Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

66 People found this comment helpful

A little over a year ago I was diagnosed with high cholesterol and high blood pressure. I was prescribed a diuretic for the BP and crestor for the cholesterol. Both meds did an ok job lowering my BP and cholesterol, but the diruetic made me incredibly sleepy and dizzy and I heard about the liver damage and other symptoms related to crestor, so I wanted to find an alternative to both. I read that c...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

good

Shared reviews and ratings

Jeantype | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/18/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began using inositol to help with sleep - I frequently have trouble both falling asleep and staying asleep, and rarely feel rested or refreshed in the morning. After dissolving a teaspoon of inositol powder in a non-caffeinated beverage at dinnertime, I've found that my sleep quality has improved greatly. I have vivid dreams (not nightmares) and for the first time in several years am able to wake up refreshed and feeling good. The biggest downside is that inositol does give me digestive issues. But the positive results outweigh the negatives.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NONE | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 10 years or more |
8/24/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works very well. I consume 2000 milligrams twice daily with no liver problems. My LDL

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sdh | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/6/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking the supplement labeled simply "inositol powder," sometimes called myo-inositol, but not specifically the nicotinate variant, for anxiety for about 5 months. It has been the most effective anxiolytic supplement I've tried, and I'm very happy with the results. I take 3 slightly heaping teaspoonfuls a day (about 15 grams). This is consistent with the therapeutic dose that's been found effective in several lab studies. Inositol powder tastes similar to sugar and has scientifically been rated as "half the sweetness of sugar," so it's easy to take. Unfortunately, it can cause diarrhea for many people, and I still experience this occasionally, but it's a small price to pay for relief from the terrible, near-crippling chronic anxiety I had for 8 months after hospitalization for serotonin syndrome. Prior to inositol, for anxiety I tried magnesium, bacopa, ashwaganda, methylfolate, B12, B6, L-theanine, and hydroxyzine (Vistaril, which I find pretty much worthless, even at 200 mgs), including the seroquel and lamotrigine prescription meds which I still take daily. Inositol has been the most effective supplement I've tried. I learned about it by reading a post by a psychiatrist on the Psychiatric Times website extolling inositol as for anxiety, so I tried it. Within 5 days of starting inositol, my anxiety began to fade significantly. Anxiety still emerges a bit occasionally, but is nowhere as severe as before supplementing with inositol. I keep a journal in which I record my anxiety level on a scale of 1-5, with 4 being extreme discomfort and 1 being a very mild undercurrent of anxiety. Before inositol I was at 3-4 most days. Since starting inositol, my anxiety level typically ranges from 0-2, with most days at 0-1. There is research supporting the effectiveness of inositol as an anxiolytic on the web. I'm surprised WebMD doesn't have anxiety listed in the dropdown menu under "Reason for Taking This Treatment." I use Vitacost brand.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HEXOPAL 500mg tablets(inositol nicotinat | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
5/31/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer with Raynaud's phenomenon (fingers and toes go blue) whether I take the tablets or not they don't make any difference,they still go blue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/26/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
reperry | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
11/14/2012
Condition: Hypercholesterolemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a chemist. My Total Cholesterol was always 230; probably due to genetics. Seven years ago, I began at 800 mg Inositol Hexanicotinate two months before a complete workup. My fasting T.Cholesterol had declined to 160. I now take 1500 mg and it is 140 or less. My doctor researched it after I began and approved absolutely. Drug companies have been trying to discredit it---utter nonsense!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/28/2011
Condition: Hyperlipidemia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

will tell you after blood test in Jan. 2012.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wrangler2004 | Age: 25-34 |
6/8/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A little over a year ago I was diagnosed with high cholesterol and high blood pressure. I was prescribed a diuretic for the BP and crestor for the cholesterol. Both meds did an ok job lowering my BP and cholesterol, but the diruetic made me incredibly sleepy and dizzy and I heard about the liver damage and other symptoms related to crestor, so I wanted to find an alternative to both. I read that certain forms of niacin has been found to lower cholesterol and possibly lower BP, so I tried it. 4 months later and without any other meds, my bp is back in normal range (117/80 versus 142/110). Also, last check, my LDL has been lowered to normal levels and my HDL has also been raised. I've heard other forms of niacin do not produce the same effects (specifically niacnamide), so I made sure to find inositol nicotinate instead. Be sure to check the labels though, because not all niacin supplements are the same.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/15/2010
Condition:
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kvrdhv | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/7/2009
Condition:
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Web MD | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/28/2009
Condition: Hypercholesterolemia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no flushing so far

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More