Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

117 People found this comment helpful

I am mainly writing this review cause I feel the dosage they recommend on here is quite high. I know it could be a personal issue but I would highly recommend not taking more than 50mg a day. 300mg of this stuff will likely make it difficult to sleep at night. In fact taking it regularly at 25-50mg I noticed that I was no longer getting very deep sleep. During the day however I had plenty of energ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Have been on standard NOW brand DMAE dose for a week, and my fatigue level from SLE (lupus) and rheumatoid arthritis is dramatically reduced. One week is clearly not enough to go on, but I've had those conditions for 6 years now, and have gently tried many different supplements, being careful to isolate each (solve for one variable at a time). Also, the "double blind, placebo controlled, peer rev...

Shared reviews and ratings

Victoria | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/1/2019
Condition: Attention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug has improved my memory and concentration well, did not cause the side effects mentioned in the description. At first my performance increased, everything was fine. But I have SLE and take corticosteroids and immunosuppressants, without changing the dosage of the drugs I take, I felt a deterioration in my health. Ligaments and muscles ached, the temperature rose, hair began to fall out, which indicates an increase in the activity of the disease. C reactive protein increased from 5 to 20 units. As soon as the denol was stopped, the condition began to slowly improve. I made several attempts to start taking denol again, but they were all unsuccessful. I advise people with lupus and other systemic autoimmune diseases to be careful!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
5/21/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gentle, helps improve focus and attention -- and sleep!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cjosie | Age: 65-74 |
11/8/2015
Condition: Attention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Beware: When I was between 9-11 yrs old I was prescribe Deaner my parents told me it would help me improve my grades in school. I recall I did not stay on the drug that long due to sleepiness... over the years I have ATTEMPTED without success to find info on the drug BUT FINALLY I found this info... I am devastated . At 68 I am concerned of the reactions it may have made on me chemically and could have attributed to many of my medical issues.. In 2015 I am wondering if medical advances have determined what negatives could have been derived from even a short-term use of the drug? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
7/24/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Littlequeen64 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/8/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm in my early 50's and have had skin problems all of my life. From clogged pores, adult acne and major scarring. Keeping my skin clear has been a constant battle. I started using all natural cleansing and moisturizing products and it helped a lot with the overall appearance and consistently of my skin. I came across an article about DMAE cream to use for aging, sagging and spotty skin. I decided to give it a try in addition to my new natural routine and the results have been dramatic. My skin looks younger and feels firmer. It fades old acne scars. It actually feels like it's helping with my skins cell turnover and renewal. After a few weeks it was noticeably different to others as well. My best friend was so impressed that she started using it as well. Her skin now looks younger as well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy camper | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/3/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow! I started taking this to try and improve my appearance and get my energy levels up. I am on a lot of medications which were depleting the nutrition in my body. I was always depressed tired and couldn't get off the couch and I looked like a drug addict, my mind was vacuous and I couldn't think or concentrate. After a short period of time my face filled out and I look much younger than my age. I feel excellent and my good moods are contagious. I cant remember ever feeling this good and am once again the active person I used to be. I also have my memory back and I don't feel stupid any more. I could almost write a book on the benefits I feel. My only recommendation is be smart, start small and work your way up for dosages and don't overdose. That could be as bad as not taking any at all. I love love love this supplement it gave me my life back. I should also mention I made my own face cream rather than paying a premium at a store which I couldn't afford.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/10/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Soltera | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on standard NOW brand DMAE dose for a week, and my fatigue level from SLE (lupus) and rheumatoid arthritis is dramatically reduced. One week is clearly not enough to go on, but I've had those conditions for 6 years now, and have gently tried many different supplements, being careful to isolate each (solve for one variable at a time). Also, the "double blind, placebo controlled, peer reviewed" method is the only method, so this is obviously anecdotal at best. That having been said, so far, these results are nothing less than astounding.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Siouxanne | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/14/2014
Condition: Attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I initially took the supplement orally and topically for dark skin spots and recognized it helped with my attention span. Also, I can't tolerate alcohol/wine as well using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Siouxanne | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/14/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 59 years old with age spots on hands, arms, legs, chest and face. This supplement has worked to fade them 90% away. Additionally I use it topically followed by 45 spf sunscreen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hardmarker | Age: 7-12 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/15/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using this supplement for my sons ADHD(he's 12 yrs. old.) So far we have seen only a slightly better attention span. However we have also a new 'growth spurt??? Not sure why? But he's welcoming it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K Miller | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/14/2013
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
galega | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/15/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Use for dry eyes and dry mouth for 2 months. I have seen some relief- more than from Restasis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Max Mom | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/15/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Psych had put my 11 yr old son on Focalin (15mg). I was afraid so only gave him 1/3 of the capsule the first day; he complained of a mild (2-5) headache throughout the day, but he was happy cause he could focus and complete his work. The next day I gave him 1/2 of the 15mg pill. This caused pressure in his head (8 on a 1-10 scale), pressure in his chest, weakness in his left arm and hand. I immediately rushed him to the ER. On our way day, he was telling me that he was seeing the civil war, Abraham Lincoln, the buildings on fire; he recognized that it could not be real, but they looked real to him. When we arrived at the ER, they kept him 12 hrs under observation and sent us home with instructions not to take the Focalin anymore (of course). The ER Doctor told me that had I given my son the full 15mg, he could have had a heart attack. His EKG was normal and my son has no history of heart problems. With that said, I ordered Focus Attention from Nature's Sunshine and since I like him suffer from ADD I decided to try it first. This Focus Attention has Deanol (DMAE) as part of the blend. The first day I felt a pain (3) in the back of my head and base of my neck. However, I was able to clean and organized the house leaving it sparkling clean in 4hrs. I had never been able to accomplish this. On day 2 I decided to take one pill again, hoping I would get used to it and have no headache. This time I experienced the headache once again, but accompanied by chest pressure (5). It does help me to concentrate tremendously. Since then, I only take 1/4 of a smidgen (if you have those measuring spoons) I feel a slight pressure in my head (about a 1-2) but no headache, no chest pressure and am able to concentrate. Today I gave my son 1/8 of a smidgen. He immediately felt a bit of pressure in his head (1-2) his eyes "open" and a small headache (1-2). However, he is happy to be able to concentrate. No chest pressure at all. I will lower his dose tomorrow to 1/16.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
supp-friend | Age: 35-44 |
10/14/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am mainly writing this review cause I feel the dosage they recommend on here is quite high. I know it could be a personal issue but I would highly recommend not taking more than 50mg a day. 300mg of this stuff will likely make it difficult to sleep at night. In fact taking it regularly at 25-50mg I noticed that I was no longer getting very deep sleep. During the day however I had plenty of energy from when I woke up and took my dose in the morning to when I finally felt the need to sleep about 16 hours later. Now I only take it occasionally when I need a boost because of what it does to my sleep. Maybe at a dosage under 25mg a day you would be able to take this stuff daily without it interfering with your sleep but I have not tried this. When I first tried DMAE/deanol I was taking the recommended dose on the container which was 200mg. That ended up causing over stimulation which made me feel tired. I didn't realize until I took a much smaller dose that it was over stimulation which was causing me to feel drowsy. In my opinion be careful with this stuff and start out with a small dose, possibly even 5mg, and work your way up if need be.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pharmacist | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/30/2009
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More