Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

41 People found this comment helpful

my mother has been on this drug for less than a year. At first the side affects were awful and she was removed from it. Then they lowered the dosage, now for the most wonderful news of all. This drug only helps 30% of people, she was told this drug would not save her life only prolong it. Well, she started with tumors in her lungs, her glands and in her liver. Now she has NO tumors in her lungs, n...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I recently lost my brother who was only 40yrs old diagnosed with RCC. After one million different tests that they did for almost one month on him doctors come up with an idea to start him on Sutent50mg saying it works on 70%of people. It's all big lie. People please don't believe it doesn't work at all. Instead it makes your life more misearable. Side effects of this medication actually killed him...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2021
Condition: Stromal Tumor of Stomach or Intestines
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second round of Sutent first round 50mg 4 wk on 2wks off. I have had every side effect nausea, vomiting, diarrhea , fatigue, hand and foot syndrome, hair turning white, lost 10lbs in 4 weeks due to the mouth sores cant eat but gained 4lbs back on my 2wks off, and also everything cleared up on my weeks off, but the hand and foot is coming back now but not as bad as the first round.. I had a MRI after first month had so shrinkage of tumors but not sure if the comparison as good because the first scans was ct scans and images wasn't as clear s MRI.. all my symptoms are manageable and im positiveRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/28/2019
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have had a couple of small brain tumors removed since taking sutent for renal cell caricoma

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pittboy | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/18/2019
Condition: renal cell carcinoma adjuvant therapy following nephrectomy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Right kidney removed Sept.2018. Started on 50mg sutent had to stop after 2 wks after serious side effects.dosage reduced to 37.5 mg have been on this for 6 months 2 wks on 1 wk off. Side effects are red rash on scalp,diarrhea,fatigue,everything taste salty,bumps on tongue that are sore.oct.24th of 2019 treatment to end.test shoes no cancer anywhere

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moto22 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/22/2019
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug killed my brother and proliferated his kidney cancer. He presented to hospital with fluid in the lung. Tests revealed kidney cancer with metastatic spot in lung. After less than three weeks on Sutent solid tumors had formed in the lung and chest wall. My brother lost all quality of life on this drug, he could barely walk through weakness caused by Sutent, his face swelled, basically he had all side effects. The oncologist did not explain fully what side effects may be serious, nor did he explain possible negative effects such as proliferation of cancer this drug can and does cause in many people. This drug was given to my brother and he was sent home to get on with it. No monitoring or contact from oncology department. My strong and well built brother survived only 2 months after taking this drug less than 3 weeks. He was not given proper information to enable him to make choices. People considering taking this drug tread very carefully, explore other options before going to this killer drug. In my opinion every cancer patient should automatically be given chemo sensitivity tests prior to treatment.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kenk | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/6/2018
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a radical right nephrectomy 24 years ago at the age of 41. I did not take any medication or receive any chemo following the removal of my kidney & the tumor. 5 years ago the cancer reappeared. I had a craniotomy to remove a tumor from my brain, kidney cancer. That was followed up with a PET scan which found I had Thyroid cancer, removed 6 months later & a spot on the middle lobe of my right lung which was removed 4 years ago. The spot on the lung was kidney cancer. At first my oncologist had me on Votrient. I took that for about a year. My oncologist then switched me to Sutent which I've been taking since spring 2014. I was taking 50 mg for 4 week on & 2 weeks off. The side effects (diarrhea mostly) were bothering me for about 3 of the 6 weeks. I've been on Sutent 37.5 mg, 3 weeks on & 1 week off and the diarrhea is a bit more tolerable but I still have it. It occurs mostly toward the end of my 3 weeks on but sometimes it occurs at other times in the 3 weeks I am taking Sutent. I had a PET scan last year and it was clear, so the surgeries I had several years ago along with the Sutent is keeping me alive. The brain MRIs have been clear as well. Thanks Sutent! The trade off is the discomfort of dealing with diarrhea for days at a time. I have also learned that there are certain foods I cannot eat while taking the Sutent. Greasy food are verboten! I am getting a little tired of having to deal with diarrhea but I suppose if Sutent keeps me cancer free I'll just deal with occasional diarrhea. I drink 6 oz of Kefir each morning and that seems to be helping my intestinal issues. Sutent works for me, no new lesions for going on 4 years now!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Colonelmoe | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2017
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 64 rear old male. Had a radical nephrectomy removing the right kidney 1 Nov 2016. Went on Sutent Dec 2016 for 2 nodules in left lung. I've been on 50 mg 2 weeks on and one week off and have now been on it for 4 months. In the first 3 months the only side effects were a few sore knots on the bottom of my left foot and some intermittent fatigue. I never stopped working full time. The last month the fatigue has intensified and in the last week my blood pressure went from 115 over 70 to 140 over 70. Even stranger, my normal pulse of 70-75 went to 46-50. I have no dizziness or any other symptoms associated with the lowered pulse rate. In the last week the diarrhea started and gotten progressively worse. Per my physician I quit sutent until my appointment in 3 days. I will also have a scan at that time to determine the efficacy of the drug. Unless results are significant, I expect to request surgery to remove the lung cancerRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Valde21 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2016
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

60 yr old Male, 170 lbs. Radical nephrectomy (left kidney) done Dec 2015. 2 nodules in right lung. Started Sutent 3 and half months ago. 50 mgs. 2 weeks one week off. One nodule has shrunk to half its original size. Side effects include nausea, fatigue, itching of the skin and blisters in hands and in nostrils, blisters in mouth, diarrea, feeling cold even on a hot day, severe stomach acid, gas, blotting, white hair (starting with eyebrows and beard) and minimal loss of hair. Some weeks I have some side effects, some weeks others. To handle side effects I take the medication right before going to bed so the nausea happens while I am in bed (sometimes I have to get up and vomit). For the acid, I stopped taking omeprazole b/c is reported to be bad for the kidney, so I use a grandmother's remedy: I take baking soda (one tsp solved in water) to fight the acid and the gas. Baking soda works like making a big bubble in your stomach but it neutralizes the acid: I feel much much better after a big burp. Baking soda has helped me throw up when I had a very upset stomach. Skin and blisters I treat with some vaseline or cream. For diarrea, I take every morning Benefiber, and it does wonders to make your stomach whole. I have to live with the gas. For fatigue, I exercise (at least I walk) as much as I can --I use to be able to swim a mile, now I do a third of a mile, but I feel great after the exercise, more energetic. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BJ Sell | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/25/2015
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

4 1/2 years on Sutent at various dosages. Left kidney removed as well as right adrenal gland. 9 Nodules in lungs when started; all gone. Some side effects but still working. Still have cancer, and will until gone, but this drug has helped keep me here this long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/21/2015
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently lost my brother who was only 40yrs old diagnosed with RCC. After one million different tests that they did for almost one month on him doctors come up with an idea to start him on Sutent50mg saying it works on 70%of people. It's all big lie. People please don't believe it doesn't work at all. Instead it makes your life more misearable. Side effects of this medication actually killed him faster. Swollen legs, unbelievable chemo imbalance in the body even paralysis of one side of his body, collection of fluid in his lungs. They end up putting up chest tubes on him to ease up his breathi. Doctors were trying to prove to me that its his tumors growing. It's not true. He came to the hospital with his own legs. After the first session of completing Sutent therapy which is 4weeks he changed completely. It did not work a bit.After begging doctors to continue the battle since Sutent didn't work thaey were trying to explain that all medications practically does the same thing and it doesn't make a sense to start new therapy even thouhg before starting any traetment on him they were saying thereis 7 different drugs to treat RCC.I'm feeling guilty of starting him on this pills.It only killed him faster and made him suffer more. I didn't understand in the beginning that chemo pills don't only kills cancer cells but kills our normal cells more. This is 21century and it's so sad to believe I couldn't save my brother in the country where people come from all over the world for treatment. I lost him in 4 months.In the last few weeks of his life doctors were saying they still don't have treatment for RCC they only try to prolong the life.Unfortunately it doesn't work.I'm in tears every day. If I only knew this in advance. Try to spend as much as possible the time with your loved one. It was very terrible to sit next to him and realize that you are just helpless. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/10/2015
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Right kidney removed 7/2011. PET scan 12/2011, showed 4 small tumors. Started sutent 2/2012, 50mg-2 cycles, 37.5mg-2 cycles, 25mg- 2 cycles, 12.5mg-currently every 4/2 cycles. PET shows no RCC cells. YEA. Side effects tolerable, no major problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/7/2015
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One year after radical nephrectomy was diagnosed with Stage IV metastatic renal cell carcinoma. Have been on Sutent for about 18 months now, 37.5/day, two weeks on, one week off... Side effects are unpleasant but manageable and fairly predictable. On Sutent tumors have either disappeared or have shrunk steadily to very small sizes. This drug has been a life-saver for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GU doc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2014
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only on 3rd week. Bad bloating, fatigue and sleep disorder

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SueB | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/29/2014
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There are many side effects. I can deal with these so far. I have been on sutent for 4 years. Currently 25mg, 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off. I started with 50mg then 37.5 mg. So far as I know it is effective. Scans next week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jobs43007 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2014
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/13/2014
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

food has no taste and loss of appetitte

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
raph | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/20/2013
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dans le cadre mon cancer du rein avec métastases au colon, et au cerveau, je prends le Sutent 50mg depuis 3 mois. Les effets indésirables sont une fatigue importante, manque de tonus musculaire, perte d'appétit, baisse du goût, saignement rectal, assèchement de la peau. Les efforts en valent la peine puisque ma tumeur au cerveau de 15mm c'est complètement résorbée en 2 mois. En d'autres termes, ce médicament m'a sauvé la vie même si c'est dure au quotidien.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leannpo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/7/2013
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom was prescribed Sutent for kidney cancer. Had pre-screening x rays, heart test, and blood work. All checked out great. Started in October. Took until Dec 6 when she developed pneumonia - couldn't kick it. Doc took x-ray, found extremely enlarged heart - caused by Sutent. She had side effects of sores in mouth, loss of taste. Never could kick the sores in mouth, her body was worn out from the heart damage. Even cancer doc said Sutent ruined her heart - kicker was, it didn't help her at all, tumors still grew. Changed medicine, but damage to heart was too severe, she was never able to kick the pneumonia and died from it. Wish doctor had given is other options, or explained better the chances of heart damage. Downplayed it, other message boards have several people with heart damage from it, too. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/26/2012
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lots of unpleasant side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/29/2012
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom used Sutent - 4 weeks into it she got pneumonia,, doc did x ray found out her heart had been damaged from the Sutent much like another poster's wife. She never recovered from pneumonia, she got a bit better but had to be on oxygen the final 4 months of her life due to the heart damage and had persistent coughing which wore her out. I'm thankful it is working for so many, but people should know heart damage is a real possibility as side effect so they can watch for signs. The last thing mom needed was heart problems... They thought she had clogged arteries so did tests, said her arteries were "pristine". But damage had been done to the heart from Sutent in only 4 weeks, that ultimately led to her dying from heart failure. Please - if you take Sutent watch for shortness f breath and swelling. God Bless everyone reading this page, it is a horrible cancer to battle. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sutent killed my wife | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/8/2011
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My wife (49) was diagnosed with kidney cancer in december of 2010, she had a partial nephrectomy for the tumor. About 8 months later i noticed a lump right on her scar line towards her back, she had a ct scan done and it was confirmed as cancer. She was referred to cancer and kidney specialists and was set up to take sutent 50mg. She was on her third week of taking the pills and started to experience mouth sores, vomiting, no apetite and general weakness. At this point i took her to the ER to have them help with the nausea and mouth sores. She was admitted at her own request. The next day she had been seen by a nutritionist and a kidney DR, also an infectious disease DR. He in formed her that she had a UTI. I spoke with her on the phone that night and she seemed ok and said that she was able to drink a can of ensure thanks to the oral medication for her mouth sores. The next morning i received a call from her doctor who said that she was having trouble breathing and they had to intubate her per her permission, he asked if she had any asthma problems or allergies and i said no. The doctor called me back about 20 min later and said that her heart had stopped 3 times. I was at the hospital by now and saw her in ICU and basicly on life support. He said she had fluid in her lungs and fluid around her heart and here organs were being compromised due to the lack of oxygen. Her pupils were unresponsive and to make a long story short, she passed away several days later after 3 more heart failures, nothing else could be done. WHAT HAPPEND? What happened overnight in such a short time, this was a nightmare! I feel the sutent compromised her immune system which caused her UTI to become septic and therefore kill her!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More