach after prolonged usage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/18/2010
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having so many blood transfusions for Leukemia, developed iron overload with Ferritin 2300. Taking Exjade for almost 1 year. Ferritin keeps flucuating. Got as low as 981 but then went up again. Not only is the medication EXPENSIVE, it tears up my stomach. Don't know where to go from here. What about diet? Are there foods that can help? I've limited my meat consumption but then I'm anemic. Help!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Iceburgslimk | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/28/2009
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Sidroblastic anemia. Too much Iron, not enough blood. I've tried Defeoxamine which worked very well, but was very rough on my body. Injection site, etc. Exjade is a good alternative. I'm just still trying to adjust. It upsets my stomach bad. I am currently taking it right before bed. I have been taking it for a year or more as of now. An affective pill bypasses and injection any day if you ask me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tinkerbell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/4/2009
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Father has Leukemia and has had chemo for the past 12 months. Due to the transfusions he has too much iron in his body. I would like to know what benefit IF ANY or what increase in quality of life he should expect. I would also like to know why a co-pay is $4,000.00 a month?!?!?! YOU TELL ME WHAT IS THIS MONEY GOING TO BUY! With a 4 month treatment plan I'd say Novartis is doing a damn good job of wiping out Senior Citizens Life Savings. $16,000.00 when it is all said and done Hope it is worth it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
juan28ca | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/2/2009
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IT DEPENDS HOW BAD YOUR CASE IS. I'M TO THE POINT WHERE I HAVE CIRRHOSIS OF THE LIVER. I HAVE NOT SEEN THAT MUCH CHANGE. I USED TO BE AT 7000 ON FERRITING NOW I AM AT 2300.IT HAS GONE DOWN MAYBE BY EATING HEALTHIER. NO RED MEAT, NOTHING THAT IS HIGH IN IRON.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B. Nick | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2008
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At present I am taking Defeoxamine through a portable pump for a 12 hour period each day. This kit consists of tubes, pump, bag and all the fittings and is starting to get me down. I was hopeing that Exjade would be simpler.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
magpie7175 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/26/2007
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked effectively to bring my ferritin down from 7000 to 1000 in 12 months. It is easy to use, just have to always take it with you and use on an empty stomach. I used it before dinner, so had to make sure to take before going out to dinner or for day long outings. Only downside is, it is very expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2007
Condition: Too Much Iron in the Blood for a Long Period of Time
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More