Almost 2 Million Boxes of Cheerios Recalled

Oct. 6, 2015 -- Almost 2 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios have been recalled by General Mills Inc. because of an incident where wheat might have been introduced in products that were labeled gluten-free.

Cereals produced on certain dates in July at the Minneapolis company's Lodi, Calif.-based plant could trigger reactions in people with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance, the Minneapolis company said in a statement Monday.

"In an isolated incident involving purely human error, wheat flour was inadvertently introduced into our gluten-free oat flour system at Lodi," Jim Murphy, president of General Mills' cereal business, said in a statement on a company blog.

"This mistake occurred at just one plant, and the Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at our other plants were not affected," Murphy added.

The voluntary recall includes four days of production of Cheerios and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios, the company said in its statement.

Consumers with questions or concerns should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370, the company said.