WebMD News Brief

32 States Have Issued Stay-at-Home Orders


April 1, 2020 - Arizona Gov. Doug Ducey and Virginia Gov. Ralph Northam issued statewide stay-at-home orders on Monday, becoming the latest governors to take such action becauseof the coronavirus pandemic.

“We are in a public health crisis, and we need everyone to take this seriously and act responsibly,” Northam said in his order. “Our message to Virginians is clear: Stay home.”

Thirty-two states are now under statewide stay-at-home orders, plus the District of Columbia, according to The New York Times. California was the first state to do so, on March 19.

These states don’t have statewide orders, but some cities and counties have imposed their own stay-at-home orders: Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

No stay-at-home orders have been issued in Arkansas, Iowa, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, and South Dakota, according to The Times.

Statewide orders have now been issued in:

Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.