Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

175 People found this comment helpful

I took St. John's Wort against my medical doctor's advice. He wanted to put me on an antidepressant due to anxiety and depression. Within a short time of taking SJW I started to feel better. My depression and anxiety were non-existent but he didn't feel it was the SJW that helped. I stopped taking it after several months and slowly but surely started to feel the depression and anxiety again. ...

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

I used tinctures in juice, per label instructions. I tried two 1 oz bottles of this and I didn't see any noticeable difference in my depression. Went on prozac and I did see a difference. I've since gone off prozac and have found that outdoor exercise, lots of fruits and veggies, getting a steady job, and california poppy were all effective too.

Shared reviews and ratings

jm | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/31/2021
Condition: Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took for anxiety instead of harder medication. Felt effects after approx one month. Much improved mood and calmer nerves.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abe | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/29/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

toke it for depression has helped considerably results within a week . has even helped with my ADHD no side affects at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlie | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/24/2021
Condition: Anxiety
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
4/27/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works really well for me to fight depression daily and have positive attitude

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AthenaPal | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/7/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried STJ pills,no help. Vibrant, active woman w/great life until Haches actually brain tumors. Glad alive but left w/massive lifelong disabling & PAIN results. Lost my life, my joy, any independence. Much Grief as also lost my entire family & most friends to disease/accidents. Truly all alone, unable even walk to mailbox. Yep, almost suicidally Depressed. Wldnt u be? 12yrs later & 54 diff meds,ALL w/horrid SEs & Serotonin "Storm" (tad before Drs aware)put me ICU, almost died as theykept giving me Zoloft, Trazadone - Phenegran caused the Storm. Never again! Herbs only. RESEARCH! Tons time to complete. By then, knew was Full Spectrum any herb BEST. TOO many "active" isolated parts NOT EVEN CORRECT. Is whole herb (berry, flower, leaf, root) packs Power synergistically.STJ shld be Vivid Ruby Red liquid when Ready with all its benefits intact. USE TINCTURE ONLY & buy direct from maker. One work, test, 3rd party (prefer Univ.) & grow themselves! I chose Herbalist-Alchemist as best of all. RESULTS AMAZING, FAST & CONSISTENT. With Tinture - U control dose, potent so use less & viable 5-8 years! Powders lose effects fast (6 mths) & fragile to heat, light, etc. Able to add in others & easily adjust 4 my particular needs. DON'T GIVE UP. St Johns INCREDIBLE HERB & HELPS MANY OTHER WAYS. Told not take cause pain meds longer to clear & others (nerve meds) clear faster. SILLY. Was PERFECT. Got poison meds out faster, so Off all. Once gone, realize nasty other issues gone too! As 4 pain, able take Much Less! Real Win Win Herb! Saved my life ONCE TRULY UNDERSTOOD ALL BENEFITS, CHOSING #1 Co, Educating Myself & TAKING CONTROL OF MY OWN HEALTH! If I Can Do It, So CAN YOU. Although my severe health issues have not & will not "go away", I feel FREE of the Black Cloud smothering my thoughts, actions, mind & HEART. FOUND JOY AGAIN. WAS THERE, JUST COVERED WITH COBWEBS. Find yours again!!! Hard chose consumer/caregiver as I am my Only Caregiver. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJay | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/5/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking, on and off, a so-called standardised St. John's Wort extract (300mg, min. 0.3% hypericin x3 a day). I can't say my depression lifts completely, but it becomes more manageable. When I'm on this SJW supplement, my fatigue lifts, I feel lighter, I sleep better, and I feel better able to cope with my depression and anxiety. I was able to go out without feeling like I was going to have a panic attack. The effects surprised me and were sustained during the time I took the supplement. When I'm off it, the benefits disappear gradually. I feel better within a day or two of taking the supplement and the longest time I took the supplement was 3 months. Then I decided to take a break and I've just started to take it again today.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morgan | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/22/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read about this herb and started taking a St. John's Wort Tincture 3x a day about a year after I gave birth to my son. It immediately lifted my postpartum depression, my mood and my thoughts. I love this herb. I've taken prescription antidepressants before and hated how they made me feel - this herb worked so much better for me. Highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/30/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get very depressed in the Winter time. Obviously suffering some from Sadd... I honestly cannot believe that there is a product that is this effective that doesn't require a prescription. Prescribed Anti-depressants that I have taken in the past have been absolute poison. I've upped my daily intake to 600 mg in the morning and 600 mg in the evening and it seems to work great with no side effects for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/3/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Beware side effects. I was on it for about a year and wasn't sure if it was effective. I developed an irregular heartbeat and heart palpitations. Doc said I needed to get off St. John's Wort. I did. My heart rate returned to normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/12/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My depression symptoms became better after taking webber naturals St. John's Wort (SJW), along with Mindfulness Based Cognitive Therapy. I took SJW 300 mg 3x/day for 17 weeks so far, but the bottle states "Consult a physician for use beyond 18 weeks." Has anybody successfully used SJW in the long run, e.g., more than 18 weeks?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/20/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mmmolly | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/15/2018
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried prescription antidepressants, Lexapro and Wellbutrin. The Lexapro seemed to help a little with my anxiety, but did nothing for the depression. The Wellbutrin just felt like speed, which I am pretty sure that it is an amphetamine. It did not seem to help with my depression at all, aside from giving me a little more energy. I have taken St. John's wort many times in my life, and as long as I remembered to take it on a fairly regular basis, it lifted my spirits and improved my outlook on life tremendously. I am so grateful to know about this herb. I often take ginko biloba with it in addition to a healthy dose of fish oil daily. I always say that it makes me feel like myself again! And that feels good! My problem is that once I really start feeling well again, I begin to start forgetting to take my supplements on a regular basis, because I don't "need" them anymore. And then eventually, I stop taking them altogether and somewhere down the line, I end up depressed and where I started again. I'm sure if I had stayed on a regimen of taking my supplements, everything would have been fine. The only side effect I had was sensitivity to the sun. I got really sunburned when I went on vacation to Hawaii. So definitely be careful in the sun. I am a freckled Irish girl, so I'm already susceptible ( and stupid, obviously). So wear your sunscreen!! But I was very happy to not feel any psychological side effects, like speediness or fatigue or anxiety. None at all. I love St. John's wort. It has really, REALLY helped me in times of need.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tigra | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/7/2018
Condition: Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought this for my husband because he is moody. He refuses to take it. Turned out that this supplement reduce head ache and help me to sleep better. It cause dry mouth but I drink a lot of water.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobmctx | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
12/19/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with ADHD and depression. I tried prozac and welbutrin but neither helped much with my depression. I tried SJW and after 6 weeks i started to feel the depression lifting. I have been on it now for about 14 years and i feel great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
10/15/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it for over a year. It seemed to help. I had a terrible reaction to it. Same bottle I had been using, Same dose, Rescue was sent. I was totally blind and very drugged up. These symptoms persisted for 24 hrs. Went to doctor later to get prescription antidepressants. I am giving my age at that time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chattykatt | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/28/2017
Condition: Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered with depression and anxiety for about 30 years. I have been on anti depressant for severe depression with 2 attempts to end my life. Presently I am taking Effexor 225mg. daily but anxiety was becoming a problem. I've been on SJW about a month and I am coping better and do not want Pharm medication. I still have sleeping issues but am resting better. No SE noted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gregory | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
11/12/2016
Condition: Seasonal affective disorder (SAD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking SJW for about 30 years, in the 300 capsule form and in the early days as a tea which I brewed weekly and stored in a refrigerated bottle. It works for me. I use it for SAD. I take one to three capsules a day beginning about the first of October and tapper off about February 14. Yes, I do get some diarrhea the first few days, and yes I sunburn easily in he winter months in southern California. I had tried bright light therapy in the past; it did not work. SJW just keeps me a happier, healthier person during the winter months. I keep the bottle on top of the coffee pot so I will not miss the morning dose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/30/2016
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/9/2016
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

due to side effects I could not continue taking this medicine, as soon as I take it I feel itchy to the point that I could not stop scratching my skin. from my head to my legs, I feel itchy. So unfortunately I stopped taking this medicine :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momn8r | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/2/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started giving this to my 13 year old daughter when it became evident three months into her first monthly cycle that her PMS was way beyond normal PMS. About a week into taking ST Johns Wort she started to even out on her mood swings. By the end of two weeks, she was back to her old self again. She is taking 500 mg/day and no more mood swings! She takes no other meds so there are no contraindications to be concerned with. I will have her take a two week break every three months to give her body a rest. I just had her take her first break and by the end of two weeks, we were all anxious for her to be on it again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More