Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

63 People found this comment helpful

I was just reading through some of these comments about Ritalin, and I wanted to add my experiences. I was diagnosed with ADD my senior year of college (over 10 years ago) and had been taken Ritalin ever since. I agree with all the comments about experiencing the jitters and how you can operate with little sleep. Despite the side effects, it was a miracle! I had always taken the max dosage 20 ...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

i think this drug is a joke. its pretty much like taking speed. my best friend was prescribed it for school to conentrate but i think she didnt need it it causes her anxiwety and she never seems herself anymore. its a way the doctors can make money but never really even look into conditions just write out prescriptions and move to the next patient. there are other ways to curve hyperness or lack o...

Shared reviews and ratings

Peanut | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/12/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am 32 years old and have a very strong case of ADHD i had never taken Ritalin before today and i have never felt better in my life, i have notice a lot of thing that feel better in myself than i have whlist taking ritalin, i wouldnt turn back to not having them as its made life much better and more focused and made me feel more comfortable to be me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Narf | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/5/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I self administer Ritalin according to my needs. When I take the drug I’ll be able to accomplish in 45 minutes what would normally take me al day to work through. I am not a fan of the come down as it makes me crabby and extra hungry so I don’t medicate every day, only when I really need a boost of productivity for work. My lifestyle allows me to be unproductive and distracted a lot of the time, so I am lucky to not need to take it every day, but when I was working a standard 9-5 and when I was at school I took it regularly, and the difference in my ability to concentrate and work was noticeable - when I take it people make comments how peaceful and relaxed I am. Just having time moving at a consistent, steady pace makes all the difference in the world. Dry mouth and loss of appetite were the most common side effects for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/22/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I keep reading reviews talking about how bad Ritalin is. Let me just put it this way. I am 48 and was recently diagnosed with ADHD/combined. The Ritalin has resolved ALL of my mental issues (including anxiety and depression). What were 48 untreated years like? I was in a constant state of anxiety. My mind constantly raced with self-hating thoughts. Every. Last. Task. Took. So. Much. Emotional. Resolve. To. Start. Or. Complete. The past few years I have contemplated suicide just to stop the emotional pain. I now struggle with serious regret over what my life could have been had I been diagnosed and treated many decades ago. The risks if NOT treating ADHD are far worse than the potential dangers of the medication itself. I have only been on Ritalin for 4 days - but they have been the best 4 days of my entire life. I LOVE feeling calm, cool, collected, and with enough energy to do anything. I do not miss being constantly tired, apathetic towards everything, chronically forgetful, and clinically depressed with severe social anxiety disorder. This medication is a MIRACLE for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris M | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ADD and ADHD. I am on Lexapro for anxiety and take 20mg of Ritalin per day. I must be one of the lucky ones, as Ritalin has worked well for me so far after having been on it for 3 months. It has made a huge difference to my daily functioning- concentration, calmness and sense of well being. My family (wife and 4 adult children) have all commented on how much better I seem. I don't have an addiction problem, and if I thought I was becoming addicted, I would stop taking it immediately. But, I understand why some users report an addictive quality to the drug. It does sometimes produce a slight euphoria, which is very pleasant. I am fully aware of this and to counter this, I usually take half a dose (5mg) four times a day rather than 10mg twice a day. To help with tolerance to the drug, I usually take one or two days off from the ritalin. I don't really like it, but I do it to keep me 'unaddicted' as well. I grateful that a drug like this exists. There are no signs of the 'meltdown moments' I constantly used to experience. Looking back at some of my texts over the years remind me I don't want to be that person ever again! I feel like more functional person now...my true self. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kapi madan | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
10/24/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

People with Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity (ADHD) are suggested with Drugs like Ritalin in the name of Medications, at a very small age like 7. Where it is not their choice to accept it or not, because of this they get addicted to it for their whole life. It should be stopped because we can stop this in initial phase only, once it become the need of the patient, it is very hard for anyone to leave this. I better suggest this to parents to not give this drug to their kids, better go for some other treatments. And the one's that are addicted should break their dosage from time to time to get rid of this. I know how it feels to live your life on some drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annette Ahrend | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/2/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ritalyn has helped me so much with my ADHD and helped me function much better in all aspects of life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AW | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on day 5 of this medication. Ritalin 10mg in the morning. From next week I start 20mg in the morning so I'll update this review as time goes on. I was recently diagnosed with attention deficit disorder with classic symptoms. From day 1 I noticed about an hour after taking the medication it felt like a fog lifted from my mind. I could focus more clearly and actually get things done, my memory seems better, I can recall people's names and my vocabulary improves as before words were just lost sometimes in my head. I take the medication around 9am. By about 6pm I feel the fog starting to settle back in. So far the only unsettling side effect is racing mind when I'm trying to sleep. But it hasn't made me any more tired even though I'm getting less sleep. Next week my dose goes up to 20mg and 2 weeks after that it'll be 20mg in the morning and 10mg in the afternoon. I'll keep you posted...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skylar Wray | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/23/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this as a child. Like 4 or 5 and stayed on it for many years till my middle school years. When i stopped taking it i started going mentally insane, crying, screaming, hurting myself, throwing myself around. It was just got a good experience for me or my family during my high school years. I was never told i was on this till recently and now i am a 19 year old with a bunch of problems that i never knew why they existed. I still have depression to this day, my body cannot fully pump blood to the rest of my body so i get cold arms/legs and or cold fingertips and toe tips. I still get anxiety every day to even go outside because my body is discolored because of my low blood circulation it’s literally purple and red and pink in random spots on my body. I do not recommend giving this to anybody for anything. It needs to be taken off the market for everyones safety . THIS DRUG IS DANGEROUSLY ADDICTIVE I HAD WITHDRAWALS FOR 5 YEARS IN HIGH SCHOOL AND MIDDLE SCHOOL . i never got a choice in the matter because i was so young and they are just shoving drugs in a 4 year old kid to make her “calm down” .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day two, 10mg in the morning, 10mg at lunch. BOY do I hate this. Upside: my mind is quiet and Im not bouncing off the walls-for the first time in my life.( Im 27 and I only recently sought help for my ADHD and OCPD because it is all so out of control now.) Downsides: cold sweats, cant concentrate, aggression, irritability, I have to force myself to drink water, lock jaw, depression is Way worse. Its a saturday so I couldnt call my dorctor. My pharmacist told me to stop taking it and go in if things get worse. I just feel terrible. Like many others reviewing this, I would not recommend it to anyone, unless you are interested in everything I just said sucked. Obviously drugs are different for everyone, im hopeful about trying Adderall. the reviews seem to be better. I dont have an addictive personality and dont see how anyone could abuse this, but I can see from my research its a very real thing. advice-do your research!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thoguh | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/9/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 44 year old male who was diagnosed with ADHD at age 8. I've taken 10mg Ritalin off and on since then on an as needed basis. Basically when I need to sit and focus on something tedious. I don't take it daily, though I might if I had an office job. It has never really had any adverse effects on me. It does what it is supposed to do. I can focus mentally on one thing without my mind wandering or trying to multi-task. It allows me to be productive and allows me to get things done. This actually improves my mood as I feel accomplished. I don't have any negative mental or physical side effects that I notice. Again, I understand that things effect different people in different ways, and I see some crazy stuff from other people in these reviews, but I've never had a problem with it and it works for me. This is also why I've never tried anything else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Someone... | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2020
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far, so good. Kinda. I’ve been able to get a lot more work done and I feel happier when on it. I do feel pretty physically weird though, I don’t know how to explain it. Just a bit nervous cuz a lot of people are saying it causes depression. Not really a good thing considering I self harm already and have attempted suicide twice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Saleen | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/19/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked certainly for my ADHD. I take 20 mg daily. And definitely notice changes in my mood and concentration. Only thing is. I was on concerta for a while till I tired to overdose on it that's why I switched to Ritalin because Concerta made me sick after I tried to OD. One big difference is the side effects. I experience lots of side effects with this medication and my boyfriend notices it too and absolutely hates that I take this medication because it completely alters me. I can't sleep when I am on this medication because I shake to much and am way to focused on things like now as I am writing the review I know I am only writing it because I have nothing to focus on right now. Another issue is how addictive this is. I had to give my boyfriend the pills because I took them for a week and became addicted. Addiction runs in my family and never in a million years did I think I'd get addicted to Ritalin but I did and I had to stop taking it which means I was more moody and just awful to be around but getting off it was fairly easy for me just not anyone around me. But Ritalin works a lot better than concerta did but the side effects I feel aren't worth it. My anxiety gets worse. I can't eat when I'm on it or I feel physically sick. I can't sleep while on it because my brain I still working to quick. I can type like crazy though obviously. I stutter when I'm on it. And overall I think it's great for school work or exams but I can't do normal everyday things while on it because my brain works faster than I do and it only concentrates on one thing. It also affects my vision and I am not able to drive while I am on it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chandler | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/26/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After failed attempts with Adderall, Vyvanse, and Dexedrine due to horrible side effects. I was experiencing Severe anxiety, Tachycardia, and felt like a zombie. Ritalin has changed my life for the better. 20 MG IR 3 times a day has worked amazing for the past 5 years. I'm 20 now. Before Ritalin treatment for my ADD, I couldn't finish a task, I was looked down on as stupid. I also take this med for depression and it's helped it too. The only side effects that are bothersome are complete loss of appetite, mild mood swings, and euphoria. But compared to Vyvanse or Adderall it's a big change. I take Ritalin for my ADD And Depression, Klonopin, Xanax for PTSD, panic disorder and GAD, along with Lisinopril for my hbp. I have seen no interactions in the 5 years of taking this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more |
7/24/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this drug for ADHD from the age of approx 5 till I was 21. I can never encourage someone to take this drug due to the symptoms I have and I as a previous user I believe this drug should be used as a last resort. I suffered from depression which was either caused by long time use or it wasn't but what I can say with certainty is my depression/Anxiety was made worst to the extent I became suicidal. That was 7 years ago and I have been off the drug for 5 years and the symptoms mentioned above has gone completely. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/22/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best medication for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
samuel | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/18/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am a 16yo male i was taking ritilan for 4 years for adhd and when ever i took it i would feel sick and i wasnt able to sleep properly and now i have depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnSheppard92841 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 23 male recently diagnosed with ADHD and from my experience you're better off flushing your money down the toilet than to accept Ritalin. I was on Adderall but my doctor switched me over to Ritalin instant release, this is by far the WORST medicine I have ever taken. Literally NOTHING happened when I took this medicine, made me furious as I have to get an appointment with my doctor AGAIN to switch medicines which is now 30 days away and on top of that I wasted my money on this. Stay away from this drug at all costs!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jojo1217 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took adderall for the past three years for ADHD, but eventually felt tolerant and told my doctor that I was starting a habit of abusing the drug (started out taking 20mg a day and then started taking 80/100mg a day). So, he prescribed to me Ritalin and after the second day of taking the drug I needed out. I was deeply deeply depressed for hours after, light headed, dizzy, short of breath, irregular heartbeat, and nauseous. Overall, I was nothing like the normal me...I was a straight zombie, I couldn't go to work or even hang out with friends it was so bad. I didn't want to do anything, I can now say I understand why people with depression struggle with thoughts of suicide, because I could never live feeling like I did when I took Ritalin. I wouldn't prescribe it to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took it for ADHD and it helped me a lot focusing, though the side effects were depression after it wore off and I had headaches almost everyday, which made me stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gracie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/23/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken 3 times a day 7 days a week. 2 10mg at 10 am, 2 10mg at 2pm and 2 10mg at 5pm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More