Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

152 People found this comment helpful

Frequent UTI's - requiring IV antibiotics about 4 x a year. I have tried everything from cranberry pills to juice to antibiotic by mouth. The last UTI prior to starting D-Mannose required an overnight hospitalization. Since I found this - not one UTI. I took it originally for a week and then I take a maintenance dose twice a week. This has been a life changer for me. And I am an RN.

Most voted negative review

36 People found this comment helpful

Everyone should be aware that D-mannose is a sugar. Every bacteria in your gut will want to get its hands on it and chow down, potentially causing overgrowth and massive gas production. Even though it can be effective for eliminating E. Coli, also be aware that other bacteria can give UTIs that this will have no effect on. Antibiotics can sometimes be necessary. A kidney infection can kill you...

Shared reviews and ratings

Paula621p | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/15/2021
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Read all the potential side effects and how to take it. Was prescribed to me by my Urogynocologist as a alternative to antibiotics. 2 500mg pills every day. Took 2 pills with food and an hour later my stomach is killing me, super nauseous and I’m trying to drink water like crazy to help flush out the side effects. If you’re going to take this and are sensitive to medication either don’t or ease into it. Will try 1 pill tomorrow with a ton of water and hope for the best. Really tired of UTI’s and antibiotics but it’s better than this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bee | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/1/2021
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was getting recurring UTI's and kept going on antibiotics which would knock it back, then it would come back right after. I've tried cranberry supplements before with no success, then I read about d-mannose which is the sugar in cranberry. Very quickly my symptoms improved... faster and more thoroughly than the antibiotics. I've tried to go off it, and if I miss a dose or two, the symptoms will start creeping back. If that happens, I have to take a double dose for a few days. So, I'm taking 1/2 teaspoon of the powder in my coffee every day, buy it when it's on sale, and will never be without it. (Note that I also have fibromyalgia and interstitial cystitis so I always have pain when I urinate. This has thankfully improved those symptoms as well to the point where it's not torture when I urinate.)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eileen | Age: 65-74 |
5/31/2021
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have not had a UTI or kidney infection or e-coli infection since taking. Urologist prescribed this OTC supplement based on a chronic UTI condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/26/2021
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After bladder prolapse surgery a 1.5 years ago I promptly had SIX UTIs one right after the other and two weeks after I would finish antibiotics. Culture showed off-the-scales amount of Ecoli bacteria. Went on suppression therapy of Macrobid (which is dangerous over time); went off and technician suggested D-Mannose powder. I take 1/2 tsp (500 mg) every morning on empty stomach (to coat tract in advance). Have been taking over two months now and tho' uro/gyn wanted to put me on Bactrim suppression therapy FOR NO REASON; possibly for rest of life, I asked to stay with D-Mannose. No burning whatsoever; no telltale signs of the symptoms of UTI I am all too familiar with. Fingers crossed this good luck and result continues. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
1/4/2021
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/25/2020
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel like many of us don’t understand how much plants and natural remedies can affect us. I decided to take D-Mannose pills after and urologist prescribed me antibiotics for frequent urination, even if the analysis came out fine. After reading the side effects of the antibiotics, I decided to try mannose first. I paid a lot of money to get it imported from the USA to my country, and began taking 2 500mg pills a day. It seemed fine, so I increased the dosage to 3 pills. A few hours later I was in a lot of pain. The inflammation in my stomach was so bad that it reached my back and couldn’t even sit down. Also, the urine became bright yellow. I stopped the mannose but ever since, I get stomach aches after each meal and I developed acid reflux. I also get cystitis episodes, in which I end up peeing up to 8 times in less than 2 hrs. I’m very angry at myself for taking this and making things much worse. I hope my experience helps somebody.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenny | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/5/2020
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had bladder cancer so now have a neo bladder. I suffered infections every month and was constantly on antibiotics. My consultant recommended D mannose to try, I have been on them 4 months and not one infection, to me they are like a miracle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/27/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from a rare condition called Transverse Mylytis which effectively results in a spinal cord injury. As this prevents me from completely emptying my bladder I have for the last five years suffered with continual uti. I spent two weeks out of every month on antibiotics, this was all the doctor could offer me. I did my own research and found D mannose. What an absolutely amazing supplement!! I can honestly say it has changed my life. I take three tablets a day and it has now been six months since I have had a uti. After five years this cannot be a coincidence. My urologist agreed that he had also heard of the effectiveness of this supplement but it is not available on prescription. It is only effective against ecoli.bacteria and quite expensive but if like me you are desperate for a product that works, do your own research and give it a go. I am so glad that I did.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/14/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stop having UTI since I’ve been taken D-Mannose 2 months ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GrandmaNature | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/4/2020
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffered from recurrent UTIs for years that were becoming increasingly resistant to antibiotics. Found d-mannose information online, tried it, and it changed my life. Take half a teaspoon daily as a preventative, more if I have UTI symptoms. Went from 6 plus infections per year to one infection in the last six years (and that happened when I failed to take it). This works for e-coli infections! Too bad MDs don't recommend it, my doc had never heard of it. Suspect selling designer antibiotics is much more lucrative than selling sugar so no one funds research.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenny | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/7/2020
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had bladder cancer so now have a neo bladder. I suffered infections every month and was constantly on antibiotics. My consultant recommended D mannose to try, I have been on them 4 months and not one infection, to me they are like a miracle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roz36 | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/18/2020
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great for prevention. Sometimes upsets my stomach. I take 2 tablets twice a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hailey | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/13/2020
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve had chronic UTIs for almost a year now, constant terrible pain and antibiotics from the doctor didnâ??t work for long. I bought the powder form of d mannose about a week ago now and since the first dose, Iâ??ve had absolutely no pain! I started out with two packets a day and have brought it down to just one now. It truly feels like a miracle, I wish everyone who struggles with UTIs could know about this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/21/2019
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I researched and started using D-Mannose after suffering two particularly bad UTIs back-to-back. That was two years ago, and I’ve avoided UTIs since. I often take 1000 mg per day in one or two doses as maintenance. Take it with a glass of water, then wait a bit before drinking more. Give it a chance to sit in your bladder and bind to any bacteria before washing it out via drinking lots of water. If I feel a twinge of a UTI coming on, I might take an additional 1000 mg. It can cause loose stool at higher doses. I use the NOW brand D-Mannose 500 mg capsules I’m not on any prescription medications. I use a small use of full-spectrum CBD oil sublingually every day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yay-rethra | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/12/2019
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

D mannose has changed my life. I have been suffering from excruciating and recurrent UTIs and have been waiting for months to be seen by a specialist. I have taken over 10 courses of antibiotics this year alone and UTIs have significantly affected my quality of life. I was suggested D-mannose by one of the doctors I have been able to see who had said that it had worked for some of his patients. Since, I take 2,000mg a day and haven't had a uti in around 50 days. Sometimes I forget to take it and I can feel those nagging underlying symptoms coming back but a few hours after I take some more those symptoms go away. It honestly has changed my life. No medication has seemed to soothe my UTIs and the discomfort associated with them(ex: cranberry pills, juice, cystitis dissolvable solution, oils etc) but now I feel so much more in charge of my life and don't have to live with the anxiety of being in pain. I think my situation is complicated because I likely have a biofilm(s) in my bladder that the D mannose cannot rid (while it can rid free floating and less complicated infections), but while I wait for my appointment with the urologist D mannose allows me to live my life by managing my symptoms and and make sure the UTIs dont flare up or get 'out of control' (kidney infection etc).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
El | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/24/2019
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a very frightening reaction to an Antibiotic the doctor prescribed to me before and I stopped taking them after only 4tablets. Obviously the infection was still there so I went back to the doctor. She just wanted to give me another kind of AB but I said Iâ??d like to try cranberry supplements first. She didnâ??t seem to care and just wrote one down she thought was good, but reminded me to come and pick up the new AB prescription the next day after lab results came back. So I went to the pharmacy and the assistants there looked at each other and shook their heads. Cranberry Supplements don,t work for acute uti,s it has been tested. They recommended d-mannose , which was also $20 cheaper than the cranberry supplement. I have been taken 1 tablet 3 times a day for the last 2 weeks and have seen a 95 % improvement. Iâ??m confident that my uti will totally clear by the end of the week since I can only feel it a little now and the urine is clear. Will definitely take it on a daylong basis now for maintenance. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danyel | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/22/2019
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have recurring UTIâ??s my urologist recommended D mannose. I was taking it daily 1/4 tsp as a preventative for the past 3 months. I also drink a lot of water daily. I noticed pain in my right kidney and stopped taking it the pain subsided once I stopped taking it now a week after I stopped I woke this morning with UTI symptoms. I donâ??t want to damage my kidneys further so Iâ??m stuck heading to the doctor for antibiotics now

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sDiaz | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/8/2019
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have struggled with reoccurring UTIâ??s for as long as I can remember. I always follow the drâ??s recommendations â??wipe front to back. Donâ??t drink alcohol or anything acidic .. etc â?? and itâ??s always something Iâ??ve struggled with ! After reading about this product online I decided to give it a shot. Taking Uristat helped but I always ended up with yellow stains on my panties and it always made my stomach hurt. I took D mannose 2x a week for 5 days straight and for three weeks I didnâ??t have any uti symptoms what so ever ! I now take 3 once every other day and I feel better than ever ! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
YoungRose | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/1/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot say more about how amazing D Mannose is. I have frequent UTI 4-5 times a year at least and this product is the only thing that works for me. When I get that burning frequent sensation I take an AZO (just for the first few hours) and then 1500 mg of D Mannose twice a day for 3 days and then 1500 once a day for 7 days works for me. I pair D Mannose with Garlic vitamin, zinc, vitamin C and drink a lot of water and coconut water. Since I discovered D Mannose I have not gone back to a doctor when I have gotten UTI's for about a whole year. This stuff is the only thing that works for me. I highly recommend you try it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
girl | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/1/2019
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused horrendous bloading and gas and massively aggrivated candida problems. A horrible experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More