Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

119 People found this comment helpful

I think it's important to state i have not carried children which may affect my outcome/results/symptoms (?)...I am 48. i have had heavy menstrual bleeding and clotting for almost two years with intermittent break thru bleeding. I went for my annual exam and was told by the young (female) GYN I should have a hysterectomy! I declined so she suggested an ultrasound which showed a polyp in my uter...

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

good

Shared reviews and ratings

ResearchNeeded | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/2/2021
Condition: Menorrhagia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ObGyns do their best, but medical science is still at the poke and prod stage. Researched online for clinical studies and found few that were relevant. Apparently clinical research still considers women's health a niche field of study even as women make up more than half the human population on earth. Go figure. Finally, finally found Shepherd's purse tincture written up through an obscure reference in clinical trial studies at PubMed online. It works miracles: I've had heavy bleeding my whole life which became flooding during perimenopause in my late 40s. Then in my 50s I had prolonged periods lasting months. Finally found the research then found tinctures online from various brands and a local naturopathic store that carries an HerbPharm tincture. Per the dosage on the bottle a dropperful 2 to 5 times per day should work. On day one it slowed the bleeding and by the evening on day two, the bleeding stopped. Finally. My life is normal again and I'm freed from my tether. I can go out and generally live a normal life without fear of bleeding breakthrough in public. What a relief!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bewell4life | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/22/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think it's important to state i have not carried children which may affect my outcome/results/symptoms (?)...I am 48. i have had heavy menstrual bleeding and clotting for almost two years with intermittent break thru bleeding. I went for my annual exam and was told by the young (female) GYN I should have a hysterectomy! I declined so she suggested an ultrasound which showed a polyp in my uterus. She performed surgery to remove the benign polyp (and did a D&C). Three months later the same issues recurred. I learned on this site rarely do D&Cs correct excessive bleeding. She suggested a hysterectomy, again! Frustrated, I switched to another MD who incorporated complementary therapies. New MD ordered an ultrasound to rule out another polyp. In the interim, he put me on Vitanica Slow Flow with Shepard's purse and other herbs. Worked to lessen flow immediately. Very happy with results and actually comfortable! F/u Ultrasound showed no polyps and have taken SF now for a second time. Great results again. Sisters, as one who worked in hospitals for nearly 20 years, do not take surgery as the only answer to your problems. Ask lots of questions and advocate for yourself. Today, many doctors are driven by making their numbers, not making you healthy. There have been many reports of unwarranted surgeries, including one on CNN which claimed experts say 2/3rds of hysterectomies are unneceassary! be sure to do your homework!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thankful | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/12/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Mirena placed in September 2012 and have had spotting/bleeding off and on ever since. Fed up and about to have it removed, I search online for something to help stop the bleeding and found Shephards Purse. I took a dose (35 drops) as soon as I received it and the bleeding stopped. The taste is awful, but I hold my breath and chase it with juice. I am so happy I found this herbal, natural treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bleedinginthebay | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/17/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having an awful, long menstrual cycle (going on one month now). I am 39 and am not yet into menopause but am entering the perimenopause phase. I was researching natural medicines on the internet and found that Lady's Mantle along with Shepherd's purse could possibly slow down the bleeding. I also have 3 fibroids so that doesn't help. I have been taking it for 3 days now as a tea form and it has reduced the bleeding significantly. I am crossing my fingers that this is the ticket to make my awful long period go away.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/4/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/1/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/1/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bb | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/10/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started taking Shepherd's Purse (Capsella) in pill form. I don't know the right doseage. Any more information would be helpful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/15/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jdoll | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/11/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with Fibroids. Heavy menstrual bleeding for 20 years, I wear 2 tampons, a pad and a depends. Dr suggests hysterectomy. But now I am 47 and close to menopause. I only believe in surgery for medical emergencies. Too many women have unnecessary hystos. A friend recommended shephards purse to me 6 months ago. I took it and on the first day my extremely heavy period stopped. I mean, no bleeding, I could not believe it, I took it 2 more days and no bleeding. I skipped 2 days and the bleeding started again. The following month I took it 2 days before period was due, and had no period. I have been taking it for 6 months now and it is like a miracle. Works best when I take it a day or 2 before period, then no period. Gave to my daughter who had her first heavy period at age 28. Bleeding stopped immediately. I don't know how it works, but after 20 years of a poor quality of life I now have freedom. My periods still come, but the minute I take Shepherds purse they stop, actually within an hour. Utterly amazing. I am learning more about natural medicine. Don't have insurance right now, but when I get another job with insurance, I will have fibroids measured, and red blood cell count. If there is a difference in size and a improvement in anemia, I will shout it from the mountain tops. No side effects to date. But it does taste awful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More