Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I have had congestion in my chest and a horrid cough for months. Ivy Extract is the only thing that I have come across that can stop the cough and relieve the symptoms.

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Had an extremely congested cough with heavy mucous that would not dislodge. Tried some of this new stuff at a pharmacist's suggestion. Expensive. Tasted like awful(the wife also tried it and almost vomited) and it gave me an irregular heartbeat during the night. Would not use again. Flushed the rest of the bottle.

Shared reviews and ratings

123 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/22/2021
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using it for my constant post nasal drip (allergies:. It is the only thing that has helped. I use it in cough drops and also a warm beverage mix. Cant' live without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sally | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/29/2021
Condition: Chronic bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product works great for me. The pills and the syrup are outstanding. I use the brand Natures Way Ivy Extract for pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margo 8ixxq5 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/13/2021
Condition: Lower respiratory tract infections
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused intestinal pain Helped sore throat

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margo 8ixxq5 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/13/2021
Condition: Lower respiratory tract infections
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused intestinal pain Helped sore throat

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margo 8ixxq5 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/13/2021
Condition: Lower respiratory tract infections
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused intestinal pain Helped sore throat

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LLS | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/9/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was researching this product Zarbees Naturals Children's Cough Syrup + Dark Honey & English Ivy Leaf. After several hours I had red rash/welps all over my legs & arms & face after process of elimination this was the only thing I took within the 3 hrs that would have caused the allergic reaction I immediately did research along with taking benydril. I saw the comment from an earlier post of the same mishap on the reaction of taking this product. This needs to have a warning label on the English Ivy Leaf Extract.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie Cass | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/10/2019
Condition: Acute bronchitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was first prescribed Prospan syrup by a physician of German nationality in Abu Dhabi some fifteen years ago, and found that it lessened the inflamation in my bronchial tubes considerably. It's easy to take, too. I have since used it any time I get a cold or the flu, and it shortens the time I'm sick and makes me a lot more comfortable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/19/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relieved my cough

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lesa | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/4/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had upper respiratory infection, cough with mucus, I have asthma so airways were restricted - I had a doctor's appointment for the next day as this does not resolve on its own because of asthma. I was looking for some relief for the day and bought a Zarbee's product with ivy leaf extract - I drank 4 of the packs the 1st day, and could not believe the difference that night, I slept well, the cough was soothed and the mucus was greatly reduced. The next morning I felt even better and cancelled my doc appt. I also noticed that the joint pain I had was gone, I felt so good, and mentioned that to my sister - at the time I did not realize the ivy leaf extract also eases joint pain. I am so impressed with this product and will continue to take it as a maintenance product.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monica | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/24/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used over the counter prices that included English Ivy extract throughout February 2018 for coughing and mucus. Used syrup and powder forms. Tested positive for Flu Type B after using for several days. Prescribed Tamilflu. Cough continued and rash intensified. Rash proceeded to blister in patches, esp on right forearm. Doctor diagnosed rash as contact dermatitis. The English Ivy may have caused it. I stopped using the products with English Ivy and treated rashes like poison ivy. Rash is healing finally. Called the product line and was advised to stop using the products with English Ivy. I also have experienced shortness of breath. I am curious now and seeking more information on the oral use of products containing English Ivy. I am curious if others experienced rashes or side effects while using products that include English Ivy. I used Zarbees products.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mom3 | Age: 7-12 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/28/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave my 7 year old cough syrup containing English ivy leaf, and it upset his stomach, and created a much more mucus moving cough. We haven't figured out yet if it is helping or not with his upper respiratory infection symptoms. I am rating this treatment based on the side effect of vomiting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/9/2016
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WORTHLESS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sracometa | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/7/2016
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was diagnosed with "Asthma" by american doctors at the age of 3. Health care in America is one of the worst things that we have. Infrastructure is the best of the world, but doctors mmm? I refused to give her Oral cortisteroids, Syngular or aLBUTEROL. Nobody in the family had asthma. It just didn't make sense. I researched and studied Asthma deeply. Her "asthma" dissapear. The best brands are Enzymathic Therapy and Nature's Way. I am taking now for my Bronchitis along with antibiotics and albuterol because I am old and it works very good.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amiee B | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/24/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had really bad spring/fall allergies since age 15...so, 16 years now. It knocks me flat for at least 15 days each time. Cough, runny/stuffy nose and sinuses, post-nasal drip, watery eyes, phlegm, congestion, headache, neck muscle aches, fever, chills, you name it. Like someone is putting my head in a vice and squeezing slowly. No allergy medication has ever been able to touch it. No menthol rub or cough drop have been able to clear me for more than a few hours at a time. Chicken soup, lemon/honey/ginger tea, bed rest, etc etc have all been a waste of my time. I was on Day 3 when I bought this syrup. I've been taking 1/2 tsp 3x/daily of the Children's Formula for the last THREE days (which is half the dose for a 5 yr old). My symptoms are almost totally gone! Imagine what the Adult formula would do...!! Completely recommend for the allergy sufferer who has tried all the drugs and hasn't found a solution.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wagriff | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/23/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had an extremely congested cough with heavy mucous that would not dislodge. Tried some of this new stuff at a pharmacist's suggestion. Expensive. Tasted like awful(the wife also tried it and almost vomited) and it gave me an irregular heartbeat during the night. Would not use again. Flushed the rest of the bottle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RestNspititup | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/24/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With serious influenza and a killer convulsive cough, and not able to tolerate alcohol, my wife found a hedera helix cough syrup. The immediate effect is a calming & soothing of throat/cough. But as the night wore on the wracking cough still kept me up all night. The 2nd day things were much better, but laying down brings the cough back & nights were still tough till I felt better with time. I have had better cough control, but they are either no longer made or now prescription. Yes, I would use it again after trying others for better effectiveness.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vivianvc | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/2/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 4 year old son had a cold with very bad phlegmy cough. This all natural cough solution of honey, zinc and English ivy extract helped tremendously.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/2/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have copd plus lyme disease. I had to give up my inhalers because of the lyme. Dr. suggested ivy extract,and works quite well. I have thick blood and my inr count keeps going up and down down down . When my inr numbers are low I do not feel well. I would like to know if english ivy has vitamin K in it because it is a green leaf. I would like very much to continue with the ivy because it does help. Very seldom do I get short of breath, just when the weather is damp.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/29/2011
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had congestion in my chest and a horrid cough for months. Ivy Extract is the only thing that I have come across that can stop the cough and relieve the symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 |
12/27/2011
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More