Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

48 People found this comment helpful

Menopausal hot flashes, weight gain. Have noticed hot flashes diminish greatly with dim and weight loss, five pounds in two months. Feel much better and less emotional.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

Assuming DIM caused my reaction as nothing else changed in my routine -- took recommended 2 cap/day dose - by evening of second dose my eyes were swollen with huge bags under my eyes and puffy lids, and a pink bumpy rash on my trunk and arms. My throat seemed raw -- I took a Benedryl and stopped taking the DIM. Took a few days for the swelling to subside.

Shared reviews and ratings

Colleen | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/20/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this based on a friend recommendation to help w menopause symptoms. Almost ended up in the ER last night from the most excruciating headache and night sweats I have ever had. Only put it together that it could be this new supplement since I woke again w same symptoms. Led to my research about this pill and fully agree w other comments that this is horrible! If 2 pills can cause this what would happen with more???? I’ am deviated to read the other symptoms people have experienced and certainly hope I don’t experience those. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shannon | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/18/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking DIM almost two weeks ago, so I will only speak to my experience so far and follow up with another review later. I am 25 years old and have had terrible hormonal cystic acne since I was a young teen. I also have digestive issues which I believe have something to do with a severe bought of anorexia/"orthorexia" I had during my teens. These digestive issues may also have something to do with my hormonal acne, since I've heard that an impaired gut microbiome can negatively impact hormonal metabolism. Topical treatments have helped slightly with my skin texture, but it became clear to me that the acne is hormonal and requires an internal solution. Previously I tried saw palmetto (which worked really well for my acne but gave me lower abdominal bloating and pain), maca (made my acne worse), and lots of spearmint tea (didn't seem to do much), among other things. I started taking low doses of DIM starting at ~25 mg/day for a few days followed by ~50 mg/day to help with my hormonal breakouts and possibly help with my IBS-C symptoms (which also tend to occur during my luteal phase). So far, it seems to have really helped with the cystic acne, but I have yet to see how the rest of my luteal phase goes since I'm just starting week 3 now. Today I have severe bloating and I have been having more gas and bloating than usual in the days before this. I'm not sure if that's from the DIM or just something I've been eating that doesn't agree with my sensitive GI tract. Will report back in a month or two!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/18/2021
Condition: Cervical dysplasia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just wanted to lose weight so i bought DIM. first day i already experience mingrain headache and my pee is reddish color. I stop to find out if its from DIM. and drink headache meditation. I tried again and the same thing happened! I research and found the reviews here and im right! DIM is useless horrible meditation! Still having mingrain and my stomach is still upset and feels like i want to throw up… thank-you all for your reviews … it did help for the confirmation … by the way im not a Cervical dysplasia patient … i just have to choose one to proceed this review… i am just an obese patient who wants to lose weight … this product is a killer … don't ever try it… Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DIM | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/15/2021
Condition: Cervical dysplasia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 55 and post menopausal for about 2 years. I started taking DIM and within 2 weeks my breasts were sore for about 2 weeks the a week later I started with cramping in my abdomen and then lower. Then came a period in which I passed tissue as well as normal period blood. I believe I was shedding the extra thick layer in my uterus that woman get post menopausal. I stopped taking it when I started bleeding and then put it all together was from the DIM. I will not take this if after menopause it causes me to have periods. So over it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/8/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gained ten pounds in 2 weeks!! Had no side effects in the beginning. Then started experiencing bad headaches about 4 days in. Within a few days my stomach was protruding and my waist was expanding. Nothing would help. My stomach hurt constantly. The pounds just came on so fast. It is crazy! I went to my follow up appointment two weeks after starting DIM and I had gain 10 pounds! Now now have severe edema in my lower legs and ankles. Severe joint pain and a puffy face. My usually low BP was off the charts high. I cannot wait until this is out of my system. This is a HORRIBLE supplement. If a doctor suggests DIM, all I can say is RUN!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DIMISCRAP | Age: 45-54 |
5/12/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff is AWFUL. Just awful. I don't know why any doctor would suggest buying this and putting it in your body. I'm 50 and going through menopause. I haven't had a period in two years. I took two doses (100 mg per dose) and now I have a full fledged period, including cramps, headache, moodiness, etc. The cramps are excruciating. This is not how supplements are supposed to work. This is dangerous. If two doses could do that to my body who knows how many three could do? Or four? This crap is going in the trash. I can't believe I wasted my hard earned money on it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/12/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this twice, on advice of my doctor, to help with PMS and migraines. The first time, I took 100mg a day (along with Vitex) and had no PMS, which was great, but on the first day of my period, I threw my back out (which NEVER happened before) and then experienced intense moodiness. I contacted my doc, and she recommended stopping DIM, which I did. Fast forward three months, still having migraines around my cycle, so doctor advises to add DIM back in... OK? I decided to start small with 50 mg, did that for 3 weeks and still got the migraines, in fact, they were worse and on the first day of my period, guess what? Threw my back out again! My doctor then said, perhaps I'm just not taking enough. She typically recommends 150-300 mg, so, I decide to step up to 150, but after three days of 100 mg, I'm again a moody mess with a severe migraine that won't go away. I also wonder if it affected my hormones in a way that caused some other medications I'm taking to not be as effective. Sheesh. I quit and threw pills in the trash. I was taking Nature's Way. I'm hoping my body can regulate itself and get back to baseline so I can find an actual remedy for the migraines and PMS.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/9/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have started taking this for cystic acne. Within 24 hours of taking, I got a throbbing headache and have them daily, but have been taking in the morning. I'm going to try moving my dosage to the evening because the headaches (3 days now) are seriously exhausting. I have not seen any immediate change in my acne, but also want to try it for 30 days and hoping the headaches go away. I'm taking 200mg/day from Smokey Mountain Nutrition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fionasm1 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking DIM plus for extreme oily and hormonal acne prone skin. After over a month of use my skin is great. I saw improvement after a few days. So far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
just me | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/11/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 400mg every day for estrogen dominance. It cleared up all my issues- hair loss, ovarian cysts and fibroid and extreme mood swings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lewis462 | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/9/2020
Condition: Prostate cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have elevated PSA. Took 400mg daily for four days. Blood pressure went from an average of 145/90 to 175/100 - stopped taking the pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NotTryingThisAgain | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/1/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I purchased a maca root plus dim combination supplement by whole world botanical. Started it the end of Dec 2019. The symptoms came on gradually. I first started getting gassy and meeding to pass smelly gas more and more. I was only taking one 200 mg pill every 3 to 4 days at this point as i wanted to work my way up. I think it definitely caused digestive sensitivity bc i ate some spicey soup early Jan and my digestive track couldn't handle it. I had the worst gas for 36 hrs straight that ive ever had. My period was approaching soon after which is when things started getting wild. Back pain, headaches, body aches in my arm pit and groin area, noticed i wasn't going #2 daily like usual. I dont typically have strong pms symptoms. I got my period on the predicted day and it was shorter by 1 day. The crazy symptoms vanished during that time but then reappeared when my period was over. The week prior to my period i had been taking the pills every day for three of the days. Its 7 days post period. I still have the rotating symptom head ache or body ache. Today the body ache was prominent. Waiting for the hormone disrupting effects to wear off hopefully soon. Has anyone had similar occur and how long until normalization? I only took the supplement to try to help hormonal acne and my skin looks clear now but it wasn't worth all the pain.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/3/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking it for endometriosis, was previously on oral birth control but didn't like the side effects of the hormones. I've been taking 200mg of DIM once a day for 6 months and I am believer. Not only have my periods come at a regular rate, but the pain during my period went from 10 to 1-2. I was in tears before and now it is mild discomfort. I have also lost weight and my sugar cravings have gone down, but am not sure if that is related.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grejulian | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/29/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sleeping better after beginning DIM

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/22/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought these to help with spotting between periods (14 days of spotting from end of period until after ovulation). After 2 weeks of taking them I am having the most painful and heaviest period I have ever experience. Alongside this I have hot flashes and night sweats which I did not have before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hana | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/9/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been using the Smokey Mountain DIM for my hormonal acne for about 2 weeks. This WILL CAUSE PURGING, Itâ??s part of the detox. It takes time to get used to this supplement. The first week my acne got worse and I had a really bad headache the first day I took this. I almost stopped using it but Iâ??m glad I didnâ??t. I see it starting to clear up now. I also feel less bloated and even my mood has changed. Definitely recommend for PCOS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/25/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor suggested I take DIM to lower my estrogen levels, which were high for my age at the time (54). I've been taking it for three years, and my estrogen levels have remained lower.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
br1000 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/20/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was having sever hot flashes throughout the day. Night sweats even worse. Started taking Smokey Mountain Naturals DIM + BioPerine (200mg) once a day, along with Spring Valley Evening Primrose Oil (1000mg) three times a day. Great results! Still have a hot flash now and then, but nothing like before. Highly recommend. Talk to your doctor first, just in case of drug interaction with any medications you are on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/16/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/21/2017
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More