Show ratings & reviews for

4.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

89 People found this comment helpful

Just tried Elderberry for the first time yesterday. Came down with severe cold symptoms two days ago, which turned into flu symptoms yesterday morning. Body aches, congestion, fever, chills. Discovered Elderberry in a search online for natural flu remedies, purchased the 550 mg capsules around 11am yesterday morning took first capsule and second around 7pm. All flu symptoms are gone today with ...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

Nauseous had to stop taking it but was working slowly on the effects of my cold.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jeri Burch | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/9/2021
Condition: Age-related fatigue
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a juvenile diabetic since age 24 and am now 68yr old and I found this after reading how Dr. Oz promoted the positive effects of elderberry. I am not always a fan of his but I looked it up online and found some at my local Harris Teeter. I began experimenting and I now take two capsules with each meal and my HBG A1C last week was 6.3. I had been under a lot of stress with a grown son who is an alcholic and my last lab test was 7.7. I swear by this and will take it as long as I live. I do not look or feel my age at all. I take the brand called "Elderberry Sambucus Nigra."Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
1/5/2018
Condition: Respiratory tract infections
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If taken within 24 hours of first symptoms, elderberry juice can shorten the duration of a cold to three days and minimize the symptoms to a slight annoyance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/1/2017
Condition: Respiratory tract infections
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/10/2017
Condition: Upper respiratory tract infection (URTI)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HerbalMedsWork | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/1/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctors didn't know what it was. I had a "stomach virus" feeling in my body for over a year and Elderberry Defense got rid of it in 4 days. Taking 2caps 2xday. Now I am taking it daily 2caps 2xday for alleviating tightening in right shoulder and neck pain shooting into back of head. Elderberry Defense also helps with small constant muscle spasms all over my body. After I noticed those great improvements I then paired it with IF-C herbal supplement for liver detox and they work well together. IF-C also helps with severe pain all over body. I am on Tizanidine muscle relaxer for Large severe muscle spasms and there aren't any interactions with these three for me. The Tizanidine did nothing for the small constant muscle spasms, the "sick feeling", or muscle pain. I have also taken Elderberry Defense for cold symptoms and it always lessens severity of cold and helps get rid of it also. But please check with your doctor for interactions first b/f taking anything. The brand I use is "Nature's Sunshine".Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
healthnut | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/24/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just tried Elderberry for the first time yesterday. Came down with severe cold symptoms two days ago, which turned into flu symptoms yesterday morning. Body aches, congestion, fever, chills. Discovered Elderberry in a search online for natural flu remedies, purchased the 550 mg capsules around 11am yesterday morning took first capsule and second around 7pm. All flu symptoms are gone today with mild nasal congestion remaining. This type of flu normally turns into respiratory infection for me, so I am very happy! In addition, I drank ginger tea, made chicken with LOTS of garlic and made pineapple ginger juice in the morning. I'm sure a combination of all of these helped. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dsqfmly | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/27/2016
Condition: Upper respiratory tract infection (URTI)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a cough and sinus infection for 5 months. Tried 3 different antibiotics nothing worked. My cough would go away for a week and come back. After 4 days of using black eldberberry my cough was gone. I have been taking it once a day and my sinus infection is finally gone. I have my energy back and cough free for 1 months so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/19/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The elderberry for help with falling and staying asleep was amazing. Can not find it at health food stores in iowa.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/24/2016
Condition: Upper respiratory tract infection (URTI)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I take the first dose within 2 - 3 hours from the time I notice the first symptom of illness and repeat the dose every 6 hours without missing a dose I am symptom free after 24 hours. I have been using Nature's Way Sambucus Immune for over 7 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KRISS | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/15/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always use the "Natures Way Original Sambucus"syrop when I or a family member feel the onset of a cold or flu and so far it always stops it(within 2-3 days) or drastically eases the symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/18/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/1/2016
Condition: Influenza
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/8/2015
Condition: Upper respiratory tract infection (URTI)
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used this product plus oil of oregno , Echinita , and oil of olive leaf for a very nasty antibotic resistant infection . I had been sick for 3 months . This combo got me well !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hiloshell | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/23/2015
Condition: Respiratory tract infections
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was sick with respiratory infections for six months last year. Prednisone was given six times but still got sick. When it started again someone suggested sambucus to me and I have been taking it ever since. No coughing, no difficulty breathing and best of all, non prednisone! I have not had to use any inhalers or Advair or albuterol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nlandry | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/10/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Faye | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/19/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started using this product 2 days ago and cannot give it a fair rating as yet. Although I have slept better at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heather | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/17/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started getting a really bad head cold and sore throat, I took this 4 times daily (10 ml) and I was only sick for a couple days instead of a week which is typically how long I am sick. This stuff really helps! I highly recommend it when you have the first signs of sickness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/27/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helps to ward off onset of cold, flu or sore throat

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/1/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was hit with horibble flu/cold sinus congestion, sore throat, ear ache, chest congestion fever, general aches, took one tabelspoon 4 times daily and after 3 days my symptoms were gone and I feel great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wayne | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
12/30/2014
Condition: Influenza
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having been suggested by a friend, I found theuse of this product to be very effective when taken right when I feel something coming on or after I get sick. It's a really good product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More