Show ratings & reviews for

2.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I use annatto seeds for pancreatic cancer as it has a high concentration of tocotrienol, which MAY be helpful. I use 5G a day blended into a fruit and vegetable juice mixture. As far as I can tell, I have had no ill effects. I do not know whether it is helpful for my cance rbut I remain alive 5 years after diagnosis.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Ingested as an ingredient in food. Have figured out that I have to read food labels to avoid this, as it causes pain and stiffness in multiple joints (knees, hips, wrists fingers, even pain along spine)--severe enough to wake me at night. I'm also sensitive to nightshade vegetables (potatoes, tomatoes, eggplant, peppers) which also cause athritis-like symptoms--but I'm find if I carefully avoid th...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dale | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/25/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stumbled on these reviews when I noticed it was in my salad dressing and I first had an experience with these seeds when I was filming in the Peruvian Amazon rainforest. The local natives used it to color their faces for ceremonies, I also used on my face and had no issues with it. In fact the smooth consistency of the squished seeds was a very smooth cream that I thought would be great for makeup.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AnnattoAdditives | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
2/18/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Tinitus for more than 20 years. It never goes away but it varies greatly in volume, from being barely noticeable to a very uncomfortable 11KHz whistle. I have been aware for some time that I have within the past 24h consumed coloured food. When I check the ingredients label Annatto is always listed. If I avoid such additives, my Tinnitus is not a problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jonny | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/28/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use annatto seeds for pancreatic cancer as it has a high concentration of tocotrienol, which MAY be helpful. I use 5G a day blended into a fruit and vegetable juice mixture. As far as I can tell, I have had no ill effects. I do not know whether it is helpful for my cance rbut I remain alive 5 years after diagnosis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xax2dv | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/18/2017
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beware! | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/6/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just to add my weight to the comment about migraines - If I consume anything containing annatto, within an hour or so, I get a classic migraine, aura then dull headache. My latest trip-up was eating Doritos 'Tangy Cheese' flavour tortilla chips at a party, it didn't last long for me! Beware, it's in red cheese, ice-cream, batters, even soap!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jhale | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/27/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I currently use Annatto seed from The Spice House, but Mountain Rose Herbs is probably your best bet..... Annatto is not a toxic substance. It is a seed that looks like a red chocolate chip. These seeds can easily be very bitter and nauseating. Unless you chew them thoroughly, they will be sickening in digestion and unpalatable. I used Annatto in fighting cancer because of its high Vitamin E delta-tocotrienol and y-tocotrienol, which are exceedingly rare nutrients and best used without tocopherols (the most common Vitamin E forms). Their effect on my cancer is significantly positive and there is a boost of energy and well-being that comes with Annatto consumption. That being said, most people will find it hard to stomach Annatto and will not keep it in the mouth and chew it for long enough. Additionally, raw spices are dirty, but Vitamin E is broken down by heat. This means that you can get some issues from unsanitary spices. You should generally wash these seeds. The powder is probably not as nutritionally powerful, but annatto powder can substitute well since such a strong vitamin E concentration can not be fully lost. There does not seem to be overdosing, as you would experience with most herbal remedies, as long as you chew thoroughly. The bad taste is probably enough of a deterrent to never overdose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pfwells | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
11/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am allergic to most red foods and to Red #40. For some time I had been eating a cereal containing annatto with no ill effects, but eventually suffered the same symptoms as the other red foods caused. A bit of experimentation confirmed that the rash was associated with the annatto.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
3/9/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ingested as an ingredient in food. Have figured out that I have to read food labels to avoid this, as it causes pain and stiffness in multiple joints (knees, hips, wrists fingers, even pain along spine)--severe enough to wake me at night. I'm also sensitive to nightshade vegetables (potatoes, tomatoes, eggplant, peppers) which also cause athritis-like symptoms--but I'm find if I carefully avoid them. The nightshades have a chemical that "throws a wrench into" how your body deals with calcium which causes pain in joints--could be annatto has a chemical which does something similar?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HEB | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was consumed in frozen precooked battered chicken and after extensive research and a elimination diet I realized this was causing the severe pain in wrists much like arthritis. This was the only thing I had eaten different in recent days and it didn't show up immediately which made it harder to pinpoint. My problem was never treated by doctor or medication. It went away after not consuming this product for a period of time. That is the only thing I done different. Some of my research said that it can cause arthritis symptoms. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
5/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My oldest son gets migraines from annatto. It took us years to find out what was causing his migraines and his high school years were ruined because of it. Annatto is being added to more and more foods, especially cheese, vanilla ice cream, and breading for frozen foods. Beware!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gut reaction | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Ubiquinol 100mg (Health Origins-GNC) x 10 days also used Avalowerin x 34 day (no reaction) did lower blood pressure! but after using Ubiquinol daily, 5 days into use started to get shooting vein pain and upper,mid,lower abdominal pain, orange urine and feces...pain trying to turn in bed.. I looked up the ingredients of this Ubiquinol and its gelatin capsule contained ANNATTO..bright orange after I diluted the capsule in warm water maybe a culmination of suppliments, but these symptoms were intense for 5 days I stopped taking everything and drank water, green tea fluids to flush out this Toxic effect this is just a FYI Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Perrywinkle | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Serious 'sensitivity' (not anaphylaxis). Causes emotional distress and irritability when ingested. Has a cumulative effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
11/27/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 11 year old son reacts very badly to foods that contain annatto for coloring. It makes him hyper, irritable, impulsive and prone to angry outbusts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annatto | Age: 35-44 |
4/26/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son reacts badly to this natural colouring. It makes him irritated, stressed, depressed and starts to hallucinate. Resulted in hospital.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More