Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

104 People found this comment helpful

Hmmm Policosanol has been proven incredibly effective at lowering cholesterol. Study after study (double blind peer reviewed) conducted by both the US government and dozens of research centers going back MORE THAN A DOZEN YEARS have definitively proven its effectiveness as well as its lack of negative side effects. So why is WebMD still claiming there is no evidence proving the effectiveness of...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

Caution: Side effect may be severe muscle problems. This may be a dangerous drug for you. If you have muscle problems stop taking it and use CoQ10 every day, 600mg. for at least six weeks. Then 300mg per day might be enough. Stop Policosanol FOR EVER. Report it to your doctor.

Shared reviews and ratings

2/8/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the info on this site only shows it was clinically tested for leg cramps. Does not show any clinical studies for Cholesterol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luvs2cook | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/11/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My M.D. threatened to put me on a statin drug. I asked her to give me two months to get my cholesterol down naturally. On 20 mg/day, my cholesterol, mostly LDL, dropped 60 points.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/16/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Cholarest SC for almost three years. My cholesterol was borderline high, and it is now down to a healthy level.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
10/5/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before: total cho........246 After 6 mos 10 mg/day total cho.....179

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jazz singer | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/17/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Policosanols 10mg daily for three days now. My skin has become so smooth. Due to increase to 20mg daily in 5 days. Early days for cholesterol results. Happy so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ziggy | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/25/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it lowered my colest. 14 points 20 mg. 1 per day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gbry3 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
12/22/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a family history of high cholesterol as myself, sister, and mother all take atorvastatin 10 mg. My triglyercides have continued to climb up again after going off of Antara 90mg for 1 year but I have continued my statin. I did not want to have to take a second cholesterol med so I tried 20 mg Policosanol in addition to my atorvastatin 10mg per day and was pleasantly surprised to learn my cholesterol total of 223 dropped to 160 as well as my triglycerides from 193 to 83 in 6 months as well as my HDL and LDL numbers. It has never been this good even while I was on atorvastatin and Antara at the same time. I've been working on weight loss about 8 pounds since last visit but I really think the Policosanol had a lot to do with it. I will continue it and hope my next 6 month visit to doctor will give the same results! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
med shy | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/17/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took my first two capsules of this product and experienced a very fast heart rate which led to Atrial Fibrillation. This may well have happened to me apart from the product but I am curious whether anyone else has ever had a similar side effect?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stevey49 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/28/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for at least 10 years. It did lower my LDL by 20 points. Not a lot, but it helps!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorezno | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/4/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WEnt from 220 to 185 with poliocosanol and niacin, very happy, Dr happy also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
| Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/5/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cholesterol was at 334 & after taking the product for 3 months, it came down to 284. 3 months later it went back up because of thyroid problems that affected my metabolism...hopefully back on track after thyroid meds & lowering cholesterol again. Have found out that it contains statins...which I do not believe are healthy, but considering it is in low dosage, I can live with that. Have a question...I am presently experiencing numbness in both feet, the arch area. Is this related to the Red Yeast Rice & policosanol?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elsa | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/1/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cholesterol was at 210; yesterday it came in at 182. Yes! I know I should make dietary changes, but I haven't done that yet; so it could get even better. I do have a little bit of back pain at night, but it doesn't keep me up at night, like statins did.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nosdnomde | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/23/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Adverse reactions from prescribe statins! 8.8 cholesterol, 2 months of 20 mg daily policosanol, 6.6 cholesterol, starting again to lower even further, one tab a day 20mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nosdnomde | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/12/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having suffered a stroke, and my cholesterol 8.8. statins gave vile side effects, I tried a full 60 capsules, over a period of 2 mnths, cholesterol tested,again 2 months later 6.6. marvelous.swanson policosanol 20 mg caps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margie | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/27/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had bad side effects to all statins. My friend said she was taking policosanol and it really worked, so I tried it and it really works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
8/26/2014
Condition: Peripheral arterial disease (PAD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/19/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Twice a day gave me terrible joint pains and did not lower cholesterol. Statins only worked at beginning of treatment. Policosanol didn't either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
keelfoot | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
5/26/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't use statins due to extremely dangerous (for me) side effects. Tried policosanol many times with basically no results (except severe neck muscle cramps, reduced by taking magnesium and potassium - still trying with policosanol, but now that I know about the reason for the onset of neck cramps, will stop it ASAP). Red Yeast Rice (natural statin but without any bad side effects) works very well for me to lower cholesterol and has done so for many years. But be careful not to lower your cholesterol too far, as that will make you very ill especially as you age. If your doctor reads genuine scientific studies he will agree with this (150 to 200 is safe), regardless of what the phoney pharma sales people tell them. Beware!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DDearborn | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/22/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hmmm Policosanol has been proven incredibly effective at lowering cholesterol. Study after study (double blind peer reviewed) conducted by both the US government and dozens of research centers going back MORE THAN A DOZEN YEARS have definitively proven its effectiveness as well as its lack of negative side effects. So why is WebMD still claiming there is no evidence proving the effectiveness of Policosanol? I am sure that this is just an oversight on their part.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
3/17/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a physical my cholesterol was 250 so decided to ust this product to help lower my cholesterol. However it did not seem to help as after a year and another physical my cholesterol still went up to 288.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More