Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

91 People found this comment helpful

Without health coverage for a period of time due to unemployment, I had to search for alternatives and came across ample evidence (online) that many, many folks report respectable decreases in blood pressure by drinking two glasses of Hibiscus Tea per day. Add me to the list of people reporting this success! I steep 5 bags of the tea in two cups of hot water. Remove the tea bags after a half hour ...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

It reversed what it was intended to do. Blood Pressure went up, anxious, nervous, canâ??t sleep. Does it affect anyone else like that?

Shared reviews and ratings

Deb | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
9/2/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Anyone who adds this to coffee and reports their BP is still high is not paying attention--coffee is the worst thing for HBP, as is regular tea or anything that has caffeine. I've been using hibiscus tea for years and love it. it's great iced too, with a bit of local honey dissolved when it's hot. Much better for you than regular tea or coffee, and a great lower calorie alternative to soda.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Owen | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/1/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Would like to have seen a nutrition list including minerals

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No thanks | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/15/2021
Condition: Hypertension
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Put in coffee, at doc's office BP still high; had virtually NO effect. Not wasting money on this any more!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caryo | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/19/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hibiscus tea increases nitric oxide and it works to lower blood pressure. I was running 150-170 systolic and 85-95 diastolic. Now I typically get readings like 110/65.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lavi | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/1/2019
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought a cup of hibiscus kiss herbal infusion at Dunking Donuts and is absolutely delicious even without sugar, as I recommend to try it. Dunking Donuts also is selling a box of this hibiscus kiss herbal infusion containing 15 pyramid sachets for almost 50 cents each, good for DD. I feel that I have less water retention, less inflammation. I would like to know what could be its interaction with my thyroid medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/24/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have started drinking Hibiscus tea but several questions have not been answered by your article. Just an FYI midicinal Hibiscus is not the same variety of ornamental Hibiscus, was the poster of the article aware of this? Also could you put your dosages in better format and are the Hibiscus tea varieties sold over the counter comparable to the ones discussed in the article

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TJ | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/9/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Brings my BP down, but only for a short while. I don't want to be taking pills all through the day and it is not one of those substances that has no toxicity at high doses. Alas.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/13/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It reversed what it was intended to do. Blood Pressure went up, anxious, nervous, canâ??t sleep. Does it affect anyone else like that?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
guest | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/3/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I discovered that hibiscus tea enhanced my depression a lot. It makes a wonderful flavored tea, I was drinking it as an alternative to carbonated beverages.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CVS | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/13/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

systolic up to 167, diastolic up to 120 lisinopril 10 mg 2x daily After 3 days of 3 cups daily of Hibiscus (2 parts) and Hawthorn Berry (1 part) tea boiled 10 minutes and strained I was able to drop to 1 Lisinopril daily. I was diagnosed with Sleep Apnea and within 48 hours of using my c-pap, I no longer needed the tea or RX therapy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
betty | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/29/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it seems to lower my blood pressure somewhat

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/21/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chris | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/21/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been drinking hibiscus tea since 10/15, blood work done this month also shows a significant drop in lipid panel, total cholesterol went from 253 in 11/15 to 197. Blood pressure has decreased such that I have been able to discontinue one of three meds. I make ice tea and drink it throughout the day. My cardiologist is thrilled with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/31/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from very High Blood Pressure, I have been in the hospital because it get so high. No physician could find a bp medication to lower it. even had a small stroke. Hybiscus truly lowered top and bottom numbers. my cholesterol is norman also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sing dance praise | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/16/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use a tea Traditional Medicines organic Hibiscus and it lowers my high blood pressure fast. I also started taking Hawthorn and olive leaf and it takes a few weeks for it to get into your system; they work as well; but; in the mean time I have used the tea. I also make it as an Ice tea and sip on it through the day. The Hibiscus does work; I have not yet tried the supplements.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Berryman | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/10/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

We constantly struggled with high cholesterol until we tried Fish Oil supplement called Cardio Defense by Iceland Health that contains Hibiscus as well as other herbs such as Hawthorn. Our last blood test results finally showed a definite improvement in our cholesterol numbers. My wife still has a struggle with triglycerides but her cholesterol numbers are going down and her ratio is improving dramatically . It seems to enhance the cholesterol lowering effect of statins,(just my own opinion). If it keeps working as it did the last 3 months We hope we can decrease our statin dosages.I think that will be a good thing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jamaica flowers only | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/26/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Jamaica has had a very calming effect on me and has also lowered my blood pressure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ChristineFlower | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/10/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowers blood pressure effectively without prescription. I drink the tea some days but the 1,000mg supplements are easier. I don't like steeping a tea bag 3 times a day. But It's better than using drugs and having to worry about hair loss, kidney failure or diabetes from regular HBP meds. At this point I'm willing to try anything than taking HBP meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ylr | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/7/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3 cups of hibiscus tea/day lowers my high blood pressure to normal levels. No need to buy supplements when home grown will do. The daily brewing is the pain and I now carry a thermos to make it easier

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 |
2/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never noticed a problem with Hibiscus until I had a Hibiscus wine. Felt an odd rush as it went down. Less than two days later had a bronchitis attack that my doctor said was probably a reaction to the hibiscus. Took over two weeks to get over the reactive bronchitis attack. I've had herbal teas many times with no noticeable side effects, but now I'm leery of them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More