Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

93 People found this comment helpful

For decades I suffered annually from Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD). Each fall, as the days got shorter, and levels of light diminished, I would become lethargic and depressed. I read about DLPA and began taking it and my bouts of SAD abruptly ended. I still don't like fall and winter but my moods are no longer influenced by the seasons.

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

it is an ingredient of slim stix and I am taking this as I desperatly need to lose weight I just wanted to know what was in this product as it cost me approx.$50-00 by the way I dont think it works as I have only lost 1 kilo and I think it is because I paid so much for it that I really want it to work, therefore I am trying to cut down on my food intake. is it safe for me to keep taking this ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/5/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this many years ago for chronic migraines after trying migraine meds, massage therapy, meditation, etc. Nothing worked consistently until I tried DLPA. It worked wonderfully! I was able to get off everything else. After years of suffering it felt like a miracle!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginkin5 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/24/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used it personally for arthritis. My husband has used it and has been in pain management for 12 years after an accident. My senior dog uses and benefits from it.He has severe arthritis in the hips. I gave it to my son for arthritis. Gave it to my daughter for fibromyalgia. It helped a lot. Try it for a month. It's about 15 bucks. Everyone that I have asked to try it, has had at least a moderate benefit and no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kreativ1 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/10/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ordered this medication for mental alertness, not knowing much about it. So I had few expectations. I took it for about two weeks laxidazlidly. I must tell you, right away, that I suffer from a rare condition caused by an overgrowth of neuroreceptors in my brain for a certain medication I took for three years. It was a potent muscle relaxant used for spasms following a C6-C7 fusion. I became disabled with chronic pain throughout my body from brain damage. I also suffer from major depressive disorder, which worsened since I became disabled. After taking this suppliment for two weeks, I started to work on projects around the house that I put off for years. I didn't think much of it, until I had noticed this intense motivation to get my lengthy list completed. It's been two months into that list and I've almost completed it! My motivation has never been so high since my disability began. As far as my depression goes, I have paradoxical reactions to almost every psychotropic medication, especially SSRIs, SNRIs, and Welbutrin. No anti-depressent has ever worked on me... EVER! After being on DLPH for two and a half months now, here's all I can attest to. This is the only anti-depressent that has ever worked!!!; my motivation is at an all-time high since 2009; my pain is at an all-time low since 2009; and I can work 8 to 10 hours a day instead of 2 to 5. Even my strees is down which is a major set-off for my pain episodes. I'm on a lot of medication and have to normally take it every three hours. Since DLPH started working, I can go at least 5, if not 6 hours between doses. I'm a total skeptic!! And it was extremely unusual for me to even try a supliment like this. But for some reason, I did. So far, it has been life transforming. I am an unusual case with a plethora of problems. This may not be as effective for everyone who tries it. I've learned the hard way that I have very unusual chemistry. Just try it and see what happens. I can't recommend it enough!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carolina1 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/5/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not sure how long you can take it, but I was surprised to see that my mood improved upon taking it. I used to be on Imipramine, but now it is connected with dementia. Hope there is more research on this supplement

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sir4dude | On supplement for 10 years or more |
5/29/2016
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken DLPA for years, not daily but as required anytime shoulder pain and lower back pain crops up after golfing, long walks, softball and other physical activity. Works like a miracle, absolutely no side effects. Can be hard to find. Have told so many people about this when they complain about aches and pains. Nobody has ever come back and said they tried it, why? because they are stupid. 60 capsules under $20. Doesn't hurt to try it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/19/2016
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Some less numbness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pain Research | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/4/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for chronic back pain from stenosis. Opted to try DLP instead of cortisone epidural offered by the MDs. Amazingly great results. Ultimately, no pain. Julia Ross in the Mood Cure book talks about it & that's how I learned it might help with pain, as well as mood. Watching my blood pressure effects by taking 400 mg of Magnesium Glycinate per day to balance out the DLP and Magnesium keeps me calm, normal blood pressure, improved sleep, reduced anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Acapulco | Age: 65-74 |
9/11/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Morphine patches for A.S.but they made me very sleepy .A friend suggested I tried dl-P so I gradually phased out Morphine and phased in dl-P. Just as effective but without the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amgreen | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/6/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take an over the counter method with this active ingredient for "calming" i have anxiety and therefore insomnia. This is in step form and i put it on my tongue and it seems to work ok. Package does caution use for adults only and avoid when our nursing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/17/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been a chronic pain sufferer w/ neck and back pain from auto accident. Got addicted to pain killers and muscle relaxants. Not only did I use DLPA to help get off pain meds, I only use it now for chronic pain! I have episodes sometimes, but DLPA makes them bearable!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trevorc | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/15/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Ankylosing Spondilitis.Doc has had me on many drugs over the years,most recently Morphine.Weaned myslf off that due to side effects and started taking dl-Phen.6 weeks in and it is the best thing I have had.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monti | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/8/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Absolutely terrible - sent me to my doctor with extreme high blood pressure - bad interaction with Alprazolam and blood pressure meds. Source: 'Ascent' chewing gum [over the counter] had a real crisis - almost dialed 911 and fortunately did not go to hospital.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/23/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from SAD as well as a tendency for adrenal exhaustion. I found that the DLPA actually made me worse, intensifying the depression as well as creating the cluster headaches that go along with deep depression. Very disappointed! I find that hypothalamus and adrenal glandulars along with l-tyrosine and B6 seem to keep the crazies at bay. Took the DLPA during a particularly stressful time hoping for a little extra help. Made me appreciate the status quo but would love to experience a little mood elevation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gloria ortiz | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
2/27/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excellent for pain. For me it work well for depression. Clear your thinking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Keeping it secret | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
2/23/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got information on the use of DL-Phenylalanine for MS from the Vitamin bible. I also take Evening primrose and base vitamins for MS. I have never had a relapse since. I had a Naturepath that got me on the path of recovery with a low stress diet 1st. 23 years now and doing fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sls | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps significantly with my depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gail | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/4/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband had depression where he was exhausted and unmotivated. After reading "The Chemistry of Joy" I put him on 150 mg of DLPA as it is referred to in supplement form. It has helped him a great deal. After taking this for several years, and depression for situational as well as depression brought on by having to discontinue testosterone treatment, he increased it to 200 mg. I wish I could take it vs the Wellbutrin I am on, but it oddly causes my herpes virus to act up. That one is beyond me. This is a great alternative to the norepinephrine Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MarkP | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/10/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After struggling with major depression and anxiety for over twenty years, and undergoing various methods of treatment (including a laundry list of prescription meds, talk/cognitive therapy and ECT), my most recent psychiatrist suggested I try l-phenylalanine (1000 mg 2x/day) and l-tryptophan (1000-2000 mg at bedtime). While I can't say what will work for others, I can say that these two dietary supplements have been essential to my recovery. They effectively suppressed the anxiety and helped to lift the depression. The only negative side effect I noticed was a bit of mental fogginess, which was effectively remedied with acetyl l-carnitine (500 mg in the morning) and alpha GPC (300 mg in the morning).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jake | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/8/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes my heart go wild! Bad, bad, bad!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/28/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is an ingredient of slim stix and I am taking this as I desperatly need to lose weight I just wanted to know what was in this product as it cost me approx.$50-00 by the way I dont think it works as I have only lost 1 kilo and I think it is because I paid so much for it that I really want it to work, therefore I am trying to cut down on my food intake. is it safe for me to keep taking this product Slim Stix?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More