Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

158 People found this comment helpful

I initially started taking it with iron and vitamin B complex to help my complete blood count. What I do not like is how I need to take one tablet with food. I wish I could take it without. My blood has never been healthier though, and I always had anemia. Plus it really speeds up your metabolism and I seemed to have lost fat but muscle stayed. More energy, overall feeling better. Highly recommend...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

Using 15 mg. of 5-MTHF from Extrafolate-S. Only been using it for about two 1/2 weeks. DNA tests showed I was low in producing folate. I can't tell any difference so far. It is supposed to support my psychiatric medications.

Shared reviews and ratings

yanah | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/6/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amen | Age: 65-74 |
12/25/2018
Condition: Cognitive impairment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the MTHFR genetic SNiP inhibits Folic Acid methylation metabolism in 16% (by 100%) and 32% (by 50%) of Hispanic Caucasians. A pesticide, glyphosate, kills Lacto- and Bifido-bacillus effecting Gut Dysbiosis inhibiting Folic Acid methylation. FDA Law defined Folic Acid, a synthetic precursor created in 1943, to be Folate, L-MF vitamin B9. The CDC finds Folic Acid at 2x the level intended by the FDA Law in people. Cancer researchers find that free Folic Acid is a carcinogen at levels in regular daily supplements. CSF cerebral spinal Folate Deficiency is common in serious neurological disorders. The desiccant, glyphosate, applied at harvest to nonGMO cereals and grains is abundant in whole grains. While herbicide formulas, Agent Orange and Glyphosate, are used within EPA Standards, the fact remains herbicides are neurotoxins Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aa | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/27/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jason | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/17/2017
Condition: Vitiligo
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

20 percent

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nick | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/23/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed gout............

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fran | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/22/2016
Condition: Methotrexate toxicity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kay rose | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/11/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

using prescription 1mg folic acid pill along with 10mg celexa. After 1 week its already making me unafraid and ruthless! Watch out now! :-)lol!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kayrose | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/8/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

using prescription 1mg folic acid pill along with 10mg celexa. Already making me unafraid and ruthless! Watch out now! lol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DorisP | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using 15 mg. of 5-MTHF from Extrafolate-S. Only been using it for about two 1/2 weeks. DNA tests showed I was low in producing folate. I can't tell any difference so far. It is supposed to support my psychiatric medications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K93 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/2/2015
Condition: Folate deficiency
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was not compatible with IBS! Didn't have a good experience at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gramibear | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/5/2015
Condition: Folate deficiency
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

counter effective, makes me sick

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DKW | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/25/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have no experience with this and was researching if MTHF would be effective for someone already with breast cancer, but your website does not distinguish between MTHF, folate and folice acid they are not the same thing and you are not providing quality information for individuals who do not know or understand that. YOu should do a better job of providing quality information to people.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/7/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

EFFECTIVE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over |
1/10/2015
Condition: Methotrexate toxicity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noxy | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking these pills 4days ago and I have stomach cramps since I started and my bowel is lose and smelly, I wonder is its working or damaging further.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/26/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This doesn't give a reason of miscarriage or MTHFR as reasons for taking this treatment, but it's the real reason I did. I had 6 miscarriages, 5 of which were consecutive after having had 3 healthy children. I went to doctor after doctor finally being diagnosed with MTHFR. After an RE recommended folic acid (which is NOT the same as methylfolate - 2 different forms of vitamin B9), I discovered that made things worse. I did my own research and discovered methylfolate. I took this and the very next pregnancy was carried to full term with a healthy baby as a result. Not only that though - my chronic fatigue, depression, neurological issues, and memory loss all immediately and dramatically improved. Folic acid is synthetic and cheap - but it is not what the body uses. It has to convert it to methylfolate first. For those of us with MTHFR polymorphisms, this process is either partially or completely broken. Folic acid is not only useless to us, it is actually deadly. I wish someone had told me years ago all I needed was a better vitamin B9!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
adallen | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/8/2014
Condition: Fatigue
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My wife takes Dylantin for epilepsy. She started taking folic acid about a week ago. This morning as we began our morning walk, she became dizzy and nauseous, to the point that we had to terminate our walk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anne | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
folic acid | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/5/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

one ear still block

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More