Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

53 People found this comment helpful

I have had daily headaches for years, with migraines occurring frequently, especially after consuming a "trigger" like MSG, tannins in tea, or nitrates in meat. After being on 2 pills of butterbur a day, I very rarely have a bad headache. Even after consuming a trigger, I may get a twinge, but nothing horrible. My constant background headache is GONE. Love it!

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I have had a low grade headache since I've been taking it

Shared reviews and ratings

Katerina | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/25/2020
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

butterbur 75mg x 6/day helps reduce my migraines with nausea from 15/month to around 5-6, so it definitely helps, but the frequency and number of pills that I've found to work tends to be somewhat costly on a fixed income.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CATRYNA | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/5/2018
Condition: Allergic rhinitis (hay fever)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butterbur has been a godsend for me. I am allergic to the standard OTC antihistimines and most herbal treatments I have used for the past 30 years have not worked. Butterbur is like a miracle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/1/2017
Condition: Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken at onset of mild headache. It works well, but for a stronger headache, I require MSM in addition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/23/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/17/2017
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/28/2016
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

? toxicity for nursing mothers?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/12/2016
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying every migraine "cures" this is the only thing that has relieved my headaches and neck pain. It is truly a miracle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bundle | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/31/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it along with cetrizine.The cetrizine by itself was not working but adding butterbur with feverfew seems to work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mateo | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/19/2015
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The butterbur was used in a product called Migra-eeze. Some studies show butterbur relaxes smooth muscle tissue. The only side effects are burbing of oily taste if you take it after a meal. Take it before or with food.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/9/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/8/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butterbur is an amazing herbal treatment for migraines. After using 4 different prescription medications (with debilitating side effects) for post concussion migraines, I heard about Butterbur. I researched it online and decided to try it. Taking one capsule per day has been extremely effective in eliminating my migraines--I've gone from daily migraines to no migraines---simply amazing. I also noticed that it helps a bit with anxiety. I use the NOW Foods brand with Feverfew--will continue to use this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SCB | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/24/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butterbur has decreased the number and intensity of my migraine headaches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ree | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
3/25/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I take the Butterbur along with White Willow Bark, I have no need to take Imitrex. I've been suffering for 8 years, and ever since I tried this stuff, no more pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/31/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for 40 years (55 years old). I have tried prescription preventive medicine which did not help. This is the first thing that has REALLY helped. I have only been on it for about 5 weeks and I have only had one migraine--usually in this time period I would have 5+.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/3/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a low grade headache since I've been taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teri | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/15/2013
Condition: Allergic rhinitis (hay fever)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been an allergy (hay fever) sufferer as long as I can remember. Hate how the over the counter meds make me feel, drowsy and dried out. When I take butterbur, my head feels clear, my nose isn't swollen shut, and I feel good. I think it works better than the meds I take. If there's a really bad pollen day, I sometimes still may take loratidine or chlorotrimeton, also. It's been a wonderful discovery!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/21/2013
Condition: Allergic rhinitis (hay fever)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take about 100 grams of Butterbur 2-3-4 times per day, and have been able to completely eliminate the need for any other antihistimine. I do not feel sleepy or groggy and am just delighted!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jjmo35 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
8/14/2013
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a positive experience with Butterbur. I take it twice a day in a product called MigraEeze through Vitamin Shoppe. It is an excellent support for my other meds, and I definitely notice when I don't take it. I will never give it up!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kojomobo2 | Age: 45-54 |
2/13/2013
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me Butterbur was heaven sent; nothing helped and I resigned myself to just being part of the 2% in the world living with medicines that didn't help with migraines.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ccrou | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/10/2013
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Butterbur helped with my migraines but gave me anxiety and a rapid pulse. After 4 months I had to discontinue. So sad because it helped so much with migraines.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More