Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

Right kidney removed 4-21-06. CT 4-11-07 showed multiple tumors in both lungs. After approval from ins. co. started Nexavar on 5-15-2007. Had hand foot syndrome, sore mouth, constipation but tumors shrank in 3 mo and were gone in 6 mo.I was off work for 5 mo then went back to work as side effects backed off. It is 7-27-08 and tumors are still gone. I know nexavar works. It may not be for everyone ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

My grandfather used this medication and it made him super sick and he had every side effect this medication has. It made what time he had left with his family very long and miserable for him.

Shared reviews and ratings

Ausencia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/15/2021
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took all her strength and never stop the tumors. Five months of slowly killing her.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2021
Condition: Thyroid Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi I've just started taking nexavar not even a week ago. So far I've experienced my feet being sore and now my legs are sore. I've had 3 headaches and not that hungry. I pray the meds work for me. I have desmoind tumors that came back they are aggressive like cancer but is not cancer I take the 200mg once a day...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ted | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2021
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

69 y/o male diagnosed with hepatic cellular carcinoma. I have been taking 800mg per day X 3 months. My proteins went from 29000 to 700 in 2months. I experienced diarrhea and nausea after the first week and still do. I lost 30 lbs. but in the last week my appetite has returned. I control the diarrhea with lomotil three times a day. I use sublingual zophran for nausea as needed. These drugs have enabled me to tolerate nexavar so it can do itâ??s work. Ct scan reveals the tumors are continuing to shrink and are less than half their original size and still shrinking. This drug has kicked my butt but it is kicking the cancers butt too. Iâ??m grateful for my docs, Nexavar and God almighty. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fatemeh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2018
Condition: Thyroid Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of Body
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had bad feed backs in during using

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Faithful | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/10/2017
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication since December. Broken out on my upper torso and head, what seems to be little tumors? Not to mention or the pain on my right side along with mild to moderate right side headaches. Looking to lower the doze to half since my Markers seem to bounce up and down. Not getting the support or full information on the cancer and where I stand. Without my faith and trust in the lord, I would feel truly alone..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Napoleon | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/8/2017
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Post liver transplant, in otherwise very good health, 8 weeks taking nex, 400ml, painful feet w/develop calouses after 4 wks, compression sox & skin cream help; mild sensitivity on palms of hands, Considered stopping, but will continue. Foot pain & sensitivity is physically & emotionally disturbing. Difficult to imagine taking 800mil.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/15/2016
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does not work,produces side effects, very ineffective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/25/2015
Condition: Thyroid Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of Body
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have hurthle cell thyroid cancer with 2 lesions- one in chest one in lymph node in neck. I have taken Nexavar for 10 months and the tumors have not grown and show necrosis on the interior. Side effects minimal however the control of blood pressure and potassium levels are critical.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
naxovar | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2015
Condition: Differentiated Thyroid Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taken that pill for only 3 days one side effect take me to emergency pain in my stomach. went they check me out i have pancritis, and take me 7 days to get out of the hospital. that pill can killyou in weeks ,, tot good..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lydmart | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/8/2014
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my husband had liver cancer and passed 2yrs ago. nexavar just prolonged his life for 3 months and pow all of sudden the liver got worse. Nothing saves your life. just prolongs your life a little bit longer so you can suffer more and fight and fight to live and nothing works. so much money spent on cancer research and no cure. something is not right.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lois | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2014
Condition: Thyroid Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of Body
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ten days after starting the treatment, I developed a serious allergic reaction to the drug. I was covered in red spots and rash all over my body _ everywhere!. This resulted in 2 days in hospital and stopping the treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
someone who cares | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/31/2014
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My hesband has hcc liver cancer and is taking nexavar. Like most cancer treatments it has been hard on him and has had to stop for a little while inbetween treatments for his body to catch up. Although the tumer has not shrunk it has not grown either. The drug is very hard on him but we are willing to give it a chance. I love him with all my heart and have been with him for 34yrs and hope we have many more to come. With this drug and alot of Jesus on our side we have a fighting chance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JuneABoy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/6/2014
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father celebrated his 78 birthday in July 2013 and had a great time. His health was fair. He was still very active, drove himself where ever he wanted to go and was full of LIFE. He, along with my mom did their best to keep with regular check-ups and took his medications as instructed by his doctors. He went to the emergency room with what he thought was an appendicitis due to the unbearable pain in his side. He was given this medication for stage 4 liver cancer (Hepatocellular Carcinoma). It deteriorated his health so fast it was worse than the cancer. It even caused early onset Dementia. It was 19 days from diagnoses to death. I would NEVER recommend this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wdawes47 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/23/2013
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lydia | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/8/2012
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my husband has been diagnosed with liver cancer stage iv been on nexavar for 2 weeks. so far mild case of itchys. not bad at all. But it gives him alot of pain, naseau and fatigue. he has to be on a bland diet because of his bowels. He is on 800mg a day. In may we will see if this pill shrinks his tumors.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dottie | 65-74 | Patient
1/19/2012
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a liver resection 7/22/11 where they removed a 2 1/2 lb. Tumor. Did not fit profile for hepatacellular carcinoma at all. Drs. Were surprised but, then again, why not me. Have lost most of hair , eyebrows, etc. But they will come back (I hope.). Rash in the beginning, no appetite, sore feet and constant diarrah. Have lost 45 lbs. So far. Could still lose more. Look good and feeling well. Everyone is amazed but I have a very positive attitude. I'm 67 year old female and have been married to my high school sweetheart for 45 years. I'm hoping to make it to our 50 anniversary, God willing. We can only do so much and the rest is upmto God. Keep the faith and pray.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Widow | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/15/2011
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was on nex. For a month. Lots of pain due to side effect. Colostomy, bleeding, leg swelling, back pain etc... Suffered for one year. And passed away in May 2011, He was only 51 years old. Saddly, it did not work for him.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pastor | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2011
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nausea, vomiting and diarrhea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shady | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
1/28/2011
Condition: Liver Cell Cancer
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

vomiting and loose stools contantly. Could not control the bowles

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MissBliss | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The 1st 2 weeks on Nexavar I had a rash everywhere! My oncology team adjusted the meds, & I am back at full dose again. Tea Tree Oil Shampoo really helps with the rash side effects. I am coping with the diarrhea by using Metamucil which bulks it up, so much better than taking another pill!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More