Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

53 People found this comment helpful

I am 61 years old doing cardio boxing classes with people usually half my age or younger. Beta Alanine has had a huge impact on my ability to keep up. I weigh 185 lean pounds and take 2-4 mg with some juice before workout. I then take another 2mg an hour of so after the class. I don't think I could do what I am doing without this help. I get a prickly feeling on my skin (like with Niacin)if I t...

Most voted negative review

31 People found this comment helpful

I tried it

Shared reviews and ratings

moylandavis | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
11/24/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from Itchy skin, Aquagenic Pruritus and change in temperature itch. Beta Alanine has been a game changer. I take 1,500 mg 30 mins before showering and have little – to no itch. I also take 750 mg when I get up in the morning and anytime during the day when I feel an itch coming on…and it stops the itch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chim Chim | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/6/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

38 years old, I run circles around my coworkers that are younger, older, built, skinny, you name it. I work out on occasion and I believe it does kick in during the workout because I should be tired but I start to gain energy and push more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kauf85 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/13/2019
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed significant difference in strength training. I was able to lift more reps and feel recovered after. Haven’t used it on Cardio day but def recommend it for weight training.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reviewer | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/13/2017
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used a pre-workout supplement of BA. I used it mostly on day when doing heavy weights. I felt a significant difference in delaying muscle fatigue and I was able to lift more reps during heavy weights sessions. I have not run across another supplement as effective as BA. I used a scoop mixed in about 8oz of water. Cons: I felt tingling sensations on my face and fingers. Sometimes my tummy would be mildly upset, occurring about 1 in every 20 times I used the product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kjr | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/9/2015
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/27/2015
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

We found this was a critical component for my 55 year old husband who is active duty military and still maintains a rigorous workout schedule. He was experiencing a lot of fatigue later in the day and beta-alanine completely relieves it. We did experiment with dosage and found that he only needs about 1/3 of the recommended dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/19/2015
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/22/2014
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stimulants work better than beta-alanine in my opinion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom in Miami | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/14/2013
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 61 years old doing cardio boxing classes with people usually half my age or younger. Beta Alanine has had a huge impact on my ability to keep up. I weigh 185 lean pounds and take 2-4 mg with some juice before workout. I then take another 2mg an hour of so after the class. I don't think I could do what I am doing without this help. I get a prickly feeling on my skin (like with Niacin)if I take it on an empty stomach. Better with food to slow absorption.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shadownero | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/28/2012
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take note there is a very tiny scoop, I took a big one = 7 of the small scoops and felt like shit, constantly throwing up and trying to dilute it. That was the first day, later found the scoop and had a decent experience with it. Sometimes feel jittery and flushed/prickly, but other than that great product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brutale | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/20/2010
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Beta alanine has been a surprise. I started it for my workouts and did not expect any big impact on my health. To my surprise, BA has virtually eliminated longstanding inflammation in my left shoulder and increased my morning energy level materially. I suffer from psoriatic arthritis and crohn's, and get first-class care. The impact of BA has been on inflammation and pain as large or larger than injected methotrexate or TNF-blockers, both of which i continue to use. I'm pretty shocked by all this. Re athletic performance, BA seems to marginally improve endurance. But the reduction in day-to-day inflammation is why I'm continuing with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paul | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/16/2010
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only supplement that prevents lactic acid build-up in the muscles during exercise. I am doing the Brawn work-out and have been able to fully recover in 3 days without the muscle soreness and have increased my reps or weights with each work-out. If taken on an empty stomach I have experienced alot of flushing, hot flashes. The synthesize product at Vitamin world seems to work best, yet more expensive than the pills. I only take it before and after each work out and this is sufficient. I don't believe you have to take it every day to see results. 2gms before and after and that's it. Try it. I am amazed. I would consider this supplement just as important as L-Glutamine & BCAA's and more important than creatine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More