Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

120 People found this comment helpful

Pygeum was very effective for me, but almost killed me. Read on: the symptom for which I took pygeum, BPH and decreased urinary flow, was effectively treated within a week of taking the herb. I also noticed other pleasant side effects, such as increased libido, increased semen volume, and rapid recovery after sex. Unfortunately, pygeum also was the cause of occasional rapid heart rate that took me...

Most voted negative review

26 People found this comment helpful

EFECTO PELIGROSO SOBRE EL CORAZÓN. La principal manifestación de BPH en mi caso, es la micción nocturna, hasta 4 veces sin drogas. Esto mejoró con Serenoa Repens 329 mg solamente, bajando a una o dos. Cambié por Serenoa Repens 160 mg + Pygeum Africanum 50 mg, un comprimido por día, y en 2 días desapareció la micción nocturna totalmente, y también desminuyó la diurna, me pareció demasiado. Pero al...

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 75 or over |
8/5/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken 1000mg morning and evening and found it effective. Taking more was counterproductive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/6/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dartman | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/7/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a terrific item for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/22/2018
Condition: Benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH)
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Saw Palmetto but did not find it very helpful for BPH symptoms. I found Pygeum much better. On long trips I could actually hold my urge to urinate and was no longer getting up in the middle of the night. A side benefit is seminal volume increased slightly and pre-ejaculate increased quit a bit. I have read some negative affects in other reviews about Pygeum causing heart palpitations and I must admit, when I started taking it, it did feel like I just drank a 6-shot latte'. But was that for real or just me convincing myself I felt it. Not sure. I'm still taking Pygeum and it's been 6 months now and my BPH symptoms have improved substantially.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Herbman | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/2/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking 320mg of Saw Palmetto and 200mg of Pygeum for 6 months, saw minimal results. I have stopped taking Saw Palmetto and increased Pygeum to 500mg along with 50mg of Zinc and saw very positive results within 5 days. I now sleep through the night and can go 6-8 hours during the day without having to urinate. The "I have to pee NOW" urge has subsided drastically. I have also noticed an increase in my libido and seminal fluid, especially my pre-ejaculate fluid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Herbman | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/2/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 320mg of Saw Palmetto and 200mg of Pygeum daily for 6 months, but taking 500mg of Pygeum alone has given me much better results. I no longer take Saw Palmetto. I can now sleep through the night and go 5 - 6 hours during the day without having to urinate and that "I have to pee NOW" urge is nearly gone. Maybe the Saw Palmetto was counteracting the Peugum, I don't know, but as soon as I stopped taking Saw Palmetto I saw immediate results (within 5 days). A side benefit has been in my sex life. I get aroused much easier now and it doesn't take much for an erection to begin. I have also noticed an increase in seminal volume, especially pre-ejaculate. I've added 50mg of Zinc along with my 500mg of Pygeum and take this combination daily. It's only been 2 weeks but the results have been great.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
R | Age: 55-64 |
6/11/2018
Condition: Benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Age 60, excellent fitness, enlarged prostrate, frequent night urination, started to take 100mg pygeun, issues disappeared within a week. I recommended this to 2 friends as this is a common issue for aging males, worked for them too. I now take it every other day or less frequently. No side effects. Ha e been taking this for 1 year.:

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EdB | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/1/2017
Condition: Benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH)
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading numerous online reviews of pygeum I decided to try it. I started taking 100mg at night before going to bed. Almost immediately I noticed waking only once at night to urinate instead of 2 to 3 times. It seems like my kidneys are producing less urine at night, but I have no way to verify that. I started gaining weight about the time I started taking pygeum and have gained about six pounds in two weeks and I'm wondering if the pygeum is causing edema or retention of fluids. I'm stopping pygeum to see if my weight will decline. After a couple of weeks I'll decide whether to resume pygeum or stay off of it. I am also concerned that several pygeum users have reported tachycardia episodes related to pygeum. I have a history of tachycardia and do not want to make it worse.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tommyboy | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/18/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started last week, 2 capsules per day. 3 days later, had massive headache. The next day, I noticed my fingers jerking or dropping. A horrible taste in my mouth. Nothing tastes right. Sweet is salty, salty is nasty. The next day, I could not hold anything in my hands for dropping it. Coffee cups, cigarettes, bowls. I stopped medication. Fingers are slowly coming back. Have not scaled myself with hot coffee today. Still a horrible taste. BP normal, pulse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roncon | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/18/2017
Condition: Benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH)
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a prostate that is 5 cm. That's huge. I have BPH, no cancer. Took pygeum for 4 months, helped a little. This stuff has side affects as well. Eye floaters, wow! cramps in my legs as well. Don't take this stuff until you have had a cat scan done to determine the size of your prostate. If it's slightly enlarged it will probably work ok. If its huge it wont do much. Surgery will be needed. This natural stuff is a hit or miss. Be careful what you put into your body, some of this stuff may be doing more harm than good. While I was taking it the veins in my arms got much bigger. See a urologist first before taking pygeum. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bigal | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/30/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using Piping Rock version (Africanum Bark) for the past month, I continue to get up through out the night to urinate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
woodguy | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/16/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking stinging nettle extract w/ Pyeum . Just started will be back later to see how these work. Tamsulosin worked well but can't get it from the VA any longer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/3/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I reacted badly to Flomax and similar drugs, so have been using Pygeum for several months now. No side effects at all, and the relief I get from symptoms of BHP is satisfactory enough for me to keep taking it. Not sure why it works, but it does.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Virility | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/16/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

to increase sperm production.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/25/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works for me. Helps to increase urination .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Logan7 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/28/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before and after I had my prostate removed due to prostate cancer, I've used pygeum along with other supplements (saw palmetto, nettle, beta sito sterol, et al) to reduce urinary urge - but I also love the side effect that it greatly increased my precum amount. Precum is all you ejaculate after prostate removal, not any of the rest of your semen components. And shooting something is way better than nothing at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/25/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Urinozinc prostate health original formula with 100 mg pygeum resolved most symptoms of BPH----the "original formula with 23mg of pygeum did not reduce urinary frequency or other symptoms of BPH.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sambo007 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/23/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before and after I had my prostate removed due to prostate cancer, I've used pygeum along with other supplements(saw palmetto, nettle, beta sito sterol, et al) to reduce urinary urge - but I also love the side effect that it greatly increased my precum amount. Precum is ALL you ejaculate after prostate removal, not any of the rest of the components of semen. And shooting something is way better than nothing at all! Saw palmetto also increased my body's production of precum somewhat but nothing like pygeum's effect.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
d3goph | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/20/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using Pygeum for recreational purposes...it is very effective ;) (drastically increases the amount of pre-ejaculatory fluid)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shayen | Age: 55-64 |
2/5/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 500 mg with 500 mg Nettle

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More