Show ratings & reviews for

1.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Present in many many gluten-free bread and baked goods recipes. Replaces gluten's assistance with making breads cohesive.

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

What the heck it is in pudding, jello ,by kraft it also has bha cancer causing everyone needs to read ingredients a lot of bad in most foods.read the box so much bad had contacted them.no contact back.should not be ingredient for food.do not use for treatment like natural fibers.

Shared reviews and ratings

CLAIRE | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

xanthan is a polysaccarine/polysorbate..IN ALL3 COVID VACCINES......BEWARE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/20/2019
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do not recommend to use this additive. I used xanthan gum along with melatonin to treat GERD symptoms and yes.. the esophagus was smooth and less problematic with xantham gum put me on bed like a whole day with fever, vomits, stomach ache, diahrrea. I was worse than a norovirus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christy | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/3/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG I ate some English muffins and thought they were bad. I’m SO sick!!! All the symptoms listed for XANTHAN gum ! I’m in so much pain, early vomiting and stuck in restroom for hours at work. They should be required to WARNING LABEL this stuff!! This is like medicine they’re adding it’s so potent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sickandtired | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
2/9/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with IBS after suffering with terrible stomach cramps and D for years. I found a blog about bad food fillers and read IBS is overdiagnosed when fillers are the problem. I narrowed my problem down to xanthan gum. The moment I have it, I'm sick all the next day running to the bathroom. Same with my sister and mother, all of whom were diagnosed with IBS too. This stuff is poison! It irritates my rheumatoid arthritis, which isn't a surprise considering this is a bacteria and RA is an autoimmune disease. IBS is exploding for a reason, and it's bad fillers!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
4/25/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having terrible stomach cramps and bad diarrhea. I was eating diet dinners. Trying to figure out what was causing so much discomfort and read frozen dinner ingredients. Xanthan gum in just about in every label I read in my house. Sure can make my life miserable when I eat something it contains.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/22/2015
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GF girl | Age: 55-64 |
7/14/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This article and a review by another explains my difficulties yesterday. I get migraines from gluten, so yesterday I ate 2 small gluten-free cupcakes, which had xanthan gum. I did get a migraine, plus some minor intestinal discomfort ending with a laxative effect... I felt "inflamed", achy. This explains migraines with other GF foods. Always was thinking it was something else. I realize the desire for a substitute baked item because I miss those items with wheat! Now days though, too many ingredients in our foods that were not used before...carrageenan, caramel coloring, fake vanilla (vanillin). What are the "natural" flavorings, the "spices" being added? It's out of control.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
8/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What the heck it is in pudding, jello ,by kraft it also has bha cancer causing everyone needs to read ingredients a lot of bad in most foods.read the box so much bad had contacted them.no contact back.should not be ingredient for food.do not use for treatment like natural fibers.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 |
6/14/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experience severe anaphylactic reactions to xanthan gum -- no GI symptoms at all and no allergies to substances used to "grow" xanthan gum. Avoiding all exposures (dietary and personal care) with direction from my board-certified allergist. Carry epi-pens at all times.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drsjwriter | Age: 65-74 |
2/26/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Many of the non-gluten recipes call for Xanthan gum. I didn't have any, so I have been using coconut flour, instead-- about 1.5 more than XG called for. After reading the probs. associated with this, I'm going to stick to the coconut flour. Thanks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mitch | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/2/2014
Condition: Sjogren syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gum additives should be banned. I am allergic to all gums and they give me an upset stomach. They are in way too many foods and are not at all needed. I am sick almost every day due to the proliferation of them in all sorts of food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/10/2013
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I avoid Xanthum Gum at all costs. As the other reviewer mentioned, I also removed gluten, wheat, soy and corn to some degree, from my diet. Xanthum Gum is in many processed food products, salad dressings and sauces, and it causes me the same serious joint swelling (knees in particular) as those ingredients I'd removed from my diet. I find that Corn Starch causes me the same problems - another common filler. One must read label ingredients carefully as these things are present in LOTS of processed and packaged foods. Manufacturers consider them filler and harmless. Not so.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AZERETA | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/4/2013
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Getting Better | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/23/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I finally pinpointed this xanthan gum as an ingredient causing me a return of fibromyalgia like symptoms: pain, sleep trouble, stiffness, etc. I had gone through a food elimination program and much of my autoimmune related illnesses had disappeared after I learned to avoid wheat, corn, and soy. Fine tuning symptom flares pointed to xanthan gum, and made perfect sense upon learning it is often derived from wheat, corn, or soy. Needless to say, I have to do my own cooking/baking and now will have to find a flour mix w/out xanthan. Or make one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dud | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
6/27/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

make me run a fever sore joints flu like symptoms or like I have ate food that has gone bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 |
5/14/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Present in many many gluten-free bread and baked goods recipes. Replaces gluten's assistance with making breads cohesive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More