Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

I've been on Loestrin 24 for a while and have had no negative side effects at all! I didn't have any breakthrouh bleeding and my period is super light now! My cup sized increased from a 34B to a 34C in the first 2 weeks on the pill (yay!) and I haven't had ANY of the PMS symptoms I used to. I was one of those girls that missed at least one day of school a month because of cramps, but I've never fe...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

My doctor switched me to this birth control from Othro Tri Cyclen because he thought it would be better for me. I have high blood pressure following the birth of my daughter and he though a low estrogen pill would be safer. He told me that I would probably not get my period of this pill because a lot of women don't. Unfortunately, this pill failed the very first month I was on it. We are now p...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/13/2021
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my experience with taking Loestrin Fe, please remember that medicine reacts to everyone differently. I am just sharing why I am not satisfied with this birth control. I was given this BC to help with my endometriosis. I have serve cramps and migraines on the week of my period as well. My drs plan was to stopped the period all together so he prescribed me this and told me to skip the placebo pills and just continue to take them. I have had lots of negative side effects with many other forms of BC. After switching from a pill I was hiving up from I had high hopes for Loestrin Fe. Within the first few weeks I notice extreme side effects. Since I was switching birth controls again I knew my body was probably out of wack so I decided to stick it out for the recommended amount of time (6 months). That was a mistake. I have experienced extreme moody ness and irritable, to the point I get mad if someone breathes the wrong way, along with irritability I was becoming depressed and fatigued. I no longer had any sort of sex drive, I experienced slight hair loss, my appetite has increased to the point I was always hungry resulting in a pretty big weight gain. The biggest thing I hate from this pill other than all those side effects is my anxiety had become unbearable. With the pandemic happening in 2020 I chalked a lot of these side effects up to the very stressful year. Since coming off the pill I can now say it was from the pill. My appetite has returned to normal, I have more patience, my sex drive has begin to increase again and the biggest one my anxiety return to a state where it is was before starting the pill. I would rather deal with the migraines and the cramps every month and to feel more like myself then to take this pill and be a moodier, heavier, meaner version of myself. It’s been a breath of fresh air seeing my happier self return. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elle | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking Loestrin for acne and within three months my acne was the worst it has ever been. Not to mention my horrible moodswings! I'm on Yasmin now and I couldn't be happier.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NV | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor started me on this medication after months of terrible pain coinciding with ovulation along with typical cramping during my pd which had worsened those same months. So I was dealing with horrible various pain basically every 2 weeks. There was a little break through bleeding likes is mentioned by others but overall my body adjusted pretty well after 2-3 months. Lighter periods and no more pain!....or if any occurs it's very mild and not interfering with my daily activities. One incredible benefit that was unexpected was a huge decrease in anxiety. I had been dealing with terrible anxiety for several months. It almost vanished several weeks after starting this medication. Right now my only complaint would be decrease in libido. It's possible it's unrelated to the medication but I will address it with my doctor if it doesn't improve in the next couple of months. Overall I highly recommend this medication especially if you're experiencing pain like I was.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drugreviewburnername | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/30/2019
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication before for a few years and felt SUPER fatigued the entire time. I thought it was just stress from school/life at the time though. I stopped taking for almost a year because my prescription ran out and I wasn't having sex with cis men. My periods got really heavy and awful so I started taking it again (like bleeding onto sheets at night bad). Fatigue returned and I realized this was causing it. Like I hit the car in front of me because I fell asleep for a moment while driving - out of nowhere. So I stopped taking it. I guess I can deal with heavy bleeding and cramps. I'd recommend if you have the problems I had you should just not sleep with people who's sperm works. 5 stars for effectiveness since I didn't get pregnant. 5 stars for ease of use cause...it's a pill....1 star for satisfaction to even things out.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SMB8120 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Lo Loestrin to help with the mood swings I was having on other birth control. I was doing ok until the end of month 2. I woke up in the middle of the night with the worst pain in my uterus area that I have ever felt. At first, it felt kinda like I needed to use the bathroom (#2) but that didnâ??t change anything. When I was walking to the couch, I was in so much pain that my legs became numb and I could feel them starting to buckle underneath me. I had to lay down on the couch so I wouldnâ??t pass out. I was white all over and I had to scream for my boyfriend to come to me. Heâ??s an ER nurse and immediately told me there was something wrong with me bc my heart rate was crazy and I was sweating all over. After about 15 mins of extreme pain and using a heating pad on high, the pain subsided like it was never there. I continued to have the pain every night for the next 5 days at the same time each night. I would not compare the pain to period cramps. It was more of a muscle spasm. I could feel it coming on and knew that I needed to get my heating pad ready so I could have it super hot by the time the pain reached its worst. Every episode only lasted about 15 mins and then I would be back to normal. After bleeding the whole 3rd month, I switched to a birth control with a little bit more hormones in it and have not had the pain since. Everyone has a different experience on this med, but I wanted to share my experience and I hope it is helpful for some. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/5/2019
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this birth control to stop my period I get abnormally from another medication Iâ??m taking. The pill worked pretty instantly which was nice. The first month or two was horrible I had unbelievable lower back pain and cramping. Now been on it for 5 months now I have not had any increased acne so no acne. I havenâ??t had horrible mood swings just normal moods. Cramps are normal to moderate, back pain is probably the worst now during my periods. No weight gain, The only complaint I really have is the lack of sex drive. With this pill there is absolutely zero sex drive itâ??s completely gone. Even when trying to get intimate it just doesnâ??t happen on this pill so say goodbye to sex. Another huge issue is the insomnia, if your someone who already has sleep issues then donâ??t use this. I take my pill in the morning to not have sleep problems but does not matter. I wake up almost every night at 3 to 3:15am itâ??s like clockwork. Other than no sex drive and sleep issues there are no other issues with this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MIA | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2019
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NOT recommend to anyone, and not even recommned to my worse enemies. Brutal side effect. I feel like a wale and cow together, super heavy and bloated. I am taking this for my endometriosis, the side effect is so crazy I can't even comprehend whether it does treat endo or not. I have to take these pills for a little while and then will try to go on Orilissa. I am surprised that I have not killed or physically hurt smn. yet while taking this birth control' i am picking up fights with my fiance every day; from a loving beautiful person I had become to an evil and bitchy; super irritated, tired, and anxious.. each pill for me is a nightmare; I literally today look at the pills and told myself "I hate hate hate this experience" . I have been waiting for three months as my doctor recommended for side effects to go away, it is mid of the third month, and I hate my life, hate myself and all people around. don't think these pills are good for anyone who has a bit of emotional sensitivity.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bxoxo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/29/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been on before for a year and had absolutely no problems. it only made my breasts a little bigger. I didn't really get a period much at all that whole year. I had to switch but just recently switched back to lo Loestrin fe and im so happy to be back on it. highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nicole419 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2019
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel compelled to write this review given all of the terrifyingly bad reviews I read when I was prescribed Lo Loestrin. Based on these reviews, I was worried that I would become depressed, gain weight, and gain acne, but none of that is the case. Before taking Lo Loestrin, I had irregular, week long periods with extremely heavy bleeding to the point where I used 4/5 super tampons a day. Along with this came miserable, debilitating cramps, and I am only 17. My gyno prescribed Lo Loestrin as it is the lowest hormone amount available in birth control and seemed to be the right fit. I have been on it for 2.5 months now and absolutely love it. I spotted on and off for the first 2 months, which is normal and tolerable. During the few days where your actual period is supposed to come, my period has been really light and has not lasted more than 3/4 days. I did experience some nausea at the very beginning and have perhaps been more emotional than normal, but this has faded with time. I have actually lost weight since starting, but I'm not sure if there’s any correlation. Overall, while there may be mild side effects, they are completely outweighed by how much less miserable my periods have become. Remember that most people with positive results don't review a product, so don’t let the horrific reviews sway you away from trying it. Everyone is different, and you never know what will work for you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bcuser412 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/26/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this pill for 4 months. I took it because i am sexually active and was going to college, where I became in a serious relationship. As for pregnancy this pill is incredibly effective and with reminders, i was able to usually take it on time. however, all of the sudden my 4th month on it i have terrible anxiety and signs of depression that are worse than i have ever felt before. i already have a history of mild anxiety and occasional panic attacks but they have never been this bad! i also have gained weight on this pill, but i have also always gained weight easily. i reccomend this pill for pregnancy prevention but if anxiety is a problem for you, it seems like many people experience a worsening of their symptons from this medicine. im terrified of ruining my relationship because of it. stopping me prescription right now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SuzeeQ | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/24/2018
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered horribly painful and heavy periods due to bicornuate uterus. I took this pill for 17 wonderful years. I was pain-free and able to live a normal life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/14/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I made the switch on my OB’s recommendation from Yaz. I gained 10 pounds. I got severely depressed. I never had acne before and suddenly I got cystic-like pimples all over. My face never fully clears up. The switch was awful. I would never recommend using this pill. The only positive was I had 2 day periods. But that doesn’t outweigh the fact I feel awful in my own skin. I am bloated all the time, went through awful periods of deep depression, and I have pimples all the time. Don’t take this without researching. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unsatisfied consumer | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/18/2017
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found myself extremely moody, low sex drive, tired all the time and feeling more depressed while taking this medication. The periods were super short and light, but Id go back to having awful periods over feeling like this. I recently requested a switch!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/10/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Loestrin and only had break through bleeding once. My periods were very light. However, since 1 in 100 women get pregnant on it I never fully trusted it. It was also irritating to take it at the same time every day. However, it did ease the pain from my endometriosis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Millie | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 14 years old and have been on this pill for just over a month now. Two weeks in I saw huge improvements in my skin and had no spots other than the faint scars of the ones i had before. I felt it only took a few days to kick in. My periods used to last about 6 days and where usually fairly heavy but when i started this pill, sadly my period lasted 13 days but was not heavy. I'm not trying to put anyone off as it too wasnt unpleasent for me. I just experienced my first period on the pill and it was very short, light and not painful. I did get a couple of spots during that week but I think that is due to my body just getting used to the pill still. I have experienced some side effects like stomach aches, mood swings and I think I gained a tiny bit of weight but not a noticable amount. I want to add that I didnt have severe acne before, I just had many spots on my forhead and around my mouth and chin, when i say many I mean too many to count and I was very self consience but they were not painful. I also have had a very good diet from the start of this year so I knew the spots were hormonal and not due to my diet. I personally think that the pros outweigh the cons and I am so happy with my skin right now, I can now go out with no makeup!! I know I am quite young to be on the pill but I did my research and was very unhappy my skin. I hope this was helpful to anyone thinking of going on the pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carley | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've almost been taking this pill for a week now and I've been experiencing severe headaches, nausea and horrible mood swings. I have felt so bloated and tired since I started taking this. Everyone's body is different. Just wanted to share my experience. I won't be taking this anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
user | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/20/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for around 7 months now, and it has made my life miserable. Within the first month of taking it, I noticed really bad emotional side effects. I've never even been super emotional, but all of a sudden I would start crying over absolutely anything, become EXTREMELY depressed for days at a time, and have fits of anger and rage at the slightest inconveniences. I also noticed a weight gain after the first three or so months. I have always been extremely active and health-conscious, and yet I still have gained around 15lbs. It has been a nightmare. It also made my acne horrible for the four or so three months. It is a little better now, but I always have at least one breakout area on my face. Always. I didn't want to go off of it because it took away my terrible cramps, but it just isn't worth dealing with all the terrible side effects anymore. I have been an emotional train wreck ever since I began taking this birth control, and I cannot wait to gain back control of my life once I am off of the pill. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2015
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am now in my forth month of this birth control. The first two months were rough but after those two, it has been amazing. No side effects, very short periods little to no cramps. GREAT for PCOS!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tired | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/17/2015
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for 3 years. I didn't start having problems until last year. I started gaining weight and not being able to lose it. Granted my periods stopped, but I'm not sure that is a good thing, I think that is a way the body is designed to "cleanse". The mood swings are horrible for all around you and you. The fatigue is unbearable! I'm not too sure that it hasn't caused gallbladder and liver issues as well. I would say if you could find a better pill try another.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was only on this medication for 2 weeks. After 6 days on it, I became so exhausted and drowsy with slight muscle aches. It didn't occur to me this was a side effect and kept waiting for some impending sickness (ex. bad cold) to come on, but it never did. I finally realized it may be the birth control and immediately stopped taking it. Doctor's office says fatigue/drowsiness is not a reported symptom (unless its depression) and that I need to continue for 3 months... However, most bad reviews online seem to include the fatigue.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More