Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

75 People found this comment helpful

I take Amitiza twice a day. It helps me have 4 to 5 bowel movements a week. I was only going once a week before and the straining was terrible. I have a predictable movement instead of the explosive bowel movements I get with linzess or laxatives.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this medication for one week. It has relieved my chronic constipation but replaced it with loose stools bordering on diarrhea. My doctor prescribed taking the drug 2x daily. However, this produced very, loose stools, painful gas and stomach discomfort. I reduced the dosage to 1x daily and noticed some improvement. Since reducing the dosage, I have less gas, my stools are more fi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Margaret | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2021
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amitiza did not help with my constipation; quite the opposite I became even more bound up, bloated and in intestinal pain. I also was unable to go to sleep and developed pain in the middle of my chest. Even if this medication did help me, a fate I so very much wished, I would not continue due to the exhorbitant daily cost.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
goatzool | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2021
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Amitiza for IBS-C 8 years ago, but on an as-needed basis. It usually worked at 16 mcg, but the next day there was rebound constipation and I was reluctant to take it daily (largely because of the expense). Now I've been through them all and the doctor wants me to try Lubiprostone (now generic) on a regular 2x per day basis. Oddly, it is not as effective now as it was 8 years ago. I am going to try combining it with Miralax, which is apparently an option for colonoscopy prep. The bottom line seems to be that no laxative ever works predictably except (for me) mag cit, and it's a bad idea to take that daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Northwest | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/5/2021
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have M.S. and IBS. After much trial and error: my best daily regimen: Take 1 cap full Miralax in 10 oz hot water or coffee before breakfast. Take 1 8 mg capsule Amitiza with breakfast. Results in 2 hours. May need liquid glycerin suppository when you have urge to go. Dose of 8 mg Amitiza every morning is sufficient. Recommend sticking to a regular schedule but don't worry if you miss a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 55-64 | Male | Patient
7/19/2020
Condition: Irritable Bowel Syndrome with Constipation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Expensuve junk that made my poo like peanut butter. Mirlax works and is cheaper than $320 a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Will I Ever 'Go' Again? | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2020
Condition: Opiate Pain Medication causing Severe Constipation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor gave samples. Within 1 hour I got nauseated, hot all over, chest tight and lungs burning with tiny deep breath, felt 'bad' all over, heart pounding and anxious. Oh...and I had a bowel evacuation (only moderate) but was feeling so bad I needed to lay down. I can't take this stuff ever again. I was incidentally poisoned 10 years ago and the symptoms are the same. I wonder if it has any benzene or formaldehyde in it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More