Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

I have experienced excessive gas,some headache, noted fatigue, some sleep loss. Prescribed to take at bedtime, 1000mg suppository at bedtime. Also, seem to have elevated blood pressure and some chills.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

This medication did nothing for my symptoms.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have radiation damage, bleeding,pain in rectal area this medication worked great. Does cause cramping. However it’s short lived.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelletx | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine helped induce UC remission within days. While the administration takes a little getting used to, it’s not too bad and has helped my symptoms so much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lily | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/13/2019
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to use, you get used to the enema feeling after a few uses. In remission, suffer from mild cramps and urgency. Overall works very well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
db | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/16/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did nothing for my symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
12/4/2015
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had to take gas-x, to move the stool fecal movement because the X, colonoscopy 2007.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jennlynne2008 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/17/2011
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been on this medication for 3 days now, im having worse cramps, gas and just over all pain , im not sure that this medication is really doing me any good. my pain has gotten worse now that im use the meds. i would much reather take something oral this treatment take time to do . going to call my dr back to let them know about the pain and cramps now sure i can use this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2010
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication helped quickly. I have had some moderate cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Patient
12/8/2009
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this for a little over a week and ended up with pancreatitis, which I later learned it can be a side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
positively | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/22/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Administering this treatment has proven to be a bit of a hassle for me. I dislike the extra effort and prefer taking pills orally, however the treatment does have an immediate cooling sensation that brings comfort. I too have notice being a bit backed up for a few days following this treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2009
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 21 years of remission, I experienced a full blown flare up. With 20+ bathrooom trips a day I had bloating, gas, spasms, pain and bleeding. Witnin five days of use, Im back in remission. It's a miracle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FD | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/22/2009
Condition: Ulceration of the Rectum
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
akopecky | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2009
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Irish girl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/11/2009
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This worked for me for about 4-5 months, now the effectiveness is minimizing. Blood and mucous is back daily. I may need to pursue another treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IRAQ VET | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/11/2008
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a great product, but i feel that i am one of the few with a serious side effect. it is written that this drug will lower a mans sperm count. i am 24 years old, and have been taking this drug for 4 years now. i now have a 0 ZERO sperm count.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2008
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had ulcerative colitis for twenty years. When I do have a mild to moderate flare-up mesalamine has been effective and sooths my pain and diarrhea within a few days of usage. The benefits far outweigh any mild side-effects of mild cramping upon insertion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2008
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this drug for 5 days now. I am constipated and bloated!! With the exception of expelling some of the meds in the morning I have not had a bowel movement to speak of in a few days. I had used the suppositories in the past with better luck, but I guess I need more medicine now. 2 more treatments to go!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cdn chick 05 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2007
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first it was intimidating to use the product however it became easier over time. It relieved my chronic diarrhea except for the morning (daily)urgent bowel movements to vacate the bowel of the medicine. I much prefered this type of medicating over oral ingestion. This goes "100% right to the source" and starts working rather quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maninmtn | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2007
Condition: Inflammation of the Sigmoid Colon and the Rectum
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have experienced excessive gas,some headache, noted fatigue, some sleep loss. Prescribed to take at bedtime, 1000mg suppository at bedtime. Also, seem to have elevated blood pressure and some chills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More