Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

142 People found this comment helpful

I contracted MRSA after being bit by fleas from the neighbors pets. I went to the doctor they prescribed antibiotics, my foot went numb and turned purple, so I went to the emergency room 2 days later. They gave me more antibiotic, it wasn't getting worse but it wasn't getting better. I went to the hospital again the doctors were concerned and I was supposed to go back in a few days if there wasn't...

Most voted negative review

59 People found this comment helpful

I wish I had never taken raw garlic. I only ate raw garlic on one single occasion, but regret ever taking it. I took it because I had had a tiny bit of diarrhoea the week before and then I thought I was constipated, and read online that raw garlic is good for digestion. I cut up a clove of garlic into tiny pieces and ate them with buttered toast. I experienced severe burning in my throat and stoma...

Shared reviews and ratings

Garlic | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
8/5/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I give a one big clove garlic raw for my Mom who’s a 79yrs For about a year. Her triglycerides was 330 and cholesterol 290, after year trial she drop her triglycerides 185 and cholesterol 180. And I tell you this she didn’t even fully consistently taking garlic everyday. And the result was extraordinary amazing.now I’m also trying a organic Flaxseed to boost her HDL so that way it will help her to lower the CDL and increase HDL. We’ve tried before when she had Heart pain it bring her relief for the pain, and boost her HDL. The only issue I had was to give my Mom everyday without convincing her it’s good for her health. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MjT | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/19/2021
Condition: Oral mucositis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, I had tooth pain really bad and had a root canal and then started getting pain in my other side after that! It sucked so bad. I cried so hard some nights it hurt so bad. My friend suggested I take garlic pills because they act as a antibiotic. So I bought some and started taking 2 every 4 hours and the pain was gone! If you keep taking them every couple hours after the pain for a few days it stops hurting completely.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Garlic Caps | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/15/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking 1000mg 3 time a day. Been about 4 weeks not and I had a white coating on my tongue. This white coating has been there for many years, Now my tounge is Pink as everand I'm very happy with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shannon | Age: 35-44 |
5/16/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I over did it eating too many pieces of garlic bread and adding garlic powder. I didn't know birth control pills would interact with this and i took too early. i take birth control pills for hormonal reasons and not sexually active. this morning woke up with upset stomach and now after reading article this morning i will not use a lot and do it way before any types of medications. I thought it would help because of my arthritis, CTS, Ulnar Nerve Syndrome and plus having iron defecincy anemia because of my red platelets being high. no diabetes either. glucose high. Lesson learned the hard way. Reducing intake from now on but waiting until stomach feels better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JenBridge | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/14/2021
Condition: Leukemia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm sorta in between like/not like. I have a bone marrow issue which is like leukemia. I read about all the advantages of eating raw garlic. So I thought, why not? I have each day for the past 7 days had a spoonful of raw minced garlic. And I have seen 2 of my cancer specialist and drawn blood. My platelets one day were at 124, the next few days it was 114 and my last one done 2 days ago was 105. I finally read where garlic can cause bleeding. I'm wondering if that is what is causing my platelets to drop. So I'm not so on the helpfulness it is.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vitamin | Age: 7-12 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/29/2020
Condition: Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Garlic is good for health

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/11/2020
Condition: Hyperlipidemia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I was diagnosed with diabetes 2, hypertension, and elevated ldl my dr recommended it for me. My hypertension has remained steady for 8 yrs

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
11/14/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
11/8/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
11/4/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
11/4/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HealthNut | Age: 45-54 |
9/23/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doc gave me 3 months to get my cholesterol down or he would put me on medicine. I started taking a clove or two of honey fermented garlic every day. More than that I started to smell like garlic so I had to cut back. I also changed a number of other things so I can’t swear it was just the garlic that did it but 3 months later my cholesterol was down 45 points. No meds! I made the mistake of eating a raw freshly peeled clove once and my body didn’t hesitate to send it back the way it came. Never, ever will eat it raw like that again. Fermented is still raw but makes it sweeter, tasty, and takes the sharp edge off. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kels | Age: 25-34 |
1/24/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have now successfully used garlic twice to cure a yeast infection. Placed an uncut organic garlic clove in cheese cloth tied off with floss and put in vagina over night. Worked fof me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/13/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After spending the two previous winters repeatedly coming down with colds, I decided to try raw garlic. I chop up one clove and press the pieces into a spoonful of honey which I chew and swallow once a day, usually the evening. This is the second winter I've done this and I haven't had colds like I used to. The garlic can burn so I take it on a full stomach. I also take raw ginger, usually a few times a day. So it may be the combination of the two that is working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
12/15/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ameen | Age: 35-44 |
9/9/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

garlic is substitute for statin drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/2/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took an antibiotic for enlarged prostrate for over a month. Symptoms improved, but not eliminated. After finishing the Rx, symptoms began to increase. I started using 4000mg of garlic with a B complex vitamin (B3 has been discovered to improve the effectiveness of antibiotics). This helped me maintain minimal symptoms for several months. I stopped taking garlic and symptoms increased. I just restarted taking garlic 2 days ago and symptoms are much improved. It doesn't appear to be a cure, but definitely has been useful to manage symptoms. Product is spring valley brand garlic get tabs from Walmart vitamin isleRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noname | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/27/2016
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trish | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/3/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What most need to understand is that insulin obviously plays a huge role in diabetes (hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia). My insulin, for some reason is unstable. I was having "insulin shock" and it was getting pretty bad. Originally, I went out and got some garlic to regulate my circulation and trying to ward off colds. It didn't take long that I discovered that I was waking up without any insulin disturbances. I'm not a rocket scientist, but garlic did something to restore my insulin balance. Can't knock it. I also am finding that it is helping me to breathe easier (as I have asthma also). Coincidence? Don't think so. Just my 2 cents. I take the garlic food, not the pill supplements. Maybe the ingredient allicin in the garlic helps this? I was informed by a pharmacist that unscented garlic is not as effective, so that is what brought me directly to the food aisle instead. Glad I did.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trish | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/3/2016
Condition: Diabetic neuropathy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What most need to understand is that insulin obviously plays a huge role in diabetes (hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia). My insulin, for some reason is unstable. I was having "insulin shock" and it was getting pretty bad. Originally, I went out and got some garlic to regulate my circulation and trying to ward off colds. It didn't take long that I discovered that I was waking up without any insulin disturbances. I'm not a rocket scientist, but garlic did something to restore my insulin balance. Can't knock it. I also am finding that it is helping me to breathe easier (as I have asthma also). Coincidence? Don't think so. Just my 2 cents. I take the garlic food, not the pill supplements. Maybe the ingredient allicin in the garlic helps this? I was informed by a pharmacist that unscented garlic is not as effective, so that is what brought me directly to the food aisle instead. Glad I did.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More