Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

60 People found this comment helpful

Using cassia cinnamon to manage blood sugar for weight loss. Keeps me smooth all day, I don't get hungry and don't feel the need to snack. Very effective for me, I've lost 44 pounds so far.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

not bad

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/14/2018
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A1C dropped to 5.7 after 30 days use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Photomom | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/14/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My A1c was measured at 4.9 in January. I was taking one teaspoon of cassia cinnamon a day in my smoothie or a total of that throughout the day in other foods. I cut back to only 1/4 teaspoon a day after reading some scary comments about ' too much cinnamon' and I couldn't find how much I should take. My blood surgar results came back today as rising to 5.3 from 4.9...just since I stopped the one teaspoon a day! Not bad, but going the wrong way! There is family history of diabetes so this is very important to me. I am going back to 1 teaspoon thinking now, that it is safe....and certainly effective. I did NOT change my diet in any other way. By the way, I don't SEE KIRKLAND BRAND cassia cinnamon below in Brands, but that's the only kind I buy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/21/2016
Condition: Diabetic neuropathy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alanb | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/16/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cassia cinnamon is the cinnamon used in the research so why are so many companies selling true cinnamon which is much more expensive, instead? Is it the fear that the coumarin in cassia is dangerous? I have read research that the coumarin is what lowers our blood sugar so why buy true cinnamon that doesn't have any? I take cassia m-f and then on the weekend I take blood lowering supplements [like bitter mellon]. It seems to help when I mix things up a bit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maxy | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/27/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Beware. Cassia cinnamon contains coumarin, which has been banned in some countries. True Sri Lanka cinnamon is best. Once I find it, I will try to use it and let you know.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mx1000 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/18/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking two Cinnamon cassica capsules 500 mg supplement for couple months which I noticed feeling heat from my body in the morning. My blood glocuse has been dropping gradually. Two months ago, the finger stick was 245, and this month was down to 145. I also took one Oseni, a diabetic medicine for over nine months and one multivitamin pill for over a month in the early morning. With all this combination of medical treatments, I finally notice the difference in my blood glucose number. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Merlin's Mom | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/22/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried cinnamon to help improve my cholesterol numbers. I was at the low end of the high range. Instead of starting meds, I opted to try a daily regimen of steel cut oatmeal with 1/2 tsp cinnamon (spice, not supplement) for breakfast. After 3 months all of my cholesterol numbers were back in the normal 'green' range. Although this isn't "scientific proof", I found it extremely helpful. Also no side effects of any kind.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amar | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/21/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take c8nnamon with bilberry and garlic it lowers my finger stick by 10 to 15 points. If I skip these I take daily. My sugar level rises. even with diabetic medication. I was a le to take my aic crom 9 to 5.6 in 2 month period. also I noticed when I cheat small amount of ice cream if I dont take these my blood sugar stays high with these it goes back down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jlaper | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/23/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

within 24 hours of taking this i had my symptoms of diabetes mostly disappear ,especially when slipping up and eating what would be bad for me like sugar

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
annie oakley | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/27/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have reduced gas, blood sugar, and I have general well feeling

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/28/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/13/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although cinnamon has lowered my blood sugar by at least 25 points, it has irritated the yeast infections you get from diabetes. It caused extreme itching of my vaginal area because when I stop taking it the inflammation ceases quite a bit. If you aren't prone to yeast infections it is great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nclui01 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had recurring yeast infections for the past year, due to taking lots of different antibiotics for other things-mainly sinusitis, bronchits and the flu. I started reading about how cinnammon is so good for you, and just started taking it YESTERDAY(only 1 pill, 1x/day so far!), and I Swear to you, that the yeast infection is nearly completely gone(NO itching, NO bad smell, NO discharge!!!) I am truly amazed! If I would have known that cinnamon is SO good for you, I would have started taking it years ago! I also have taken "Oil of Oregano" for yeast infections before, and it helped like, 50%, but the Cinnamon has been like a MIRACLE, and doesn't even compare to the oregano oil! Take my advice folks...I've been to SO many doctors over the years, and there is nothing that NATURE can't treat 10x better! Just remember to be safe, and always research stuff like crazy from trustworthy places first, before you take anything! Good luck & God bless! :) P.S > I've been using "Planetary Herbals" Full Spectrum Cinnamon Extract, 250mg, which I got at Whole Foods.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
outwest | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/18/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a young diabetic. The doctors put me on all kinds of drugs. I stopped taking them. I have been able to get my sugar levels down fairly well with diet and exercise. (Lost 10% of my weight.)My numbers were still high in the morning - 115-130. I started taking cinnamon (1000 mg) and mixing it in a glass of water with dinner. My numbers have been around 105 in the morning. This has been a miracle cure for me. Can't wait to tell the drug-loving doctors that vitamins and minerals are better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Talktoheidi | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/28/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began taking cinnamon capsules for gestational diabetes. Read my brains out, consulted family physician & a naturopath, both gave me thumbs up to go ahead. I had read cinnamon supplements can cause miscarriage, even the label on the Natural Factors bottle I bought cautioned not for pregnant women. I used my judgement, did more reading, decided low dose (1500mg day) was worth trying. Took before bed, my morning fasting numbers were lower immediately. I should mention that I gave birth to a perfectly healthy 8.4lb baby boy, no complications, no problems at 39 weeks. He's now 1year old, ideal health, we're both doing great.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amkarei | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/25/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me cinnamon acts very much like an antihistamine -- withOUT the drying side effects. Having severe dry eye syndrome (which, after 3 months of use, IS helped w/20 to 30 mg of Lutein / day) I cannot use regular antihistamines, but sometimes even just a piece of cinnamon toast can help me with the itchiness of eczema or the sniffling of allergies or colds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/23/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

CASIA CINNAMO NOT SURE IF IT CAN BE TAKEN IF YOU HAVE ACID REFLUX? ANY HELP?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phyllie | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/30/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A dietitian/nutritionist recommended it for my husband's diabetes & it has worked wonders. His morning blood sugar was often 200+ & now is about 110. His blood sugar medicine is down to 2mg instead of 6mg. He takes 1000 mg of cinnamon each morning & we got it at Krogers-buy one get one free for less than $8.00.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/7/2012
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 2 500 mg capsules twice a day for 3 days and am experiencing flushing and heartburn, but the most concerning problem was belching out brown powder. If the powder is present in the gas coming out my mouth it can be easily sucked into my lungs and I'm pretty certain it could cause some major damage there. I now open the capsules onto cottage cheese or yogurt and make sure all the powder is wetted. No more belching brown powder and the heartburn is improved. No difference in the flushing. I don't know if it's making any difference in my BS or triglycerides yet. I'm taking Rexall Cinn-Max 1000 mg cinnamon with 100mcg chromium twice daily. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ahmed | Age: 25-34 |
9/20/2012
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not bad

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More