Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

The key to this med is PMDD. Go online, track your symptoms, and talk to your doctor after 2 months of solid tracking. If you don't have PMDD, don't take it. I have PMDD & have had GREAT results with it. It took about three months to completely balance my hormones. But since, my mood is better, cramps are better, brest tenderness & swelling is gone, fatigue is gone. Acne was never an issue w...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

YAZ IS THE BIRTH CONTROL PILL FROM THE GATES OF HELL!!!DON'T TRY TO USE IT FOR NOTHING YOU WILL BE SORRY!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

rhiannon123 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill was awful. I was on it a number of years ago and it caused me so many problems. I was super depressed on it, my periods were not regular at all and super long and heavy. I ended up getting pregnant while on it (and then miscarried) I took it at the same time every day. Horrible pill to be on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reciew123 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/28/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don’t usually write medication reviews but I felt like this one needed to be heard. I switched to Yaz from using Freya before. I switched because I was having a lot of hormonal headaches, acne, etc. The first month was terrible. EXTREME nausea, dizziness, no energy whatsoever and the worst symptom of all- the absolute worst anxiety of my life. After the initial month of dealing with the physical side effects, I was still left with crippling anxiety. Uncontrollable, always had a knot in my stomach, tightness in my chest, always on edge, couldn’t do day to day activities without feeling anxious. I stopped taking Yaz after month 3 because I couldn’t handle it anymore and I already feel much better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josette | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/21/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I originally started YAZ to regulate my menstrual cycle and be protected from pregnancy. The first 2 months were okay, I didn’t notice any side effects besides nausea. After 8 months of being on YAZ I was extremely depressed and feeling suicidal. It caused problems in my relationship and personal life bc of my mood swings, along with a major decrease in sex drive and some nausea/decrease in appetite. Oh, and I can’t forget terrible acne!! Recently, I’ve gained some weight from the depression but my weight fluctuates especially when the pill causes me to lose my appetite completely from the nausea. The only plus is it’s done a wonderful job protecting me against pregnancy considering me and my boyfriend have had a couple accidents. It has also regulated my cycle, my periods were normal. The negative side effects outweigh the good for me. Because of that, I switched to Aubra today, so hopefully it’ll work better for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justme | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had endometriosis & heavy bleeding for almost a month. I was glad to take it the first month because it stopped my bleeding w/c went back to 7-days cycle & no pimples for a year. Sadly my migraine worsen after a couple of months. I took it 12 months straight for hormonal therapy to avoid hysterectomy. My gallbladder suffered the most & was taken out 10 months after my last pill intake due to Chronic Cholecystitis w/c is one of the side effects of Yaz - gallbladder diseases. So I have to inform my OBGYNE regarding this when I will visit her.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sonia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's only been 5 days so far and amazingly so, my acne and the marks on my face just disappeared aand I only noticed the change on the fifth day. I'm really happy with this birth control as my other birth control did not clear up my acne and I was on it for 6 months. I would not get my period on some months because of the birth control I was on. I'm waiting to see if I get my period this month .?? Fingers crossed ?? so excited, I really love this pill for clearing up my acne in 5 DAYS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dolfie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/29/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been two months on Yaz and I must say I’m loving it. My periods only last 3 days as opposed to 5, cramping has improved the pain is not that intense and my acne marks are clearing up. Would recommend to anyone!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/29/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst birth control. If you’re going to take it, seriously make sure you do not EVER miss a pill. I missed ONE PILL, immediately got back on track the next day, but my period started anyway and lasted for 7 days (and I was a taking a pill, not a placebo) for all of those days. My normal period doesn’t even last that long, it’s maybe 4-5 days. Absolutely ridiculous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Couldn’t be happier ! My skin has cleared so much and I don’t battle with mood swings anymore. My flow is lighter and cramps are much less intense ! Very satisfied customer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Naj | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I waited to leave my review. Its my second month. I was struggle with chin acne. This birth control not only helped my chin acne but also my skin complication and i feel like my mood is so much. I do get headaches but it goes way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EPP | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/1/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have recently started taking yaz and I don’t find it too bad . I think it gave me a symptom of dry reaching which is pretty annoying buttt besides that I’ve been fine . My skin hasn’t dramatically changed but it’s helped . Don’t get too spooked out by the comments it’s different for everyone and there are always alternatives if needed ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liv247 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After changing to a mini-pill, my acne flared up and I developed terrible cystic acne for the first time in my life. I changed to Yaz and have just finished my first one. My acne has completely cleared (I was also prescribed Doxycycline to assist), my mood has balanced and I feel overall better than I have in a long time. I would definitely recommend this for acne treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/8/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control has been really good to me. I used to get a lot of migraines, I started skipping the placebo pill and started taking a new pack that last week. I get headaches at times but not as bad as the migraines. Only possibility is that one can get period for more than 2weeks, which happened to me so I am changing to Yasmin now but besides that. Great pill!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tish | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2020
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've never had so many side effects on one medicine! I'm worse then postpartum! Heavy purple bleeding. Leg cramps that's making it hard to walk. Acne, nightmares, insomnia, temp changes like the flu! Had a cost on in 80 weather shivering, mood swings so bad I'm crying at work and having anger spells hitting things! I've had to have my mom take my kids a few times times , i was afraid I was going to lose my temper. Don't try this one! It's been the worst month ever! Missing work today and changing meds. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chouko | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/29/2020
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this pill was a godsend for controlling my pmdd for almost 20 years; i was experiencing premenstrual symptoms (horrific bloating and mood swings, mainly anger) about 25 days out of 30. yaz helped me lose the bloat and i was in an even keel the whole month. i went directly to the next pack, taking an active pill every day. i was able to lose weight easily. i never had a period or pms symptoms. i also hardly had a sex drive, my skin became rough looking, and my hair thinned out. i finally stopped the pills and the difference in my skin, hair, and libido is amazing- people think i look 15 years younger than i am. but the horrible bloating and mood swings are back so i�m going to restart the yaz�Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Okay, here's the dirt on my experience with Yaz. After reading several reviews. I was quite terrified to start at myself as I had had bad birth control experiences in the past. Within the first week of taking Yaz 28. I was an emotional wreck. I would cry over the stupidest things like my boyfriend telling me he was sitting next to a new girl at work. It was dumb. I was over sensitive about everything and I felt like absolute garbage. The worst part was my breakthrough bleeding started on day 13 and lasted almost 31 days. It wasn't heavy enough to be worrisome until my period started. I was quite concerned at the amount of blood that I was losing. So I went to the hospital and had to check in. The doctor told me that everything seemed to be normal and besides the excessive bleeding i was healthy and my blood reports came back to clean. since Getting used to a routine of my pack and my periods syncing up every month. I have noticed that the side effects have reduce significantly. I just want to let anybody know who starting Yaz 28 and feels either an emotional cow. It's normal! There were days when I felt depressed. Everything is finally feeling normal and I'm in a relatively good mood, My skin is flawless. And my period Is normal and healthy. If you're just starting with Yaz, and you're feeling discouraged don't give up! It takes about 3 to 4 months to see any kind of change take effect. It's worth it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Malen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unang gamit ko pa lang nhihilo n aq,madali din akong mabugnot.problema ko ang tyan ko twing gabi.daig ko pa ang buntis n naglilihi.minsan msama ang lasa ng pagkain,hindi masarap.3months pa ako pinapagamit ng dra.ko.so 3 packs.gusto ko nang bumitaw sa paginom.nireseta niya saken yun para maregular ako at magbuntis na.1 and half png months ang iinuman ko.hindi ko na kaya.nahihilo ako lagi.tapos parang nalaki ang dede ko.ang kinaganda niya ay pinapakinis niya ang skin ko at nag regular ang mens ko.4 days lng aq nagmens.pero believe me parang parusa ang pag inom ng yaz.kundangan lang na kailangan ko ng magbuntis.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jess | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So Iâ??ve been taking this birth control for about 3 months now. I waited this long to write a review because after reading so many, it seems like after the 3 month hump there are mostly positive results. I feel like I couldâ??ve waited longer but there wasnâ??t a need to. FIRST, when I started this birth control, I was fresh out of college and just started working full time at my new job and had also moved out of my parents house into my own place. I was stressed, my acne got continually worse, and I was broke. The first two months on this medication were a nightmare. Horrible moody swings, terrible cystic acne, slight weight gain (probably just water) BUT once I got about halfway through month 3 everything changed. I started to calm down, I wasnâ??t as hot headed as I usually am, my anxiety got less, and my acne started to clear up (for the most part). The best thing about this drug to me was I was taking it for acne, but it also did so many other good things for my body. I was a smoker before I started taking the pill, and it forced me to quit. I started thinking more clear and decision making wasnâ??t as difficult. I can honestly say this drug didnâ??t do a huge amount for my acne, but Iâ??m only on month 3 and it seems to be much better than it was. Overall Iâ??m satisfied. The only thing I really dislike about this birth control is itâ??s VERY expensive. Even through my insurance it costs me $60 a month. Other than that, nothing but positive things to say.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this tablet from last 2 months and i feel more anxiety and depression from so many days and the worst thing is before taking any birth control pill i had regular periods for 4-5 days and from last two month my periods is only for one day. i really dont understand what is exactly happening in my body. so much hormonal changes in my body after taking this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taylor | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please read this. Yaz has caused me the worst anxiety of my life. I have taken Yaz for 4 months now, recently two weeks into my new pack. I have never been more depressed and on edge in my whole life. I am a 21 year old girl who loves to run, now barely running because my body hurts EVERYWHERE. I recently wen't to the doctor and got all tests done. Nothing was found, but the symptoms have only increased. They gave me muscle relaxers which Yaz also caused me migraines and back aches. I now am off the pill, realizing it causes way more harm than I realized. I am begging all women to not take this pill. It will cause serious issues whether mentally or physically. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/13/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill gave me anxiety and depression. I am a happy person and have never experienced mental illness. I went on this pill for endometriosis management. I came off this pill after having the worst, most emotional, depressing and anxious year of my life. I cried, a lot. I stopped socialising. I came off the pill and I straight away felt myself again, except the anxiety has stuck. It lingers, it is panic attack after panic attack and it is still tearful. All because of this stupid pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More