Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

182 People found this comment helpful

The "official" review on this site is ludicrous. As one other consumer mentioned, the reason that there is so little research, etc. is that no one stands to make billions of dollars from patenting it and selling it for 100x the cost to produce it. I can tell you based upon my 5 years of experience with betaine HCL that it is perfectly safe (as long as you do not have ulcers of any kind). Fu...

Most voted negative review

27 People found this comment helpful

I had a very violent reaction with vomiting after taking two capsules until it was out of my stomach. This treatment is not FDA approved.

Shared reviews and ratings

ibhipru | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
12/7/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cured my LPR symptom of hoarseness after eating. Lowers the stomach pH allowing the Lower Esophageal Sphincter (LES) to close properly. Facilitates faster digestion and destructuion of bacteria. Pepsin facilitates B12 transport and absorption. GI and ENT docs know this product works but supporting its use is contrary to their bottom line objectives. Sad but true

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JMP | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 10 years or more |
9/24/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found and started using Betaine HCL in 2009 after researching internet after over 50 years of digestive problems. For me it does miracles. It's outrageous that physicians prescribe all kinds of poisons which make matters worse but most of them don't even know about betaine HCL or pretend to not know and even tend to warn you against using it. Stupid! Maybe because pharmaceutical companies like Pfizer, Novartis or Merck cannot make any money of that supplement and wouldn't pay physicians for prescribing it. Shame and scandal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MuseMamaATX | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/17/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I decide to try this because my hair was thinning. Not a lot but I did not like the trend, and I read that this can be because we are not digesting the protein and nutrients from our foods. In addition a gastroenterologist thought maybe I was not digesting fats. And I am getting that tested but in the meantime, I decided to cut out dairy, any seed oils, and most grains. What I noticed is when I have the betaine HCI which I took steadily for a year my blood work was clear, all signs of inflammation were also gone from my bloodwork (that was the other issue), and my hair got thicker. In the past couple of months with CoronaVirus quarantine I let my supply run out, and my hair thinned slightly again, and my digestion was less good. So in general I think this is a miracle cure for modern society. I eat a very good diet. But I don’t have an in-house vegan chef or anything, that would be nice! So this is a great plan b. I do eat my lunch on a bed of kale or dark leafy greens most days. In the evening my husband is a protein at dinner guy so there is steak, chicken or fish to digest. I have worked with elderly people especially women and I think this is #1 way to keep your nutrients up to prevent hair thinning. And the hair is probably just a small sign of other vitality and wellness. I do not know why WEBMD and other miss the boat on this so badly. I did for a little while take a product to decrease stomach acid and that may be why this all went sideways for me. It was a prescription med. I stopped after a month but between that and an intensive course of antibiotics about a year ago I think modern medicine does a lot of damage to the stomach and digestive flora. I did probiotics and prebiotics and try to include this in my diet as well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MD | Age: 55-64 |
1/6/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

saw a patient with symptoms of esophageal chemical burn who was taking a hydrochloic acid tablet for heartburn. I'm pretty sure the company making this spends $$$ on google search priority to make sure people harmed by taking acid don't ever get heard.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grace | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/4/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this because of stomach gas and reflux. When I take it with meals that contain protein, as directed, I do not have any trouble with my stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fred | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/3/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has been effective in relieving severe heartburn.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kram | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe stomach pain out of the blue, and could barely eat without feeling full. PPI's, enzymes, muscle relaxers did nothing. Thanks to western medicine for being clueless and owned by big pharma. My own research led me to try Betaine Hydrochloride and it fixed my problem immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
george | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
9/28/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for five years based on the recommendation of my Medical Dr. and a nutrition a specialist. I had two years of constant diarrhea and gas, and saw multiple doctors who put me on Prilosec, and through thousands of dollars of tests. Eventually a specialist found I had ameobic infections and was getting them from not enough stomach acid or enzymes to kill the bugs. We tried prescription enzyme replacement therapy to the tune of $1500.00 a month. It helped but in going back to the doctors, both recommended HCL as a possibly more effective remedy. I take the same number of HCL pills as I did enzymes, they are more effective, at about 2% of the cost. As a side effect, my iron is better, skin and hair are better, and I get fewer cold sores. Actually being able to digest the minerals in your food is wonderful for your health. This used to be recommended for geriatric digestive issues regularly, because just like tears, saliva and etc., the more you age the less efficient your body is at creating digestive juices. I highly recommend it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
8/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This WebMD article is blatantly inaccurate. The statement, "[Betaine HCl] only delivers hydrochloric acid but does not itself alter stomach acidity" has been disproved by a 2013 study done by researchers at UCSF, Stanford, and Genentech. Read it for yourself here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3946491/pdf/nihms520456.pdf

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The "official" review on this site is ludicrous. As one other consumer mentioned, the reason that there is so little research, etc. is that no one stands to make billions of dollars from patenting it and selling it for 100x the cost to produce it. I can tell you based upon my 5 years of experience with betaine HCL that it is perfectly safe (as long as you do not have ulcers of any kind). Furthermore, if you follow the recommendations of any number of wholistic medical practitioners, you increase the dosage gradually until you notice a side effect, then you reduce the dosage. There should NOT be noticeable side effects, only positive improvements in digestive function. If you doubt me, do your homework on the digestive system. We know far more now than we did 10 years ago. Stop listening to doctors who don't read current research; do your own investigation and take back your health!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ncw | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had acid reflux that seriously affected my asthma and esophagus, and was prescribed the purple ppi for 10 years, however the condition grew worse. Finally I got and uncontrolled cough and my asthma could not be controlled either. While under the care of an internationally known hospital for my symptoms, I got the advice from someone else to try Betaine HCL with Pepsin. The 6 month long coughing episode ended in 2 days. That was 5 years ago, and now I'm down to one 650mg dose per day, my general health has steadily improved. I've been able to get off Prosac, Lunesta, and steroid inhalers. So why isn't Betaine HCL intensively tested? A 250 capsule bottle of 650mg pills costs 18.00. Do the math.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FROMME | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/10/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from stomach problems since I was a small child. Stomach pain, could not have any milk products. I was put on several antacids and no help. My mother suggested taking this because she read the problem might be not enough acid. Wow! I have been taking it for two months. I can have milk products for the first time with no problems, have not had stomach pain, am not feeling hungry all the time and have more energy. I normally don't like taking medication of any type not even for a headache but I am so happy I did. I think about all the doctors that I have seen for all my stomach problems and this was the solution. I wish I found this sooner. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LGC | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for burning tongue syndrome. Not only did it take that away, it cured my geographic tongue and it made all my sensitive gums completely calm down. My whole mouth is completely different. And the only thing I changed was to add this to my daily routine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
heli*kitty | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
12/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had acid reflux since I was a kid and always had to take the chalky meds. Later I tried all kind of OTC meds as well as the purple pills for a number of years. It help a bit but not a lot. about 7 years ago, I was told my condition could be caused by not enough acid and recommended to try Betaine hcl. I tried it and it worked really well. Initially I took it immediately after each meal. As I get better, I only took it when I eat something I know it is going be "stuck in my throat". Recent years I have been off and still do well until recently. I tried tums and other stuff but never work as well. I will be getting back on it again. the only thing is that I have to go to vitamins store or getting it on-line. It is not as convenient as the OTC meds available in regular drug stores.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from chronic bad breath as an effect from Gerds. This is the only thing that stops the smell and I have tried EVERYTHING having suffered from this for ten years!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
podmyster | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 43 yr old female and I have had problems with my stomach since I was a child. Pretty much everything hurt my tummy after eating. I felt bloated, sluggish, and had been diagnosed with IBS. I started taking Betaine HCL a week ago. I was scared to take it because my acid reflux was so bad even with Omneprozole it wasn't under control. I had read on this site that a few people had worse heart burn after taking it. I talk to my doctor that told me to take it and he said if your symptoms get worse after taking it then that means you have an ulcer and the ulcer should be taken care of and then go back on the Betaine HCL. Luckily when I started taking it I had nothing but good results. I feel good after eating. No bloating, feeling of over fullness, no heart burn, etc. If you have concerns about taking any supplements try to find a doctor that practices "functional medicine". I have a lot of other health issues that the medical doctors can't seem to get under control and my functional medicine doctor has gotten well on the way to recovery. I feel better than ever before. Thanks for reading my post!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/11/2014
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
guido | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/1/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from terrible heartburn for years which often resulted in throwing up(I'm veggy and generally eat sensibly). Every doctor I spoke to just handed me a prescription for omeprazole. After getting fed up with feeling bloated and sluggish all the time I stumbled upon a book called 'why stomach acid is good for you'. To cut a long story short, I started taking a HCl & pepsin supplement (the book recommends a much higher dose than the bottle label) and I have never felt better. Bloating/sluggishness is gone, I have way more energy and now have a 'calm' stomach. It now makes me very annoyed when I see or hear about ant-acids as I now know they're a sham. If you're going to try these please remember that they are most effective when taken immediately before or during meals (I eat a few mouthfuls and then take them). I would NEVER take them on an empty stomach. (I've recommended these to someone who ignored the usage advice and simply replaced their once-per-day omeprazole with one of these which is pointless!) The potency of the various brands can vary quite a lot. I've seen some that are 100mg per capsule and others 600mg per capsule. Personally, I take 600mg with a light/moderate breakfast and 1200mg with a regular/large meal. That works for me but it's best to experiment a little to find your dose(a quick Google search or the above mentioned book will provide plenty of advice), once you do you'll never look back. I certainly haven't!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dewi | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/13/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spent 4 years feeling like I had the stomach flu constantly...diarrhea, nausea, heartburn, flatulance, etc. Since beginning taking Betain HCI, most of these symptoms are under control as long as I take the supplement faithfully.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spartan | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 10 years or more |
8/27/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Developed an allergy in mid life - from rose dust in CA. DC recommended B H - I only need 1/4 tab in mouth (very bitter). Dries up eyes and nose in minutes - no aftereffects for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More