Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

63 People found this comment helpful

When I lived in Vermont I grew two 75ft. rows of comfrey to give my animals in winter as tea. I had a goat who would get arthritis every winter & was in great pain (and his color would fade & fur came out). I dried the comfrey & gave him a bucket of tea every day. He never had arthritis again & his fur never came out or spots fade again. ALSO I used it as a poultice when my husband stepped on a ...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Taking for post nasal drip

Shared reviews and ratings

Michelle | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/17/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used three times on broken bones and fractures and serious car injuries where many bones in neck and collar bones were broken. Also for knee caps that were broken. It helped heal and knit bones within just a few uses, rub on skin where fracture is, and it heals very well very fast. Bed ridden to up and at em.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/24/2019
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fell and cracked a rib. A friend gave me symphytum officinale and overnight my pain level dropped from 8 to 2. Ordered some to always have on hand, then my nephew, who is studying to be a physicians assistant, asked me about my recovery, so I told him about symphytum. I started to do some further research online, so I could send him links,and found this info about the toxicity. Wow!! Will most likely return the order when it arrives. Even "natural" is toxic. Disappointed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JL | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/16/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had all sorts of different pains and have used comfrey to treat them all. Bruises, joint pain, muscle aches, and foot pains have all healed overnight with a hot water soak with comfrey or a wrap with a comfrey leaf. I use a comfrey plant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Art | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/30/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wanted to try comfrey lotion or salve but can not due to my taking tegretol. Will seek other herbal or essential oil treatments.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
starwarsgal | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/11/2017
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have found the Comfrey salve from Kauai Farmacy to be extremely helpful in reducing my pain from osteoarthritis. This particular salve has only 3 ingredients: comfrey, coconut oil and Kauai beeswax. The comfrey is organically grown and processed in small amounts. I highly recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prob60 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/22/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Boiron symphytum for broken bones post surgery. I think even a one-third does sped up bone healing but I am uneasy about reports of toxicity. Mostly everything I read, specifically about this company and this product, sounds ambiguous and hedged.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/30/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Raised rash on skin following massage with comfrey oil in massage oil

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EBBB | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/31/2016
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since childhood I have a history of Cluster headaches, thunderclap headaches and migraines. Two years ago I learned about Comfrey. I immediately added it to my garden. This year I harvested leaves, and made a salve with coconut oil, lavender, Shea butter, & the tiniest amount of Melissa. At the onset of symptoms if any of the headaches or migraines I apply salve at temples, forehead, jaw, and neck. I am happy to say I have been pain free in my head for 8 months now. In fact I have noticed a decrease in frequency of reoccurring headaches and migraines. In addition I have shared this with other migraine sufferers I know and they have had the same results. Symptoms leave within 20 minutes usually less. Decrease in reoccurring migraines. Quicker recovery time after 3rd use. We have had similar positive results on 2 cervical & lumbar fusions . I cannot make this recipe fast enough some weeks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Youbeauty | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/4/2016
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dad put me onto making my own comfrey ointment for ongoing back and neck problems after he and mum had amazing healing benefits from using it. I had spinal surgery a year ago and still get pain. Made my first batch of ointment using coconut oil. Pain is eased within minutes of using. Simple to make and use, I recommend to anyone and everyone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
judie | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/23/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This treatment was used on our drop calves that had scours. They were down. WE mixed comfry tea, whole raw milk and honey. Bottle fed the calves and within 30 min. the calves were running around the pasture.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
judie | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
11/23/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My family has used comfy for ingrown toenails. Toe was infected and painful. Soaked foot in warm water with a few leaves of comfry. about an hour two nites. Add comfy to Vaseline , apply to toe. Wrap with plastic and for overnight treatment. Never had the ingrown nail again. Also used on infection from boils. Pulls the infection out. Lay fresh leaves over area to be treated and wrap with warm cloth. Grow it every year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stupidity Hurts |
8/13/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Injured my finger while trimming hedges, I got lucky and only cut the tip but it was still a pretty deep wound and I've been using a comfrey mix since then. Six days later and it's half healed, showing no signs of infection and it's looking like the scarring is going to be be fairly minor. It'll be a good story for future kids to pay attention to what they're doing. Overall, it's a great medicine and my only complaint is that the base used to make the balm melts at temperatures over 65°F. I've noticed no side effects except maybe the laco of the characteritic itch that usually accompanies healing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gilly | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/3/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found out about comfrey years ago, and have been using it whenever I have a bad really bad spot or acne problem, in the oil form it has help sooth, quickly ease the scratching i was doing, most of the healing of the spot etc healed quickly and though they were bad spots etc most left no mark or scarring, I also used it on more than one time when I cut my fingers while peeling or paring veg, etc some again were quite, deep, I used comfrey oil, and left THE WOUND UNCOVERED THIS IS IMPORTANT,UNCOVERED, APPLIED AS MANY TIMES AS IFELT THE WOULD NEEDED WITH A FEW DAYS I HAD NEW PINK SKIN, AND NO SCARRING, it is an amazing treatment, on a foot ulcer I had I placed vaseline around the edge of the ulcer and comfrey actually on the ulcer, cleaning thoroughly each time I used comfrey, which must be left UNCOVERED, cleaned carefully and thoroughly using tea tree oil cream reapplied the comfrey oil and kept that up for three four times a day, and new skin formed it is a wonderful product, my kitten got in a scrap - one sided by an older cat of mine, and believe me it was bad, I took her to the vets and they said they need to cut the dead skin that was already stitched and applied comfrey to her wound, that had been stitched, took her back a week later and the vet was amazed how it had healed and another week later where her fur had been shaved to deal with the cut, it look like nothing had happened, it was healed so much, lovely pink skin & the fur grew back and you would never know anything had happened, I cannot advise people to use comfrey (with a combination of Tea Tree Cream) enough both are natures products and amazing really from a cut to cancer, please, please try it BUT UNCOVERED AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE GILLYXRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
janrei | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/2/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had trouble for years with hemoroids, comfrey has given amazing relief, better than any other ointment tried.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
4/21/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What bad side effects?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fanny | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/16/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For over a year I have been using a Comfrey based salve on my right knee almost every night. It greatly relieves the ache. It does not cure the arthritis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scratch | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/31/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this treatment for a broken knee cap...it helped with pain within a day and the swelling went down....it was mostly healed within 4 weeks and the Dr allowed me to put weight on it and bend it a couple days later....I am impressed and will Def use it again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
1/24/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used many different comfrey preparations externally over the years for many injuries and an on-going back condition involving a partial disc, sacralisation and inflammation of the fascia joints. I have found it very effective at decreasing pain, reducing inflammation and maintaining/regaining mobility.This includes after a broken ankle, severe whiplash and the normal knocks and bumps. As I am allergic to non steroidal anti-inflammatories and heat rubs it has been a lifesaver for me and somehow I manage to recover in half the time expected by medical professionals and retain a better range of movement than x-rays would suggest is possible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
12/7/2014
Condition: Bruises
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a huge bruise on my thigh from a fall...I made a comfrey paste and applied it to my bruise for about 8 hours. The top part of my thigh was hard to wrap..when I took the comfrey off, the swelling had gone down significantly and I could tell the bruise was much darker where the comfrey had not been placed. I will be keeping a bag of this on hand at àll times in my house :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/25/2014
Condition: Bruises
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a shingle on my left palm and the comfry reduces pain and itch, and seems to be reducing the healing time. Also,have burrsitis in my left elbow and it lessens the aches and pains

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More