Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

111 People found this comment helpful

I take Xanax only as needed for Panic Attacks. It helps to know that I only have to "hang on" for 15 minutes or so and then it will kick in and work well. I am thrilled with it and don't know what I would do if it wasn't available.

Most voted negative review

29 People found this comment helpful

Like most things in life, the issue is how and why one takes Xanax. If you are taking it to treat a condition, be healthier, and be more alive and able to participate in life, you and your doctor can make good choices about whether xanax is helping or not. If xanax helps you run away from physical or emotional pain, and you live less, withdrawl more, etc. it is a big mistake and the longer you l...

Shared reviews and ratings

Laura T | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/12/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today is my first day taking Xanax. I have never had a anxiety/panic disorder until recently. I have been dealing with caring for my husband being terminal with cancer and being the only one working to pay the bills. Working long hours, caring for a sick husband and doing all of the daily chores around the house and farm has become extremely overwhelming. I was constantly feeling like I couldn't breath, feeling like I had life ending health issues and having that doom and gloom feeling like I was going to die ( literally ). I am on a as needed dose of just .05mg x2 per day. I am also on Escitalopram once daily. The Escitalopram really doesn't take away the panic and anxiety feeling. Taking the Xanax for the first time, after about 15 minutes I felt this wave of feeling like I had drank a hard alcohol drink, kind of like a foggy head, but it lasted only a minute and then I could feel a calming feeling. It kind of makes me feel sleepy and relaxed. Hopefully this medication with take away the horrifying feeling of doom and help me live a more normal life again. Got my fingers crossed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helping Hands | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/8/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't buy into anything these conartist are saying about buying any drugs without a prescription.They are looking to take your money and send you nothing. Find a doctor online or visit a clinic, but don't send these guys any money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Warning!! | 13-18 | Male | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Warning do not contact this person selling pills it is a Cop. My friend got busted by them on Friday. He never got his pills to say the least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Delia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/29/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesnt works well for me, I would't recommend this for anyone, Poison!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well for me, no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rocky | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It help me sleep and helps my anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BSR | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awesome for anxiety issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/18/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relaxes pains in muscles after hard days work and helps me wind down mentally

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ElPolloDiablo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/11/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

.5mg makes me a little mellow. I don't know if I have some kind of metabolic issue, but when I swallow the pill it has almost no effect. I melt it under my tongue, which can be a tad gross if I don't hold it in place pretty tightly. Bad aftertaste, so I have to wash my mouth out with water afterwards. I've never had brand name, so I can't compare with generic. Friends and family report that I get a bit glassy-eyed and can slur my speech as if drunk. For all of that, it does help with going into social situations, which is what I have a lot of trouble with. It's not a long-term fix; mostly it's a point defense for a situational issue. It's a benzo, so be really careful with it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mandie | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/27/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this since I was 15 (now 34) to manage generalized anxiety which then turned into panic disorder and insomnia. FYI I don't recommend smoking weed while taking anti-depressants and xanax as that is what started my panic disorder. This drug did take away my symptoms, but has pretty unpleasant side effects if you don't slowly taper off (insomnia, shaking, panic, anxiety, agitation). I found that sometimes I would have worse anxiety when taking it regularly. I would almost be on high alert until the next dose. Also, this drug is very strong and you can accidentally kill yourself if you take too much, drink alcohol, or take other benzos with it, so it is so important you are careful! If you are a long-term user docs don't tell you that you can eventually develop dementia and have lower cognitive functioning due to this drug. I don't recommend anyone to start this drug as it is incredibly addictive and the side effects and dependence are not worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BB | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/3/2020
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xanax has worked for me very well after trying countless other meds first because of a bad reputation that is not really true. I started Xanax in 1997 and It might not be for everyone, but it has worked for me well with talk therapy. It is not perfect, but close to it. I was on a high dose 6 mg per day and am down to 5mg now. I started with .25 three times a day and went to .5mg then 1mg and in 2009 ended at a total 6mg of 2mg bars per day and that is all i needed and never asked for more. I have raised my two girls had my own business and owned my own home. At this point in my life i would like to wean my self off slowly with the help of my Doctor and try cannabis and meditation. If you use cannabis and or drink and take Xanax think carefully about what your doing!!! What a long strange trip it's been. PeaceRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BB | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/3/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xanax has worked for me very well after trying countless other meds first because of a bad reputation that is not really true. I started Xanax in 1997 and It might not be for everyone, but it has worked for me well with talk therapy. It is not perfect, but close to it. I was on a high dose 6 mg per day and am down to 5mg now. I started with .25 three times a day and went to .5mg then 1mg and in 2009 ended at a total 6mg of 2mg bars per day and that is all i needed and never asked for more. I have raised my two girls had my own business and owned my own home. At this point in my life i would like to wean my self off slowly with the help of my Doctor and try cannabis and meditation. If you use cannabis and or drink and take Xanax think carefully about what your doing!!! What a long strange trip it's been. PeaceRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/16/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My PCP RX'd Xanax years ago for anxiety. I don't like taking medication (who does?) so only kept it handy if needed because my neurologist said it would work for my focal aware/psychic seizures. I started taking it on a regular basis this year due to increased anxiety. It works well. Take it at night because it will make you drowsy but will help you sleep. I'm on the lower dose. I had been on a higher dose but it wiped me out. NO side effects. Sometimes a little dizzy but they could also be attributed to the anxiety.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anthonysauro2 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am always nervous and stressed out and i cant sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xanax | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps me finally sit down & relax.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/8/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a hyper person, I like everything to be perfect, I am also OCD. Couple years ago I diagnosed with systemic mastocytosis blood disorder. It is a mast cell disease. This causes anxiety/fear when something goes majorly wrong. I take .5mg, in 20 minutes I feel back to normal. I don not abuse it, I take as needed. Great Medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
addie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/6/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tommie | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/22/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
steve | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/25/2020
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't want to bad mouth this drug just on my experience, but I think it is best used for panic attacks not on a daily basis. I was on 2 mg tid for over a month. By the end of that month, my anxiety would get horrible before it was time for the next pill. I quit cold turkey (probably a bad idea). I went through 2 days of hell with no sleep and stomach pains. After that it took another two weeks before I felt free of the drug. Since this time (40 years ago), I have been prescribed lorazepam sometimes as needed, sometimes for up to 3 months. I never crave more and have had no problem terminating the lorazepam when I felt I no longer needed it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Freshlyzz | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/11/2020
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive been on lexapro before this and this has worked for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More