Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

56 People found this comment helpful

Promptly taking one teaspoon calcium ascorbate POWDER (or plain ascorbic acid) plus 4 more doses over 24 hours STOPS all colds and flu. Repeat if symptoms re-appear. Seems to be a really potent anti-viral

Most voted negative review

38 People found this comment helpful

I think this does nothing for the common cold.

Shared reviews and ratings

Lu | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/12/2021
Condition: Common cold
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lypo-Spheric Vitamin C 1,000 mg | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/2/2020
Condition: Common cold
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this on Monday. Today is Friday. Dizziness has overtaken me since yesterday. I don't think I should take any more of this Lypo Spheric Vitamin C 1,000 distributed by LivOn Laboratories. (not the one selected below - it isn't on your list of Brand Products Used.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bradley | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/9/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For quite some time I had bad back pain. On top of that my back felt like it was on fire. Had to go to chiropractor 3 days a week. Got relief but couple days after it would return and my back would go back out. Started this and Iâ??ve only been to chiropractor 3 times in last 3 years. I believe I had scurvy. This is where your tendons, mussels and ligaments become well and break. Then your back wonâ??t stay in place. Then they bleed and causes the burning. All cured.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
2/20/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works well in high doses (4+ grams) to prevent or reduce symptoms of colds if taken early.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
5/22/2018
Condition: Common cold
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For 3 years now I've been getting chronic colds that got worse and worse with time. All the Dr.'s said it was allergies. Come to find out it was soy. I was eating A LOT of soy becuz of food allergies. Soy causes colds and sinus problems over time. During this time I would fight the colds with Vitamin C either straight or in "Airbourne". It would always knock it out. I wouldn't have been able to cope without Vitamin C. Thankfully I got off of the soy and no more colds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iloveoranges | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
9/13/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amazed | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/19/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amazing result ... I have been taking Sodium Ascorbate to treat my Hayfever. After the first 2 days it just stops it within 5 minutes (I have about 2000mg at the first signs of a sneeze or itchy eyes each day). I haven't needed medicine for the first time ever this year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GEORD3 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/30/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not too good!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
11/15/2015
Condition: Helicobacter pylori
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally don't take aspirin as it doest work for me and it causes my stomach to feel pain and alcohol will exasperate this to the point I can feel acid going up into my esophagus. Antacids that just contain calcium carbonate only last about an hour and my symptoms are back again. My symptoms disappeared when I started to take 1000 mg with a glass of orange juice in the morning instead of the rda of about 90 mgs in a multivitamin. I later learned that all of the nonprescription vitamin c sold in Canada actually contains less than the amount that is described on the label as some of it goes rancid after awhile. I later learned that taking 1000 mg will still give you about 300 mg worth which is more than the recommended dietary allowance of 90 mg per day for men and 75 mg for women. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vitameatavegamin | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
9/18/2015
Condition: Common cold
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking large doses of vitamin C in 1972 after suffering one cold after another for months, when I was in high school and I had two little sisters at an age where they brought home every conceivable virus. I based this trial on the reading of the new book by Linus Pauling, Vitamin C and the Common Cold. My life changed dramatically as I ceased getting colds as long as I kept taking at least 4-5 grams (4,000-5,000 milligrams) every morning without fail, and then an additional 1-2 grams after supper. Later, I found I needed more, and if I did begin to feel a virus coming on, I found that I had to take extra, up to 8 grams at a time, to stave off or reduce the impact and symptoms and duration. Often I need to then take an additional 2-4 grams every few hours in the first day or two to knock the virus out or almost out. If waiting more than a few hours when the very first symptoms begin to come on, it is less effective. If waiting more than a half a day it may do very little and you get the cold almost as you would without it. One thing I had to start doing after a number of years was take calcium and magnesium with the C to buffer it. I had big problems with ester-C and other pre-buffered C's which were too alkaline and messed up my gut worse than the pure C which is too acidic. I had to find a balance that worked for me. I have also successfully used C to stop the flu from progressing past the first few hours. C is the one vitamin I would never do without, if I could only afford to buy ONE supplement this would be it. I am amazed more people don't use it like my wife and I have learned to do, but you do have to take a LOT for it to really work this way. If you have a very direct exposure to a virus and not enough sleep, etc., then this will only do so much good, but normally it works incredibly well if you take it every day and take enough for you. There were a few times I tried stopping taking it but always got more colds again so went back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bean | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/16/2015
Condition: Breast cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tumour in back started shrinking when I started doing intravenous vitamin C

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Austin | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/3/2015
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking roughly 4-8,000mg of Vitamin C a day (half in the morning, half at night) to boost my immune system. Before starting I hit a fever of 99.5, coughing worse than before - I had seen a doctor and gotten Bromphenir for treatment, it helped suppress the cough at night since I couldn't take during the day due to it's side effects. That night I took 4000mg of Vitamin C, an ibuprofen, the Bromphenir, and drank about 24oz of water. Woke up feeling the best I felt since I started coughing. All I added was the Vitamin C. So I would definitely say that taking Vitamin C for this and probably similar kinds of illnesses would have a good overall impact. Plus it's a cheap treatment that has few side-effects. Well worth it in my opinion.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert Hocker | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/8/2015
Condition: Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I take Vitamin C for oral cancer, It makes white cells come from the walls of my mouth and deposit the sticky matter on my lips an mouth. Salt water that I hot sometimes makes the stickiness worse. Only green tea remove the sticky matter.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
5/7/2015
Condition: HIV/AIDS
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do NOT take excessive vitamin C when you have HIV. Taking vitamin C above daily requirements can cause treatment resistant strains of HIV!!! -Registered Dietitian

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FERN-C | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/4/2015
Condition: Common cold
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking vitamin c in a non acidic form 500 mg capsule for the past three years with excellent results. I used to suffer with a couple of dusy cold mostly during winter months every year. This amount of vc has kept this problem at bay.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rg | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

High dose Vitamin C along with Lysine has completely reversed Erectile Dysfunction within weeks of taking, based on Linus Paulings cures for atherosclerosis, amazing results! 10,000 mg spread out daily, half that in lysine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bandithd | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
12/23/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Anytime I feel a cold coming on, I will take 1000 MG an hour for 3 hours. I haven't had a cold in over 8 years. No kidding!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/9/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
langresearch | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/4/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A Japanese paper reported lower retinopathy in diabetics who reported vitamin C and E intake retrospectively. After an ophthalmologist had diagnosed "background microaneurysm and haemorrhage in left eye" I took daily: 500mg. Vit. C each 4 hours, up to 4 a day. 2000 IU vitamin E. 200 mcgm selenium 2gm. Fish Oil 4mgm. Astaxanthin standard dose bilberry extract I did: A 15 min walk on the flat after breakfast and dinner. Lost 1.5 stone in weight down to 14st (5ft 10 ins male 60 years old. I ate: 500 gm. total a day, lightly steamed of kale, spinach, cabbage, broccoli, red onion, 1/2 head of garlic chopped raw. 75gms. of blue/rasp/black-berries daily. I dropped carbohydrate intake to 50gm. a day. Discharged by ophthalmologist 9 months later, and retinal photos show gradual improvement over 3 years, to now just one dot, not in the macular (where there were dots before).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adamk1974 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/30/2014
Condition: Vitamin C deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My gums used to bleed when I brushed my teeth. I started taking 1-2grams 1000-2000mgs daily many years ago and they haven't bled since no matter how I brush. Honestly that tells me that vitamin C most likely makes many other parts of my skin and gums stronger and more resistant to infection. Just give it a try for any skin condition and you might be surprised and even amazed like me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More