From the WebMD Archives

Editor's note: This story was updated March 24, 2020 with additional states.

March 23, 2020 - West Virginia, Oregon, Indiana and Michigan became the latest states to issue stay-at-home orders.

Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer said that state's order that will be in effect for three weeks starting March 24.

“In just 13 days, we’ve gone from 0 to over 1,000 COVID-19 cases,” Whitmer said in a statement. “This is an unprecedented crisis that requires all of us working together to protect our families and our communities.”

A number of other states have ordered restrictions on residents' movements and on business and commerce. 

In Louisiana, Gov. John Bel Edwards issued an executive order closing all state offices to the public, and requiring all residents to stay at home except to get groceries, needed medical care, visit loved ones and attend church, among others exemptions.

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine also issued a "stay-at-home order" that started midnight on Monday. The same range of essential businesses will remain open and residents may leave home to patronize them. In Delaware, Gov. John Carney likewise has ordered residents to remain home except for essential matters.

New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, California and Illinois have also issued "shelter-in-place" orders that ask residents to stay home and request that non-essential businesses close.

In New Jersey, Gov. Phil Murphy issued a "stay-at-home" order Saturday.

“We know the virus spreads through person-to person contact, and the best way to prevent further exposure is to limit our public interactions to only the most essential purposes. This is a time for us all to come together in one mission to ‘flatten the curve’ and slow – and eventually halt – the spread of coronavirus," Murphy said in a statement.

In Connecticut, Gov. Ned Lamont asked that all non-essential businesses close starting Monday at 8 p.m. and he urged residents to stay home and work from home is possible. The order does not include services such as health care and law enforcement.

Gov. J.B. Pritzker's order will require all Illinois residents to remain at home except to go the grocery story, visit a health care professional, take walks and go to the drug store. Illinois has nearly more than 1,000 cases and five deaths.

New York's order went into effect Sunday night. In addition to banning non-essential services, it also bans any type of gathering for any reason, among other restrictions. New York has more than 15,000 cases and more than 110 deaths.

California Gov. Gavin Newsom, who issued a statewide stay at home order effective at midnight March 19, that will remain in place until further notice. Essential services such as groceries, banks, laundromats, car repair and restaurant take-out will be open. Essential state and local government functions will continue. Residents are asked to stay home except to get food, care for a relative or friend, get necessary health care or get to an essential job.

Newsom projected that up to 56% of California's residents, or about 25.5 million people, could be infected with COVID-19 in the next 8 weeks if strong measures are not taken.

Show Sources

West Virginia Health & Human Resources.

Office of Oregon Gov. Kate Brown.

Office of Indiana Gov. Eric J. Holcomb.

Office of Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer.

Office of Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards.

Ohio Deparatment of Health.

Office of Delaware Gov. John Carney.

Office of New Jersey Gov. Phil Murray.

Office of New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo.

Office of Connecticut Gov. Ed Lamont.

Office of California Gov. Gavin Newsom.

Office of Illinois Gov. J.B. Pritzker.


© 2020 WebMD, LLC. All rights reserved. View privacy policy and trust info