Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

It is a natural alternative to artificial sweetners yet safe for diabetics. I use it mainly to sweeten cereals and coffee and it provides a good flavor.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

NOW I KNOW--WebMD is alternative medicine--yuk--my friend is dying ks of alternative and not getting medical treatment

Shared reviews and ratings

Scott | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/4/2021
Condition: Hypertension
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using 10 to 15 packets of this sweetener for over 2 years now in my coffee daily and have had no issues. I buy it at Aldi's and I'm very satisfied so far. I have also used it in my tea, and in foods. But this stuff has some sugar alcohol mixed with it, and that may brother some people.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/17/2021
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed horrible diarrhea after using stevia in my coffee. I also had bloating and stomach pain for the entire day. I normally have no problems with diarrhea. Please make sure you are at home and close to a toilet. Stevia is not a healthy product and should be removed from the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
7/7/2021
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stevia | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/15/2021
Condition: Hyperglycemia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used stevia as a sugar substitute in my regular cup of coffee and within 5 minutes of drinking it, developed a sever headache which lasted for almost 2 days. I did not see this listed as an adverse reaction, however, it is. I subsequently tried a sugar free beverage some weeks later, which I did not know had stevia in it and had the same reaction. Clearly, this substance is not a sweetener alternative for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 |
4/22/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stevia is starting to show up in many foods as a sweetener. I have now seen 3 people have severe psychotic episodes within 2 minutes of ingesting the sweetener. In two of cases the stevia was listed as a 'natural flavor' and I had to call the company to confirm what was in the drink or candy bar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nonalori6 | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/28/2020
Condition: High blood pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Notice that most bad reviews don't mention the brand of stevia that caused issues for them. I go for the Organic Sweetleaf with inulin and, unlike some other brands, it works just fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vegetarianwino | Age: 45-54 |
9/22/2019
Condition: High blood pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Perhaps I could have been taking too much stevia but I had been having this sweetener in the form of four packets in 14 ounces of coffee (or tea) twice a day sometimes. It took about a couple of months but I started to develop hives. My skin would itch like never before. I had switched to stevia because sucralose (Splenda) gave me high blood pressure and aspartame (Equal) gave me headaches. I guess nothing beats sugar. Agave nectar seems to me to be the best sweetener (when I don't want to deal with the sometimes overpowering taste of honey.)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
8/11/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes severe itchy hand rash and irregular heart beat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ajaax | Age: 35-44 |
8/28/2018
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have skitzoid affective disorder and am pre diabetic. I take anti psychotics, anti depressants, also some metformin. If I eat drink any stevia products I get really depressed and I'm easily angered. My Suicidle thoughts increase and out look on life decreases.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
4/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NOW I KNOW--WebMD is alternative medicine--yuk--my friend is dying ks of alternative and not getting medical treatment

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/5/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been sampling protein powders and whenever I have one with Stevia, my mouth swells up for 30 minutes or so. Then I feel queasy for a while. It's not a severe reaction but it's not pleasant and I hate the aftertaste anyway. I'd rather have unsweetened or honey.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
3/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using stevia for years in tea, coffee, cereals and oatmeal in place of sugar. I have had no side effects at all. Love it and feel safe using it. Scared to death of all the artificial sweeteners. At least stevia is natural. Whole foods sell sodas made with stevia and love them too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
3/7/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Stevia for years with no side effects noticed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/15/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Stevia with no side effects noticed. Some of those that claim side effects may be using too much. I use 1/8 teaspoon per cup of tea or other non sweetened drink. I would recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OlderandHealthier | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
12/9/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Pure Via stevia (one packet) on oatmeal as part of my effort to lower my blood sugar because I have been diagnosed as pre-diabetic. I really like it because it does not have any of the odd taste or aftertaste of other sugar substitutes. I have been using stevia for only about 8 months. I have not had any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandeetch | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/2/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stevia has made me break out!!! The longer I used it to completely replace sugar, my rash became worse! Has this happened to anyone else?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Old Kid | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
11/12/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using the pure powder for over 10 pluss years. My thinking is the more sugar i cut out the better for me. I still eat suger products but I use a 2 liter bottle and a couple of tea bags with not even a half teaspoon of stevia and just let it sit out to steep itself. I drink about one or two bottles of this a day with no problems. At night if I drink plain water I get a stomach ache but not if I put in a dash of stevia. I no longer get an aftertaste from a tad too much of stevia. I use it in almost everything like coffee, home flavored yogurt, oatmeal, etc. A pound of the better stevia is not cheap but I look at all the calories I do NOT eat. I have medical problems with a good bit of pain from work injuries. Dentist trips are with very little pain and my cleanings last for at least a couple of years. At age 69 I don't think I have been harmed by stevia at all. No blood pressure pills but do take pills for bad back and bad wrists from work injuries which still give me much pain to deal with. We don't eat much processed food but my wife cooks from scratch mostly. In this day and age even scratch makings have chemicals I do not think are good for us. Till I have positive proof stevia causes problems I will use it. Sure better than diet sweeteners hands down. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pttan | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/2/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stevia is a sugar blocker, does not address the underlying issue of diabetes. Initial sugar level drop and increase in energy levels seen fades away after about 6 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Biggy Shortie | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it in place of sugar. Works for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
10/20/2013
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More