Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

170 People found this comment helpful

I have been struggling with chonic migraines for 20 years. Since hitting menopause migraines & headaches were an almost daily occurence along with constant fatigue, brain fog and almost zero motivation. Many supplements have helped but only in a limited way for a short time. I've been taking 50mg of Iodoral daily with L-selenomethionine, zinc, Vitamin E (natural Natural Mixed Tocopherols), Vi...

Most voted negative review

53 People found this comment helpful

Ive been taking Iodin drops for two days. I did'nt know that it inteacted with my blood pressure medication. I experienced very strong headaches, so I researched the vitamin supplement. If you are on blood pressure medication, please do not take this supplement because Iodine contains potassium. Blood pressure medications including directics, removes the potassium from the body. So taking Iodine m...

Shared reviews and ratings

Healthybee | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/11/2019
Condition: Iodine deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt the beginnings of a goiter, lump in throat and had symptoms of a goiter. Began supplementing with potassium iodide drops (Life Flo) 800 mcg after which I felt immensely better, no longer fatigued, no bloating, not cold,lymph nodes not enlarged, HAVE ENERGY, depression lifted and no more bloating. After one month had blood test to check iodine levels, which are still low, so have recently begun supplementing with 6 mg Iodoral. Am also, returning to eating fish, shrimp, eggs and cheese.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
8/29/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

you are incorrect in stating that iodine REDUCES thyroid function and thyroid hormone production. Except in very rare instances, it INCREASES thyroid function and thyroid hormone production.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/13/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im taking iodine/kelp drops. I only take one drop a day in water, (not a dropper full, one drop!) I have taken for 3 days, have so much more energy. Not sure if it is the iodine, will keep you posted!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/5/2017
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
10/20/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr. let me discontinue thyroid medication providing I take Iodoral. It has been 8 years and I take it daily. The amazing benefit also has been fibrocystic disease. The cysts in my breast have completely disappeared. I drink caffeine now and have absolutely no problem with cysts. Hallelujah!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Davy | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/12/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Basil cells on my nose and a bigger on my head (to be surgically removed) have been treated by me with iodine topically applied alternating next night with sodium-bicarbonate (baking soda)compost over night. scab on head completely cleared away. I will see my surgeon Wed about follow up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1/8/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do NOT take iodine if you are hypothyroid and have Hashimoto's thyroiditis or preclinical hashimoto's. Excess iodine will accelerate disease progression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ninjacowgirl | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/9/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iodine kills fungus. Have used topically to kill ringworm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KARENMGB | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/28/2014
Condition: Diabetic foot ulcers
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/28/2014
Condition: Iodine deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm diabetic w/my blood tests consistantly in the high 200's and after taking iodine for the 2 weeks my blood tests have dropped by over a 100 points to 140, 167, and even after eating a piece of cake it was still on 179. I also have cellulitous and my legs broke out in raw water filled sores all over my calves. I soaked wide bandaids in iodine and covered all the sores on both legs - results they have completely disappeared and I have healthy soft supple skin again - NO SORES that I had for the last year. I am now trying to put iodine in my hair as what used to be hair that hung to my waist I now have hair that has two bald patches at my temples and lost so much of my hair that it is now shoulder length. I am also taking a full dropper full of iodine and potassium iodide I'm starting to feel like I have far more energy. I have started cleaning my own home again that I had gotten to the point I had to have hired help to do the work. I literally have felt so exhausted I couldn't do anything but sit and stare. I wish so much I could have you see a picture of my obese and completely drained of energy depleated self even a month ago. It's appauling. I am taking Life-FloRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
9/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i need iodine contrast for ct scan and have a cyp2d6 poor metabolizer is it safe to have a contrast for the neck ct scan

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pilot Rob | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/4/2014
Condition: Radiation exposure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After Chernobyl Nuclear Explosion I was living and studying in Lithuania. I had measurments of Radiation Exposure to me personaly. And it was few hundreds times more than alowed for humans. Than I started time to time use Iodine for few Years and I got good health for next 20 Years. Some of my coleagues got Cancer (Skin, Blood, Brain and Etc).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ARTEMESIA | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/18/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been struggling with chonic migraines for 20 years. Since hitting menopause migraines & headaches were an almost daily occurence along with constant fatigue, brain fog and almost zero motivation. Many supplements have helped but only in a limited way for a short time. I've been taking 50mg of Iodoral daily with L-selenomethionine, zinc, Vitamin E (natural Natural Mixed Tocopherols), Vitamin C and occassional vitamin D for nearly 2 months and I have energy, brain fog has gone and best of all no migraines & no headaches since the day I started the Iodoral - I can't believe the feeling of wellbeing it's given me. My constipation has gone as well and I am sleeping really well, I've even stopped my estrogen patch without any ill effects. Life is good again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
billyc69 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/5/2013
Condition: Iodine deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began following Dr Brownsteins protocol for my BPD to treat the underlying problem and get off of the terazosin and the ED it brings. I am ordering my own lab test to detoxify the halide bromine which competes with iodine uptake and blocks iodine from the thyroid. According to his years of clinical experience there is no UL or upper limit dosage as patients take 200 to 300 mg with no side effects, I take 100 mg daily because of my recent but now gone tumor and 50 mg is a normal dose if one is not sick. Some patients that take up to 2 years to detoxify the thyroid breast and prostate glands. Take it early in the day with meals because it gives you lots of energy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judee | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
9/28/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on thyroid hormone therapy for a long time but still I dealt with constant fatigue. My doctor put me on a supplement that uses molecular iodine and 2 forms of molecular iodide and I felt the difference from day one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bma | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/17/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

rashes came out on my body after using it for 2 months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
daisey-52 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/29/2010
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used a supplement because I cannot get DR. to treat {tests do not say what they want}even tho I have all the symtoms of disease. I found this and took 1 cap. to start. Then 2 cap. a day.I have had more energy and can now do more than I did. I also have chronic fatique and fibrobymyalgia. I would recommend this to others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marty | Age: 65-74 |
11/19/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no enery

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Autumngurl | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/4/2009
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In reading your article I found that a doctor at the Women's Health Institute of Texas is suggesting you take 2 to 4 tabs. of 12.5mg Iodine/5mb Iodide per day. I was having swelling, sob, palpatations, and weight gain. After reading your article and seeing that you suggest no more than 1100 mcg per day I found I was taking about 22 times more than recommended!!! That's huge. 12.5mg = 12,500mcg....Then for the last 3 days, I increased it by one tablet as suggested by Dr. Andrew Jones, and the symptoms worsened....no wonder...now you're looking at 45 times, per day too much...Thank God for Webmd..I've been a trusted user of this site for many, many years!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
liqui-kelp | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/11/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been taking Iodin drops for two days. I did'nt know that it inteacted with my blood pressure medication. I experienced very strong headaches, so I researched the vitamin supplement. If you are on blood pressure medication, please do not take this supplement because Iodine contains potassium. Blood pressure medications including directics, removes the potassium from the body. So taking Iodine makes it very diffulcult for the potassium to leave the body and causes problems such as headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More