Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

75 People found this comment helpful

I take Amitiza twice a day. It helps me have 4 to 5 bowel movements a week. I was only going once a week before and the straining was terrible. I have a predictable movement instead of the explosive bowel movements I get with linzess or laxatives.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this medication for one week. It has relieved my chronic constipation but replaced it with loose stools bordering on diarrhea. My doctor prescribed taking the drug 2x daily. However, this produced very, loose stools, painful gas and stomach discomfort. I reduced the dosage to 1x daily and noticed some improvement. Since reducing the dosage, I have less gas, my stools are more fi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Margaret | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2021
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amitiza did not help with my constipation; quite the opposite I became even more bound up, bloated and in intestinal pain. I also was unable to go to sleep and developed pain in the middle of my chest. Even if this medication did help me, a fate I so very much wished, I would not continue due to the exhorbitant daily cost.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
goatzool | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2021
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Amitiza for IBS-C 8 years ago, but on an as-needed basis. It usually worked at 16 mcg, but the next day there was rebound constipation and I was reluctant to take it daily (largely because of the expense). Now I've been through them all and the doctor wants me to try Lubiprostone (now generic) on a regular 2x per day basis. Oddly, it is not as effective now as it was 8 years ago. I am going to try combining it with Miralax, which is apparently an option for colonoscopy prep. The bottom line seems to be that no laxative ever works predictably except (for me) mag cit, and it's a bad idea to take that daily.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Northwest | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/5/2021
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have M.S. and IBS. After much trial and error: my best daily regimen: Take 1 cap full Miralax in 10 oz hot water or coffee before breakfast. Take 1 8 mg capsule Amitiza with breakfast. Results in 2 hours. May need liquid glycerin suppository when you have urge to go. Dose of 8 mg Amitiza every morning is sufficient. Recommend sticking to a regular schedule but don't worry if you miss a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 55-64 | Male | Patient
7/19/2020
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Expensuve junk that made my poo like peanut butter. Mirlax works and is cheaper than $320 a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Will I Ever 'Go' Again? | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2020
Condition: Opiate Pain Medication causing Severe Constipation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor gave samples. Within 1 hour I got nauseated, hot all over, chest tight and lungs burning with tiny deep breath, felt 'bad' all over, heart pounding and anxious. Oh...and I had a bowel evacuation (only moderate) but was feeling so bad I needed to lay down. I can't take this stuff ever again. I was incidentally poisoned 10 years ago and the symptoms are the same. I wonder if it has any benzene or formaldehyde in it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frustrated | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2020
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me deadly Diarrhea with horrible dehydration. 1 of the most horrible laxatives I have ever taken.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
None | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/1/2019
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes you go just a little tiny bit without control about every 20 minutes like 8 or more times all day. Thatâ??s only taking it once instead of twice a day and 8 mcg. I canâ??t trust to leave the house. It cost $250 a month, so I will not be taking it again. It makes your poop mucousy. Awful drug. Gave me cramps and an abdominal ache too. Iâ??ll take fiber or Senokot or anything else before I waste money feeling sick again. I have gastroparesis so the GI doctor told me I needed it but didnâ??t warn me about the awful effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OPBMC | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/29/2019
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My IBS-C symptoms are not as severe as many reviews that I have read. I do not have any pain associated with my diagnosis and my constipation could be handled with OTC remedies. My issue is with severe bloating and the Amitiza does not effectively relieve these symptoms. I started at 8mcg per meal, now I'm regularly at 24mcg per meal and still no relief from the bloating. Even knowing what my trigger foods are I can't avoid all of them because they're the most healthy foods to eat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2019
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve tried EVERYTHING for IBS-C and either the medication caused diarrhea or didn’t work at all. I keep track of my water intake, I exercise, and watch what I eat, too. This drug is a total game changer. I take the small dose twice per day (and I’m a 210 lb guy) and it works perfectly. Normal BM 2-3 times per day, no more bloating, no more gas, and no side effects (for me, at least). Seriously, the only downside is the enormous price.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jz | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2019
Condition: Opiate Pain Medication causing Severe Constipation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Still drinking smooth move tea while on the med. Random results. Still days between BM. Terrible swelling and excruciating pain in hands and feet. Was on med and quit when I was in so much pain and not eating. When I was up, moving and eating for 2 days and no BM, I started the med. after 3 days it started all over. NO MORE. Not worth the agony.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/13/2019
Condition: Opiate Pain Medication causing Severe Constipation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THE MORE WATER I DRINK THE BETTER IT WORKS. I ALSO DRINK 2-4 OZ. OF PRUNE JUICE WITH EACH DOSE WHICH MAKES A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
In pain | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/22/2018
Condition: Opiate Pain Medication causing Severe Constipation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on the 24mg dosage and after 3-4 hours of being uncomfortable, I had a good b.m. I thought this was going to be great until about an hour later. I had diarrhea 9 times during the day and could not leave my house because a few times I almost didn't make it the 12 steps to the bathroom. I tried it again a few days later and it was a repeat of the first day. I was switched to 8mg and for 3 days it was great, but then it didn't work. I now use the 24 when I feel so bad I cannot go another day. I always plan to do nothing for 24 hours!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sarosata steve | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/17/2018
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a Type 1 diabetic with GI autonomic neuropathy and gastroparesis, I have been on Amitiza 8mcg for over 2 years. It is the only medication which gives me relief, but it takes several hours after ingestion to effect a movement. It is difficult to leave the house until that happens. The cost of the medication is outrageous and my insurance stopped covering any of the cost. Also, it is not approved for males at the 8mcg dose. Linzess side effects were worse which is why I was switched to Amitiza. For me, the 24mcg dose would be too much. Not sure what to do in the future, as few doctors handle diabetic neuropathy of the GI system. I have been a type 1 diabetic for 28 years and I don't expect my symptoms to improve on their own without medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lighthousegirl | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2018
Condition: Chronic Difficulty having a Bowel Movement
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for 2 months. After reading all reviews and experiencing side effects, I'm going to stop taking it. I have following side effects: difficulty breathing, chest tightness, gas, insomnia, mood swings. Side effects not worth the benefit of this medication (it's hasn't been effective for me at all).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2018
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wasn't having BM for at least 14 days. Went on the meds and now I have severe diarrhea every day. I go at least 5 times a day. Want to be taken off this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shira | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2017
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this for two weeks and feel like hell!! I have severe nausea depression and terrible headaches and for the ibs and constipation it barely help!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cvdixon29 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/24/2017
Condition: Opiate Pain Medication causing Severe Constipation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first it worked great, then it seemed to almost stop working. However, I believe it just takes time for your body to get use to it. It took a while for it work well. So Far it's working great! I'm very please. I go almost daily now instead of once per week! I feel better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Silent Wolf | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/22/2017
Condition: Opiate Pain Medication causing Severe Constipation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor gave me 24mcg samples for OIC and the resulting anal fissures. We tried daily, but it worked TOO well, if you catch my drift. We switched to every other day and that's working well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/19/2017
Condition: Opiate Pain Medication causing Severe Constipation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works well in spurts. makes intestinal track always moist and expels mucous. not comfortable. still have to use other laxatives and they seem to work less since use of this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Relief0917 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2017
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started on Saturday morning and had the expected diarrhea all weekend. I stabilized throughout the following week and found great relief from pain, bloating, and constipation. However, I feel the effectiveness has worn off a little and I plan to focus on upping my intake of water and fiber. On the negative side, I am more irritable than usual and my heart arrhythmia has flared up. So, I'll work on lowering caffeine intake and see if that helps. Amitiza has provided much relief and I plan to continue with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More