Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

353 People found this comment helpful

3 years I developed irregular heart rate due to autoimmune thyroditis (or maybe due to the Synthroid I have to take every day). My heartbeat was like Morse code, and had the tendency to stop for several seconds and start again, cca 20 hrs a day. I was told there was no medication for it. I found a german study online that treated older folks with taurine for the uneven beat and arginine to elimina...

Most voted negative review

70 People found this comment helpful

found it in an energy drink.

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
5/2/2020
Condition: Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This helps my RLS but must have other stuff too like b6 magnesium and glycine. Also some GABA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/31/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Frequent PVCs and AFib. Take 1 gram taurine twice daily with 150mg magnesium glycinate twice daily. Now only occasional PVC with no AFib. Side-benefit is greatly improved vision -- cataracts seem to be clearing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 |
12/15/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been losing taurine in my urine because of high beta alanine of unknown cause. I tried taurine powder; i hold 1/4th teaspoon in mouth for 30 sec or more and then spitt out. 675 mg. Much to my surprise, not only do i tolerate it (im very reactive to meds) but it unexoectedly lowered my bop (i am frequently in hypertensive crisis), it takes the edge of my hyper andrenergic state, i sleep better, and i a tually think helping my gut. So far ive only been doing it every other day because of a study finding liw doses taken daily ends up increasing bp in females. I get rebound on days i dont tqke it. Note this is in contrast to cbd oul which i also tried abd that just nakes me feel stupid. The taurine calm feeks so much more natural. I heep waiting for something bad to happen! I want to see if tbis also removed the non specific T wave abnormalities i get on ekg. Low tairine causes both nagnesium And potassium to be lost and that nay be giving me palpitations. Im still getting tbose but have only been on two or so weeks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cesar | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/5/2018
Condition: Fatigue
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taurine has taken away my fatigue and my pain on my legs once I take it in the evening..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karen608 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/8/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried a zero calorie tall energy drink, silver can, 3 servings in it, but drank it all. In two hours my blood pressure that had been 150/88 for 4 months, now was 121/77. I waited a few hours more and it still was good. Taurine was near the top of ingredients, and I believe this helped me, so will buy some Taurine to give it more of a daily test as energy drinks are expensive. If I can control my blood pressure with a supplement instead of medication, it'd be a real bonus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anniebell | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/19/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Taurine for high blood pressure along with potassium and magnesium. It lowers my blood pressure and my cholesterol as well. My cholesterol dropped from 234 down to 185. I was taking 250mg a day. I don't want my cholesterol to drop too low so I'm backing off a little.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cabinfever | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/13/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Taurine for cluster headaches I had suffered with for 4+ months. I combined Taurine with Cal/Mag/Zinc which I have now been able to scale back on, and I feel the combination is what helped me get through the awful effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wmd | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/4/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had hypertension for the past 20 years and very sensitive to blood pressure medications, the result being over the years there are fewer medications that I can tolerate, this is further aggravated by my allergy to all dies and food colorings. Taurine has reduced my blood pressure to well within the levels that my doctor finds acceptable, the only side effect being that I feel much better than I have in several years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redbird | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
3/28/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Am taking for afib, 6 grams daily with 1300 mg of magnesium and the results have been dramatic. Episodes are far less frequent and when they occur, much less severe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nothing | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/4/2016
Condition: Congestive heart failure (CHF)
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i need to know warnings of what not to take with taurine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/21/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

From 140/80 to 118/20 in two months or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/8/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

light headiness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
slj | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed palpitations that were later defined as ectopics or PVCs. 1 gram of taurine a day almost eliminates them. I was later found to have low iron which may cause my palpitations, but even before starting iron supps the taurine cut them down and eased anxiety associated with them. I hope this helps someone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/7/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dramatic lowering of BP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/9/2015
Condition: Congestive heart failure (CHF)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given 1 year to live if I tried to treat myself. That was over 7 years ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RN | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/1/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

taurine taken 2 capsules = 1000mg helps improve focus and alertness. It is a main ingrediant in energy drinks along with b12 and caffeine. I use NOW BRAND .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/26/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Momdroid | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/17/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Beginnings of Macular Degeneration

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a-fib. Since starting 2 grams of Taurine daily (1 in AM, 1 in PM) the episodes have decreased markedly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/10/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had Arrythmia for year and a half brought on by hard triathlon training. Heard about taurine's use on the radio. Took just 5mg each day and within six weeks all the extra beats went away and now heart beat is back to normal. i ceased the taurine and heart rythm has stayed regular. Hope this helps someone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More