Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

I only use this medication at night when my daughter (she is now 5) has severe coughing and congestion due to sinus infection, colds or others related, and it helps her a lot. It controls her cough and let her, at least, sleep 5-6 hours in a row without coughing and then she can rest, which is very important whenever they are sick. No side effects, she likes the flavor, and I feel I am helping h...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I have been giving thid medicine to my 2 yr old daughter and it knocks her out. I think it may also upset her stomach. She gets horrible gas throughout the night after she gets thew med.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/13/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The thing with this medication is to use only when needed. Not for a full course. This is why the doctor prescribes small amounts. I used it on my kids when they were infants in the past I didn't notice any adverse reactions. The benefits outwieghed the potential risk of side effects when I had miserable sick babies in the middle of the night. Everyone is different but their ped has been using this for a long time and she is very against meds for ages under 12 but she was ok with this so it can't be that bad. Always talk to your doctor first besides you will need a prescription. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aperki | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
5/29/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this for my 7-9 month old baby. We are not sure of the damaged it could have done if any, but her new doctors said he should not have prescribed at such a young age.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sheila | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
5/4/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only use this medication at night when my daughter (she is now 5) has severe coughing and congestion due to sinus infection, colds or others related, and it helps her a lot. It controls her cough and let her, at least, sleep 5-6 hours in a row without coughing and then she can rest, which is very important whenever they are sick. No side effects, she likes the flavor, and I feel I am helping her during this tough time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
caddylover2003 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 4 month old was prescribed this by his pediatrician. However, after his symptoms continued, we took him to Children's Hospital. The ER doctor took the C-phen from us and told us it never should have been prescribed for him because it is ineffective and has terrible side effects. Luckily he only had it for a week but we were pissed to find this out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
California Father | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/2/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor prescribed 1.25ml every six hours for cough. My daughter is 2 1/2 years old and has bronchitis. Her coughing fits have caused her to be on the brink of vomiting. She doesn't seem to be getting worse, although she hasn't improved any with this medicine. The first night we gave it to her, she was a MONSTER. It was supposed to make her drowsy, instead it turned her into this loopy, energized zombie that was bent on destroying our house and refused to sit still. Two days later she doesnt seem to have any side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 37, went to doctor for sinus infection. So congested my teeth hurt. I can breathe better then ever. Did get the side effects, wake up every few hours but able to go back to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jomak's mom | 3-6 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/10/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying many different meds, this is the only one that seems to relieve my 4 yo daughter's cough. She's had no adverse reactions, except she's slept, which is good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dru1880 | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
2/8/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave this to my 7 yr old about 2 yrs ago. it worked for about 2 days and then it quit working she ended up w/ pnemonia about 2 days later.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/4/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maximus | 0-2 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/9/2010
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave this to my 10 month boy and it worked good for about the first day. Then the next night it seem to lose its effectiveness. Some reviews said that it made their kids restless and sick but that didn't happen with mine. It worked ok, he really didn't enjoy the taste but it worked ok in the beginning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom against C-PHEN | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/6/2009
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dont use C-PHEN, within 1 day of giving this to my 6M old daughter she started throwing up, had gas was restless and cried all the way thru. Her cold symptoms went from bad to worst, the doc had prescribed it for he becuase she had some cough, after this medicine she has fever as well and extreme restlessness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2009
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 26 and have been taking this for 3 days for a cold that I've had for 3 weeks. This medicine works great although it does have side effects. I have diarrhea and I feel pretty droggy but I am not coughing and my nose isn't stuffy. I don't look sick anymore. I would take ask for this again if I get sick. But like the other reviewers wrote I would not give this to a child.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2009
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 18 years old and I went to urgent care on saturday for a really bad cough and the doctor prescribed this...I have the syrup form. It smells good but tastes a little weird. It says to take with food but it makes my stomach hurt so I tried it without food and its even worse!!! and it makes it really hard to sleep at night. I wake up constantly, like every 2-3 hours...and it doesn't feel like its helping! In fact, it feels like my chest hurts more after I take it. I've only been taking it for a couple days so I'll come back in about a week or so to let you know if it gets any better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 25 yr old woman i have been taking the medicine for 2 days now. it makes me drowsy, and if I don't eat before i take it it upsets my stomach. but it does get rid of the congestion. make sure if you aare taking this you drink plenty of water with it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
krissyp | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 26 year old female who was given this medication for the flu. The med did make me drowsy so it was hard to take it in the morning and be productive at work. Along with this med I was advised to take Advil for my fever. My only complaint is that C-Phen made me restless at night after my fever started to break and after reading the other reviews it explains my nightmares. I am still congested so I will be going back to the doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grenee143 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
9/19/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been giving this to my 18 month old. It works okay, it does make her a lil drowsy but it does help somewhat and I dont know if the drowsiness is from her catching up on her rest, b/c she cant sleep when she is so congested. I would recommend it. We have used this several times in the past, it works fairly well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mrs.cough* | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first night trying the medication and after 30 minutes of taking the medication i already feel drowsy.Im a 29 year old female and noticed that the other reviews i read are for infants/toddlers in my leaflet from the pharmacy it mentioned that this medication was not meant for children UNDER 6 years of age.after my 6 days of taking the medication i will write another review on this medication in hopes it will help others with knowledge.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/16/2009
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was giving this to my 17 month old daughter and its horrible! do not give this to your children under 4. it gave her nightmares, fits,diarrhea, and she couldn't sleep. this medicine is worse than the cold. be careful when giving this to your children!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zamona | 3-6 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son 3yrs old son was prescribed C-Phen for his allergies and had a very bad reaction to it. I had to take my son to the ER twice over the weekend. He started having hallucinations and no one wanted to believe me, so then I looked up his med online and I seen this is one of the side effects. I do not trust this medication to save my life and I wish he was never prescribed it. His ENT is saying it should only stay in his system 2-3 days, so I am keeping my fingers crossed. But I would not advice any child to take this medication and if they do closely monitor them. I am living a nightmare now, my son is claiming to see bugs on the floor and is walking and acting funny. Really ask your Dr. questions before giving your child this med this stuff is no joke.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dottie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2008
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave this to my 13 month old. It made her really lethargic and tired, but also very restless, so that she couldn't sleep. She was much more miserable on the medicine than without it. I would not recommend giving this to children. We were prescribed this at an urgent care, and when we followed up with our pediatrician, he told us to throw it out, that peds don't prescribe this for children under 4.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More