Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

98 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with bursitis in my right hip I had been suffering from for months. My doctor wanted to give me a cortisone shot in my bursa. I refused. My brother had suffered from bursitis in his shoulder and suggested that I try dissolving one tablespoon of gelatin and take with juice (I take it with strong green tea) Well, it was a miracle! (or a coincidence) but within about two weeks my pain...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Never had the treatment

Shared reviews and ratings

person | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/16/2021
Condition: Malnourishment-related diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you have a sore esophagus due to intubation (or any reason really) then swallowing becomes a real challenge. This is a big problem which could lead to needing to be fed by tube and saline drip. Fortunately good old food grade gelatin is available. Chilled gelatin is hydrating in a way that a sore esophagus can handle with greater ease than even ice water, and it's possible to make food grade gelatin nutritionally sound enough for a short term diet by using added water soluble ingredients. If you need a solution to tide you over until you can get a doctor or nurse's advice, definitely consider using gelatin.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Texan | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/14/2021
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I make my own jello I have added 2 envelopes of gelatin mix with some juice and hot Walter Eat 3gram gelatin a day It has improved my knee pains

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJ | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/2/2021
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken gelatin for well over a year now and I have to say, it hasn't made a difference in my joint pain at all. The negative thing though is that gelatin is loaded with arginine and that can cause herpes flares like crazy. I have wondered what was going on with me and why that was happening so much this last year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennie | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/7/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thought this might help with hair loss. Almost immediately gave me severe heartburn, something I almost never suffer from. Tried it a couple of times, just to be sure it wasn't something else. Definitely not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Applebox | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/21/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using one plain gelatin packet in my coffee every morning for 11 months. Most of my joint pain has reduced or diminished and I am feeling more flexible. On a side note, my hair is growing in thicker than before. Not a bad side effect!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vonsuess | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/20/2020
Condition: Joint pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have considerable joint pain, particularly in my hips. I tried taking two envelopes of Knox gelatin per day to see if it helped. I was amazed at how well it works. Joints are feeling better by the day. For some reason, my eyesight has also improved to where I'm back down to my old glasses. I have no explanation for this. I take the gelatin in soup every day. I first tried stirring it into orange juice but it just didnt dissolve very well. In hot soup, it becomes undetectable when stirred in. I also take Glucosamine and Chondroitin pills, but without much affect until I started also taking the gelatin. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CrunchyTaco | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
12/25/2019
Condition: Joint pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using great lakes gelatin for around 5 or 6 years now. The first week will cause some stomach issues but continue through it. It won't last long. However, within three weeks I notice my skin changed for the better. So I kept taking it just for that alone. As I continued I started noticing even more improvement. I used to have extreme pain in my feet and arthritis from a early age. I am no able to be on my feet for hours without any pain. So more pain meds for years now. No more standing on the edge of the bed bracing for impact. No more pain in my hands when opening a bottle and so on. A few years back I went off of it for a week. Just to give it a test and the pain came back within a week. So now I may only miss one dose and I am at the store buying more. Also to note my stomach saw improvement but not a whole lot from this product. This may not be the only factor but I am also told I look 23 to 27 at age 36. So over all I will never stop taking this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/21/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My right shoulder joint felt like it was dry when I put weight on it and my right hand would creak in the morning. I've been sprinkling a tsb. on cerial in the morning for about a month and the dry shoulder felling is almost gone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/11/2019
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AMAZING results with Real Food brand gelatin for my hip osteoarthritis. One Tbs. Mixed with 1/4 c water and leave overnight in a coffee mug on counter.. No refrigeration! Mix with hot coffee in AM, absolutely no taste. Absolutely works like a miracle and better than hip injections. After 5 days of taking I was no longer li mping and suffering and stopped ibuprofen completely. I stopped after 30 days and within 4 days my pain returned. Again, took 5 days of retaking daily for my pain to subside. I call this a miracle! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/4/2019
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I heard from a doctors show 2 TBS mixed with 1/4 c water, mix the night before in a coffee mug and leave on your counter.Do this 1 mo straight, then repeat after 6 mos. I asked my Dr, she said YES it's been used for centuries. It has helped like a miracle on my athritis in hip!!! I felt better after less than a week,it totally works. Must be unflavored gelatin, it is like bone broth per my Dr. Worked better than injection!! I used Knox, but read great Kakes brand is best. I just ordered Now Real Food brand.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sradie | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/25/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I play guitar and have a baby finger bitten and broken by a dog that never healed properly. Osteoarthritis set in badly and was so painful I almost quit playing. I started taking one 600mg Gelatin capsule a day and after a few weeks the pain subsided to the point I could play for an hour with bearable pain. Now, after a couple months, I can play with very little pain at all. It has really helped me a lot but I do worry about the dosage level and the continued use of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
puka | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/18/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/13/2018
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
12/14/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using gelatin, usually Knox, for about 12 years, 1 teaspoon a day. I had arthritis pain in my hands, elbows and shoulders. The pain was gone in a couple of months and I remain pain free as long as I take it. I have been off it a few times for a few months when I couldn't get it and the pain would come back. Works very well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/30/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nothing will eliminate the OA, but this is a positive way to reduce my pain to a very manageable state. I had both knees replace due to OA. I also have Arthritis in my back, neck and shoulders. I have been using this every morning in my coffee for the last month and a half. Makes me forget that I have Arthritis. I just reordered 3 more 16oz bottles of Knox Gelatin powder!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/10/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

during the time I took the gelatin (10 days) my back pain increased dramatically. That was the only thing I was doing different and when I stopped the pain was less in a day and back to 'normal' in 2 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/2/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My joints have felt better since taking 2tsps each day for 3weeks. I would like to know if I could continue taking it but reduce the dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/18/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoMoreReflux | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
9/27/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps heal Leaky Gut and the stomach lining. Try drinking unflavored gelatin (Knox brand) in your favorite hot beverage 1 tablespoon 2 times a day and you stomach will feel so much better! Worked for me after 11 years of suffering. Helped me get off Prilosec!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms Phillips | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/12/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking this product along with Vitamin D 1000mg, and Magnesium, so far the combo has worked well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More