Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

bad

Shared reviews and ratings

Tayab |
5/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not used this medicine. I learned from a website that Captopril can help in weight loss. Have anyone weight loss experience with Captopril.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2014
Condition: Failure of the Left Ventricle of the Heart
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/27/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine 20 years ago and used the name brand Capoten . I also take Thyroid replacement meds . Thyroid Gland regulates blood pressure. In the past the pharmacy has filled with generic form Captopril by mistake so I tried it and 1st I noticed the side effects (red face and red eyes were missing, when I took it) at first I liked that, but after few days noticed my pressure was high ! Found out it was not working, so went back and got Capoten ,problem solved . Well solved until Capoten became unavailable few years ago. I had to have the dose doubled 25 mg to make the Captopril effective but did not do as good as Capoten despite what the pharmacist tells you . Have had some high pressure readings of 160/105 so dosage prescribed went up 50 mg , now 100mg a day . Most times pressure stays the same after taking it , and at the most it will bring it down 10 points . Possible that i've become resistant to it or need additional meds . Captopril is the active ingredient in Capoten but my personal experience is why I don't like Captopril . I like the low cost but would gladly pay the 60 bucks for the name brand based on what i've seen . Everybody is differant but wanted to share my experience . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
linmeyer | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/9/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on captopril for 6 months along with nadolol for for blood pressure and migraines I was on diovan before but made me gain to much weight 45 lbs,after i started taking captopril I lost weight like crazy a pound a day,now I can eat anything I want and dont gain anything,something in the pill works on the fat cell receptors ,androgen2 is what the chemical is that causes the fat cells not to duplicate.so just for that Ill take this nmed but not everyone has the results I do.so I take captopril and nadolol,and im happy :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/22/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

excessive coughing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
soyer | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/17/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it helped me to control my HBP better than other medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
janalee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2010
Condition: Heart Failure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Captopril 11/10/09. BP was 169/104. Today 12/01/09, BP 158/82 I didn' make many changes in my diet although I am more conscience of my sodium intake.And the only formal exercise I has was walking a 1/2 mile on treadmill this morning. I weigh 320lbs and Doc said if I lose 10-20 lbs there may be no need for meds! Sooo I'm walking them out of my life and back to health!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tao | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/19/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i use 50g,can i increase it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ldc23 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2009
Condition: Occasional Numbness, Prickling, or Tingling of Fingers and Toes
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this med post partum seven years ago and it worked well. now bp high again and this med is not doing anything. i took it because of the low side effect, but it's simply not working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
7/2/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my daughter has taken this since she was 2 and it has worked very well at controlling her high blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/18/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel better when I use this drug. I am regularly suffering from high blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
9/30/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lola | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worked quickly in reduceing my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the begining this drug made me very ill and then leveled out for about a year slowly my bp started creeping up again. I am becoming unsatisfied with it's effectivness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2007
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

bad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abdul | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/25/2007
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More