Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

My sister was given Fluocinonide by her doctor for an itchy scalp and her hair was falling out. She used this medication for about three months and like some miracle, her hair grew in extremely thick and looks like a perm! Her hair has always been naturally straight. She's ok with having curly hair now, but more ecstatic about having so much thick hair. I am going to try using this medication sinc...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

After an extended period of time using this topical fluocinonide I experienced hair loss in the area being treated.

Shared reviews and ratings

ML | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My skin didn't seem to react at all to this cream. I noticed very little or no reduction in itchiness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maryea | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2021
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be very careful with this medication! My dermatologist prescribed it for my itchy scalp and ears (no rash or dandruff). It did relieve my itch some temporarily especially with the scalp. But my doctor later warned me to not take it more than 14 days and after that only for flareups. The problem is I had no "flareups," unless I applied this frequently it was itchy all the time! I was told it has some severe reactions including your hair not growing or your hair falling out. So I decided that the short-term relief I had was not worth the risk. I do not use it anymore.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redheaded one | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/5/2021
Condition: Skin Condition
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have what I think is foot fungus so I saw a podiatrist and he prescribed this in ointment form. It has worked extremely well although it hasn't cured the problem. Once my skin has cleared up I'm able to go for several days before reapplication is needed. I'm not a fan of ointments thus,the four star rating for ease of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kembers | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/6/2021
Condition: Skin Condition
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I want to know why I only get 0.01% and not 0.05% like the person before says. mine would go away if I had a stronger dose. HELP!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
.Teddy. | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/28/2019
Condition: Plaque Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to have severe plaque psoriasis on my forehead, and it drove me especially nuts during marching band season and had me to the edge of tears when I had to put my hair in a ponytail (my bangs covered it, and it was my only hope for covering my psoriasis up) to put it in my hat, and everyone would see my embarrassing condition on my forehead. My dermatologist prescribed me this, and I am now able to wear my hair up and not be worried about people seeing my psoriasis, as it has cleared up to the point where I only have to use this one or twice a week! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ouch | 75 or over | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/27/2019
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using it for many years. Whenever I become aware of an area of severe itching I apply a thin film to it. The itching sensation subsides within hours and never returns to the affected area.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/22/2019
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't help me much, although perhaps I'm expecting too much. I'm hoping that some day my dermatologist can find something that completely eliminates my itchy scalp, not just calm it down for a half day or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
1/19/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Foot fungus- put it on 1-2 times and its gone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itchy-woman | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2018
Condition: Rash
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was admitted to hospital for cellulitus on my arm then started breaking out with a itchy rash. I have been to 4 different Dr's and one Dr gave me medication for fungus under my nails which I didn't have. I honestly hope this creme works because I am ready to go out of my mind with the itch.I'm breaking out from under my armpits to my chest, between my legs,my neck,.It say's not to use on your armpits. It seems to be in area's that are moist. I need advise and hope someone can help me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kenney | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2017
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hard to use by yourself. It cleared up my scalp psoriasis , but came back after not using for a week . I have a lot of hair loss ...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/24/2017
Condition: Skin Condition
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

*used it for a rash that developed underneath my breast from perspiration and the rubbing of my bra-cleared up itchiness and rash within 2-3 days. *used it on a rash/bites from chigger bites that no other cream prescribed could relieve-instant relief within 1-2 days, also dried up rash

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bryan | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/2/2017
Condition: Skin Condition
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would get thick red skin that would itch and burn at the same time, primarily around my chest, and legs. My Doctor had me try this, because lotions burned so much that I would have to get in the shower to wash them off. I started to notice when my blood sugar was high or my stress was higher than normal this would start. The Fluocinonide after about day 2 or 3 of using it at least twice a day makes a HUGE difference. If I can manage the other conditions most of time by day 3 or 4 the skin condition is well enough I can take a break and monitor it to see if I need to do it once a day (if that).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chozen 1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2017
Condition: Skin Rash that Becomes Thick & Discolored From Rubbing It
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to my doctor who prescribed this medication and within 2 days of taking this caused huge bumps which were inflamed with blood and pus! My face also got terrible acne on my chin -I am 56 years old and hate acne bumps. Needless to say this medication stopped the itching under my arm which was severe excema but this caused other issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2017
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a very red, inflamed rash on my hands, between my fingers on both hands and also all over the back of my right hand. I had gone to my family doctor and been prescribed an ointment that wasn't really working. I went to my dermatologist, who told me to use Dove soap when I was washing my hands or taking a bath followed by cerave or cetaphil cream and to use this ointment twice a day for two weeks because it was stronger. I was not expecting this, but I started seeing a difference the very next day. It was still red but not as red and wasn't burning nearly as much. About two days later I didn't have any burning and the redness had gone down a great deal. I showed my mom and she was amazed. By yesterday it looked completely normal and it hadn't even been an entire week. I have a follow up appointment set up for a week and a day because she wanted a follow up appointment and am just amazed at how well it has already worked. I was not expecting results this fast at all. I could not recommend this ointment more. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Latinamami13 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/8/2017
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My whole life I always leave I just had really bad dandruff that never went away and just last year in 2016 my whole scalp was flaking and itching like crazy even after getting out of the shower large skin patches will flake off just by rubbing my scalp. Original the doctor gave me clobetasol solution and it wasn't strong enough so I used the Medicaded shampoo and she gave me this fluocinonide oil. No joke the first day using it I felt instant relief. It makes your hair super super greasy but it's definitely worth it because the itchiness is gone. For the first time in my life my scalp actually looks healthyRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BonnieP | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/24/2017
Condition: Psoriasis of Scalp
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot live without this solution. I have scalp psoriasis and I would flare up really bad and the only thing that work was fluocinonide topical solution 1%, at first it would burn, but soon afterwards my scalp is feeling better, I leave it on over night, then was my hair and scalp with mild no phosphate shampoo and it stays clear, I have used so many other creams, and yuck, this is a liquid and I use it all over my scalp and won't use anything else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
v | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2017
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication cleared the redness but had a strange side effect of causing physical depression (not mental), which made for some pretty sad days. I found this surprising and strange, and wanted to report to warn others as this could be more serious in someone with an underlying/existing condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S.M.R. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to Dermatologist and was prescribed this medication. It does leave an oily wet look on skin, but works for me. The itchiness goes away after 1 min after applying. I have random itchiness on my skin could be eczema or bug bites, but regardless, medicine seems to work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CByrne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2016
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed this for eczema on my hands. After 2 days of use my rash was gone. I apply it when I feel an itchy area starting and it is helping to control the redness and blisters from even starting. I am amazed at how well this medication worked for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Upset | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2016
Condition: Scaly Oily Skin Problem Primarily On Face and Scalp
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After just 2 Weeks of use 1x a Day my Hair fell out at all application sites.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More