Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

41 People found this comment helpful

Took NOW borage seed oil every day for PMS symptoms like debilitating cramps, bloating, tenderness, and severe depression -- the depression was starting a week before my period and lasting throughout, and I was getting my period every 2 weeks. I also had 2 miscarriages prior to taking this and hadn't gotten pregnant for 5 years. Within a month, all the PMS symptoms were totally gone -- only as lo...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

I saw this on Dr. Oz. Took this for weight loss in combination with Chitosan and PGX. I took it for the GLA concentration. I gained 10 pounds within a month, was always bloated and had fewer bowel movements.

Shared reviews and ratings

Survivor | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/28/2020
Condition: Respiratory distress syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it twice for immediate relief of pneumonia-like symptoms. One for "walking pneumonia" where borage tea stopped both my and my mother's coughing blood stage. Then recently with COVID-19 (before testing) like symptoms. A borage vinegar tincture gave immediate turnaround for difficulties breathing and damaging dry cough. Cough became immediately productive, body pains and strange heart thumping stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Survivor | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/4/2020
Condition: Respiratory distress syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I became sick with a virus that follwed the same symptomms as CORVID 19, before testing was available: tickly throat, Loss of smell, heavy fatigue, full body aches, unproductive, dry cough, fever, abatement then early stage respiratory distress. I took homemade borage tincture and almost immediately felt relief, recovered within six days, with just a lingering cough. On the sixth day had a family dinner party, (after sanitation of surfaces). No one became sick. Only knew to try this, because of prior experience of taking borage tea that brought immediate relief for the coughing blood stage of walking pneumonia. Other members of my family have been healed this way as well. one with the borage oil. This is a possibly a great option for the global pandemic that is being completely ignored, and should not be.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wjd | Age: 55-64 |
3/17/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My endocrinologist suggested Borage oil and melatonin for diabetic neuropathy. The combination has significantly reduced my symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sapa |
11/13/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In my previous garden, borage used to grow wild. I used to use the flowers as food decoration and I also nibbled the leaves because I liked them. I moved away from there and I'd totally forgotten about it until today, must get some seeds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No name | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/16/2018
Condition: Eczema
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used oral borage oil capsules for two plus months. Noticed weight gain. A total of 10 lbs. There was no change in eczema symptoms. Stopped taking it and lost the weight. Would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/12/2017
Condition: Dermatitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I opened a capsule and put it into about 1/4 cup coconut/olive oil blend. I had bad dermatitis from working in a kitchen. Gone within a week, also use it for rashy bottom in the summer when my sensitive skin acts up, works like a charm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/7/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The borage oil capsule really helped with my back pain, my only concern I have lost 10lbs in a month which is very scary could this capsule be the cause for the weight loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dawn | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/8/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for my dry eyes for several years and I love it, it does help. I use if in conjunction with eye drops. I will not stop taking them. I notice a difference if I even cut back on just 1 a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
imma | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/30/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

yeahhh

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa37 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/23/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took borage oil on the advice of a close female friend. I was hoping for some improvements with PMS, but what I got instead were worsening of PMS symptoms. For example, my breasts got larger and more tender, and it was very noticeable. Borage Oil also made my mood worse. I had to stop taking it for these reasons. I've tried Evening Primrose Oil too, with similar effects, but a little different, but no success with either one of these oils.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
English teacher | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/8/2016
Condition: Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was experiencing pain in my knee so much so that I thought I might need a knee replacement. My D.O. said to try borage oil before I did anything else. 100% improvement. Don't think about the knee at all and climb stairs multi-times per day. It was a definite miracle treatment!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria3667 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/3/2016
Condition: Rheumatoid arthritis (RA)
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not help for joint pain. Also caused constipation, mood swings, irritation and nightmares. Less enjoyment of music.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nevada | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/15/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter began taking this for her cystic acne. It worked well and as an added benefit her finger nails became very strong. I am a nail biter and have very thin and weak nails. She suggested that I try this. After taking 1 a day for six weeks I noticed that my desire to bite my nails was gone (amazing!!) It is now 4 months later and my nails are strong and wonderful. An added benefit for me is that my skin is not dry and itchy anymore. After 2 months I did change to 1 pill every other day due to slight stomach upset. This pill is amazing and I will take it forever. Brand is Natures Way.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/22/2015
Condition: Atopic dermatitis (eczema)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was seeking a vegan alternative to fish oils for a source of GLA, so I tried 2 borage oil capsules twice daily by mouth. Within weeks the severity of my eczema and acne was reduced; as an unexpected benefit, borage oil eliminated all KP (keratosis pilaris) and made my finger nails stronger and shinier. I'm a post-menopausal female caucasian who has had eczema since childhood and acne since puberty (despite three courses of Accutane).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Em | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took NOW borage seed oil every day for PMS symptoms like debilitating cramps, bloating, tenderness, and severe depression -- the depression was starting a week before my period and lasting throughout, and I was getting my period every 2 weeks. I also had 2 miscarriages prior to taking this and hadn't gotten pregnant for 5 years. Within a month, all the PMS symptoms were totally gone -- only as long as I took 1000mg EVERY day. It also lengthened my cycle so that I was getting my period only once a month, instead of twice as before. 6 months later, I was pregnant with no problems (no nausea, tiredness, etc.) and carried to term with not even the tiniest threat of miscarriage and delivered a healthy baby. Thank God!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
5/28/2015
Condition: Eczema
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Borage or Flax/Borage oil is the ONLY treatment that has worked for my excema, making it disappear completely. Once it disappears, I only have to take it twice a week to ensure it does not return. I am so thankful I have found this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/2/2015
Condition: Eczema
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My skin has cleared up completely. I have had eczema for 14 years. Thrilled!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/30/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this oil for 2 months now fo PMS. PMS symptoms are completly gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roberta | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use it for PMS and it works very good to me. Better than vitex agnus castus. But when my PSM is at its worse, I have to take about 2000 mg of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TonySpeak | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/5/2015
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had horrible chest congestion for two weeks. after 3 days with borage oil pills it was gone. had eczema breakout, split a pill open for the oil, immediate relief of itching and its fading fast

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More