Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking Ambien for about 5 yrs. for chronic insomnia and night terror/nightmares. It has been a lifesaver for me but it IS a tricky drug. Take it when you are actually ready to go to sleep and you are already IN BED. Don't get back up!!! or you will be walking around the house eating, having weird conversations with your significant other about things that you would probably not be talkin...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Although it helps you fall asleep, it often stays in your system for greater than 8 hours. Per 60 minutes, it can impair cognition equivalent to being legally drunk. It was not safe to take on days that I was working.

Shared reviews and ratings

Lee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/12/2022
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only drug I have found that makes me sleep long and fall asleep fast. It also works to calm me and my overly anxious brain better than any antidepressant or benzodiazepine on the market. I have been on Ambien for around 8 years. I take time release 12mg. I take it for 2-3 weeks then take a 2-3 week break so I get some non-drugged REM sleep. The REM sleep always gives me the most awful night terrors and I wake up feeling tired but I know its important to get some sleep off Ambien. I would definitely say its addictive in the way that the best night of sleep of your life is addictive!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best sleep aid EVER! I fell asleep and stayed asleep all night! After several years of taking it my doc all of a sudden wanted to try other “safer” options for me and so far everything else sucks!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/8/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stress free, It was a good ride

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yay Ambien | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/2/2022
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AMBEIN rocks until you get hooked, takes about 3mos, then you have to have them. As with any other benzo. Harder & more dangerous than cold-turkey herion detox bcauase.......it stays so long in your liver , oancreas, etc. Let alone your entire nervous system. Remember Tiger Woods? Well, remember my friend Val Agee, who was on the benzoes....she ran out couldne get any, called 911. They said its ok, just get some more from your Dr tommorow. Tommorow never can for sweet Val. She died late that night. Seizure. She had no alcohol which helps for a bit, BUT AMBIEN is a HIGH RISK drug . Temporary fix or permenant damage to the brain.STOP taking it!! But taper off. Otherwise youll be hooked the rest of your life,,,,,,LIKE ME! I drove my car but didnt rember wher it was. I got up to a rampaged kitchen, food all over. Who me U did this? Ended up in the hospital & almost died from granMall myself. I HATE IT IT.!!!!! Get off while you still have time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlotte | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had high pitch noises in my ears since 2007 when I had to move to another city to keep my job and after visiting a dentist there. Fans do not drown out the high pitch noises. Ear phones are good but make my head hurt and sore to use every night. Five milligrams of Ambien works well for four hours of sleep for me. I have been taking it for about 10 years. I wish I had thought to get it for my dad who had Alzheimer’s and had war dreams during his last days and I am sure for all of his life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has helped me fall asleep every night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Irene | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Ambien for 1 month, it goves you 4 hr sleep only 5 mg. If you switch to 10 mg gives you another hour.Knocks u off after 10 min of taking it.Gave me irregular heartbeats.Did not work for me.Highly sedative effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/26/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blurry vision, acid reflex

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steezer | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor perscred this for middle of the night waking. With its short half life its great if you wake up at 2 or 3 and cant fall back. Unfortunately after about 5 months or so of using i found lots of listed side effects kicking in; nausea, bowel issues, low mood, being cold, light headed...just not feeling good its a steep compromise to get sleep but getting just 4 hours of sleep night on end makes you sick to. Currently still taking it but looking for something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/18/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For all those you keep taking it and have bad episodes stop taking it … simple there’s many other sleeping pills on the market … I don’t understand why people continue to take something that’s causing such problems… also drinking with it is a big no no … any doctor would tell you that …

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
12/18/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don’t abuse it like any drug and if you’re acting odd you’re not following instructions and should go off it… it’s not dangerous if taken as prescribed and not used to get ‘ high’ … simple … follow instructions don’t drink if you have adverse reactions then stop taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Caregiver
12/18/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is very effective for me I understand some individuals do weird things while on it ie eating driving… ambien should be taken to sleep with no disturbances and should not be used with alcohol… everyone reacts differently to all medication but abusing it can cause these issues… and if you have them stop taking it and talk to your doctor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Depressedambien | 0-2 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2021
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 40, male, and took this for insomnia for only 9 nights about 3 months ago. It didnt help much at all. One night I woke up from a dream standing on my feet beside the bed. Then the last dose I took made me feel extremely depressed, and couldnt think clearly, wich made me stop the drug. Now I have anhedonia wich is the inability to feel joy, and emotional blunting, a common side effect. It may be a common side effect but it feels 100x worse than any insomnia, and dont know if it will go away. I feel no love for my pets, cant watch tv or listen to music, cant go out, cant work, cant find anything to do, no Interest in improving my life wich i need and terrible boredom. Its 100x worse than any insomnia and very very hard to even live. Any doctor who would prescribe this without discussing these risks to the patient isnt very good. It brings upon suicidal thoughts, and ruins your life. Since insomnia usually isnt permanent, and the side effects of ambien can be, it's common sense to be very cautious with this drug. Emotional blunting may seem like an easy word to say, but it means no joy in your life. No joy is no life! Its not just a temporary effect that will go away in a few days. It can be permanent!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robby | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/12/2021
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking zolpidem chronically for about 5 years. It is a wonder drug. My script is for 10 mg but I split them and take 5 mg every night. I almost always sleep like a baby, feel great in the morning and have no side effects at all. My doc says I should try to get off of them and I am trying but when I don’t take one at night I do have much trouble sleeping. So what’s worse……..taking 5 mg of zolpidem every night or not sleeping?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MekaTX | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/10/2021
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is the only medication that I have ever been on that does what it’s suppose to that I can recognized. If I stay up after taking them one of two things will happen. I will either wake up on the couch in the middle of the night probably from pain or I may do something I normally would not do. I have never been one to drive or eat, but I have woken my husband up for conversations among other things. I will wake up rested and have questions if I dreamt this or that really might have happened. I worry about the long term effects of medications like this but sleep is essential for health too. I’ve been taking Ambien on and off for 10 years or more. Nothing works better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fastt Ed | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Staying asleep and PTSD dreams from combat. Need I say more. If I can get 6 - 7 hours straight through then it is "mission accomplished."

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sheryl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/6/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well I have read all the reviews and I think this medicine is like EVERY other medication...it works great for some and not for some. I am SO GLAD it works for me!!! I have had chronic sleeping problems for so long I don't even remember. I am a 58 yr old ADHD woman that does not take anything for that and my mind is constantly working!! I haven't had a decent night's sleep in so long. Tried Trazadone and did help at all. My doctor finally prescribed Ambien for me and I almost cried the next morning from the awesome restful night of sleep I got. I will never try or take anything else! My doctor said some people are that way that just certain drugs work for certain people. So I am so thankful to him to trying this on me!! #restfulsleepernowRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SD | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/31/2021
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a therapist I am hearing nothing good of Ambien, not only is it addictive, but 3 of my past or present clients have reported not reporting what they have done, falling not knowing, waking up with bruises and bumps, not remembering the night before and more. I am really horrified that such medication is out there and doctors seem to give it to so many. Worried Therapist in Texas.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zolpidem | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/14/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps me sleep. Taking for over 10 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Upset | 45-54 | Male | Caregiver
6/10/2021
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug should be taken off the market! Very dangerous! Causes sleep walking, disassociate behavior. Tired as hell the next day! Do to the fact that my son a firefighter got in his car drove did things and had no recollection of any of it. It’s happened every time he takes this drug. Causes depression! The company should be sued. I’ve had friends with the same reactions. Finally After a serious episode. He realized how scary and dangerous it is . Take it off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More