Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

61 People found this comment helpful

I first started taking Petadolex when I was ten, and traveling abroad. My mother had been using it daily to ease migraine headaches for several years. My migraines were blinding, puking pain for hours up to days. Sometimes I would get background headaches that would be on and off for several days. So we tried taking butterbur as soon as I got any early warning symptoms. Almost invariably, if I tak...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I have had a low grade headache since I've been taking it

Shared reviews and ratings

TaraB | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/1/2020
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using as a preventive at 300mg/day (butterburg 75mg with feverfew), so about 4 small capsules spread out over the day. It's truly been a miracle when RX meds have not, but it didn't work at the recommended 150mg for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katerina | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/25/2020
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

butterbur 75mg x 6/day helps reduce my migraines with nausea from 15/month to around 5-6, so it definitely helps, but the frequency and number of pills that I've found to work tends to be somewhat costly on a fixed income.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DesertFox80 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/2/2019
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took about two months for the full benefits to kick in, but it has been far better than any of the prescription medications I've taken.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/23/2018
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking 150 mg daily and it is reducing my number of migraines, will see if they stop altogether. I only have side effects if I go higher than 150 mg--it causes my eyes to hurt. It definitely increases my sex drive. I haven't seen anyone else mention it having that effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CATRYNA | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/5/2018
Condition: Allergic rhinitis (hay fever)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butterbur has been a godsend for me. I am allergic to the standard OTC antihistimines and most herbal treatments I have used for the past 30 years have not worked. Butterbur is like a miracle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/4/2017
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drastically decreased the frequency of my migraine headaches. I used to get them once a month for a 2-3 day period and now they are practically non existent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/1/2017
Condition: Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken at onset of mild headache. It works well, but for a stronger headache, I require MSM in addition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/23/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/17/2017
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wildcraft | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/12/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Samster's Triad, asthma, nasal polyps and aspirin sensitive and year round allergy. My sinus stuffy and my ears always feel so full which lead to my temporary hearing loss. Since taking this Sinus Butterbur extract now I can hear again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/28/2016
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

? toxicity for nursing mothers?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/12/2016
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying every migraine "cures" this is the only thing that has relieved my headaches and neck pain. It is truly a miracle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bundle | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/31/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it along with cetrizine.The cetrizine by itself was not working but adding butterbur with feverfew seems to work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/22/2015
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first started taking Petadolex when I was ten, and traveling abroad. My mother had been using it daily to ease migraine headaches for several years. My migraines were blinding, puking pain for hours up to days. Sometimes I would get background headaches that would be on and off for several days. So we tried taking butterbur as soon as I got any early warning symptoms. Almost invariably, if I take it within half an hour of early symptoms, the migraine stops completely within 15 minutes. More than 3/4 of the time, if I take it after early warning, when the full headache starts, the migraine intensity is lessened significantly. Often, this is the difference between days of pain, and sleeping at night. I don't take it every day as a preventative, just when I get symptoms or know I will be around a lot of triggers. I've never needed to get other medicine prescribed for migraines, since this works so well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mateo | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/19/2015
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The butterbur was used in a product called Migra-eeze. Some studies show butterbur relaxes smooth muscle tissue. The only side effects are burbing of oily taste if you take it after a meal. Take it before or with food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smbchoppergmail.com | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/7/2015
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has helped with alot of my problems but mostly my migraines and im glad my Dr told me to go online to order these im so grateful that he gave me the name.thank you

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spanousis | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/16/2015
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butterbur is a lifesaver! My Neurologist prescribed it to me as I had constant migraine. I take 1 capsule twice a day and it has prevented my migraines as well as helped my anxiety and allergies. Amazing product! I use Swanson Butterbur.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/20/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Reduced vertigo from migraine associated vertigo...only have 1 headache a month

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/25/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My neurologist has put me on many medications for my migraines and vertigo with no success. He recommended the Butterbur. It is amazing! So relieved to find something that works and is natural.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/9/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More