Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

112 People found this comment helpful

I take Xanax only as needed for Panic Attacks. It helps to know that I only have to "hang on" for 15 minutes or so and then it will kick in and work well. I am thrilled with it and don't know what I would do if it wasn't available.

Most voted negative review

29 People found this comment helpful

Like most things in life, the issue is how and why one takes Xanax. If you are taking it to treat a condition, be healthier, and be more alive and able to participate in life, you and your doctor can make good choices about whether xanax is helping or not. If xanax helps you run away from physical or emotional pain, and you live less, withdrawl more, etc. it is a big mistake and the longer you l...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/10/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking .5 Xanax 3 or 4 times a day for a good ten years … it worked but made me drowsy Tapering off of this has been a very hard experience … so be warned if us super addictive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tjred12 | 25-34 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For anyone out there whom is in the devil grip of this monster drug, run get some help immediately!! This drug has the potential to ruin your life. For those who are in the middle of detox and if you decide to go turkey, this drug could kill you so please don't go cold turkey like I did and it took me two years to feel myself again!! The list of withdrawal symptoms goes on forever and never stops like confusion, extreme heat that runs up and down your body, extreme brain fog, sight problems, feeling like your looking at yourself from the out side, hard to read, hard to watch tv, you can just lay there and listen to music helps a little. I could on on and on about how this withdrawal will grab you and not let you know so make the smart choice and choose life and if your on Xanax, go get help now!! If you feel that it's time to quit, make sure you go to your local services or drug center and ask for help. BUT WHATEVER YOU DO, DON'T GO COLD TURKEY.!! BLESS YOU ALL.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nick64 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works for me after a few minutes of taking it with no side effects. I take it during or to prevent a panic attack. 0.5mg whenever needed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/3/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just been through a 15yr. Nightmare!! I was put on xanex at 1mg. Every 4 hours.. just like that my life as i knew it was over vomiting sometimes a week straight, hospital stays, 21 catscans, cant sleep, function, think ,eat, lost my job, Absolutely no sex drive the list cont... Its been 1 year now I have been tapered off and a month since I was taken off the taper now and I still can't function or sleep that well I have nightmares, night sweats, panic attacks and since i stop taking benzodiazepines I lost close to 75lbs in a year and that scares the hell out of me.. PLEASE EVERYONE MENTAL HEALTH IS REAL BUT BENZOS ARE A DEATH SENTENCE!!! I wanted to share my experience cause this is a frightening experience from which I can't recover. I dont want or wish this horror on anyone.. My thoughts are so jumbled I hope I made sense.. I WANT MY LIFE BACKRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 55-64 | Transgender | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/2/2022
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having a very hard time with work related stress. The medication really helped me. I only used it very rarely but having it available "just in case" helped me alot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gechie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/22/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried many other natural remedies. Nothing helped. I take 0.50 a day. .25 an and .25 pm. Hated to use it. But I now feel normal after suffering for 1.5 yrs. I use formula 303 for sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Malia | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/10/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xanax has worked for me very well after trying countless other meds first because of a bad reputation that is not really true. I started Xanax in 1997 and It might not be for everyone, but it has worked for me well with talk therapy. It is not perfect, but close to it. I was on a high dose 6 mg per day and am down to 5mg now. I started with .25 three times a day and went to .5mg then 1mg and in 2009 ended at a total 6mg of 2mg bars per day and that is all i needed and never asked for more. I have raised my two girls had my own business and owned my own home. At this point in my life i would like to wean my self off slowly with the help of my Doctor and try cannabis and meditation. If you use cannabis and or drink and take Xanax think carefully about what your doing!!! What a long strange trip it's beenRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deal | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/9/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xanax has worked for me very well after trying countless other meds first because of a bad reputation that is not really true. I started Xanax in 1997 and It might not be for everyone, but it has worked for me well with talk therapy. It is not perfect, but close to it. I was on a high dose 6 mg per day and am down to 5mg now. I started with .25 three times a day and went to .5mg then 1mg and in 2009 ended at a total 6mg of 2mg bars per day and that is all i needed and never asked for more. I have raised my two girls had my own business and owned my own home. At this point in my life i would like to wean my self off slowly with the help of my Doctor and try cannabis and meditation. If you use cannabis and or drink and take Xanax think carefully about what your doing!!! What a long strange trip it's been. PeaceRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/30/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had crippling anxiety and panic attacks for as long as I can remember. I was put on lexapro and made me feel extremely suicidal so I quit after 1 month of using it. I was than put on .50mg Xanax and it has fixed all of my major mental health issues. I can see how this medication could be very addictive however. Just be very cautious of how and when you decide to take it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/22/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works for me with no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicolas | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/22/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will not recommend this medication, it almost ruin my life with plenty of side effects.??????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lesley Warren |
10/20/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just lost my son they have me sleeping better Terry my son ????only a couple of months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/19/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best medicine, no side effects, I will recommend this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura T | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/12/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today is my first day taking Xanax. I have never had a anxiety/panic disorder until recently. I have been dealing with caring for my husband being terminal with cancer and being the only one working to pay the bills. Working long hours, caring for a sick husband and doing all of the daily chores around the house and farm has become extremely overwhelming. I was constantly feeling like I couldn't breath, feeling like I had life ending health issues and having that doom and gloom feeling like I was going to die ( literally ). I am on a as needed dose of just .05mg x2 per day. I am also on Escitalopram once daily. The Escitalopram really doesn't take away the panic and anxiety feeling. Taking the Xanax for the first time, after about 15 minutes I felt this wave of feeling like I had drank a hard alcohol drink, kind of like a foggy head, but it lasted only a minute and then I could feel a calming feeling. It kind of makes me feel sleepy and relaxed. Hopefully this medication with take away the horrifying feeling of doom and help me live a more normal life again. Got my fingers crossed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Delia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/29/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesnt works well for me, I would't recommend this for anyone, Poison!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well for me, no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rocky | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It help me sleep and helps my anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BSR | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/27/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awesome for anxiety issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/18/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relaxes pains in muscles after hard days work and helps me wind down mentally

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ElPolloDiablo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/11/2021
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

.5mg makes me a little mellow. I don't know if I have some kind of metabolic issue, but when I swallow the pill it has almost no effect. I melt it under my tongue, which can be a tad gross if I don't hold it in place pretty tightly. Bad aftertaste, so I have to wash my mouth out with water afterwards. I've never had brand name, so I can't compare with generic. Friends and family report that I get a bit glassy-eyed and can slur my speech as if drunk. For all of that, it does help with going into social situations, which is what I have a lot of trouble with. It's not a long-term fix; mostly it's a point defense for a situational issue. It's a benzo, so be really careful with it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More