Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I take 600+D Calcium Carbonate plus 4000 IU of D softgels twice a day. I always take with a meal or snack. I do not get indigestion.

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I experienced severe side effects from taking calcium supplement. There was no information on the container about side effects and I think there should be. my GP did not know about the side effects and suffered from hives and skin rash for many months before side effects were recognised.

Shared reviews and ratings

Pats | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/30/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have high BP and take medication for it I'm also pre diabetic and take METFORMIN 500mg 2x daily, VIT D 50000 UNIT 1X week and CALCIUM 500MG with vit D 2x daily. I find that after I take the calcium I get a stomachache and bloated. I tried taking it at different times. Does anyone have this problem? I just don't want to take it anymore. I have been taking it for over a year. My doctor said I just need to take the calcium. I can't do much with a daily stomachache and taking zantac or gas-x to try and relieve symptoms is not helping much. thank you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/26/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Totally stopped my having leg & foot cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
9/7/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
booboo | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/28/2016
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nannan | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/9/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this supplement for years by swallowing whole. I have recently noticed that the tablet has passed through to my stool undigested. There was no directions on the box requiring that the supplement is better if chewed. I believe taking this supplement has been a waste of money!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Your mom | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 10 years or more |
10/21/2015
Condition: Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Huma | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/25/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mD |
1/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Calcium minerals are essential to good health. Although some prescriptions and a few supplements are popular, it really comes down to individual lifestyle. The more active you are the more calcium you need!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/1/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/14/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vitamins and minerals do help and Calcium brought my BP way down.The Dr. wanted to change my medication but now that is not necessary!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lullaby | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/3/2014
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On an episode of "The Doctor's" they explained how Calcium makes you loose weight (especially if you are 50 and over) or in menapause! An average women between 50-70 should intake a minimum of 1200mg of calcium per day (either in their diet or by supplement). Remember, it's not just milk and dairy products you needtoeat....example, 1 cup of raw broccoli has more calcium than a cup of milk!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/2/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

has anyone noticed a bad taste in mouth when taking calcium?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bubbles45 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/24/2014
Condition: Premenstrual syndrome (PMS)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

By following their instructions that come with it, it really aids in loosing weight. Everything is based on your own experience, because everyone is different shape and sizes. If you decieded not to follow what they suggest to eat while on the tablet, you end up with an upset stomach. Its your body telling you have enough, sugars,nutrients, vitamins; in which you able is able to loose weight. Helps with the hormones. I was able to regulate my period naturally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hassan | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

one day i accidentally start check my BP and found out 100/147 then i came to know from home remedy if we use the calcium then it might lose the BP number i start using skimmed milk 2 glass and in a month its reduce to 80/120 and still the same

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
11/30/2013
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Turner | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/10/2013
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | Age: 65-74 |
3/26/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had calcium infusion four days ago and now am loosing allot of head hair and I'm very upset. how long will this last, and is hair loss permanent?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/3/2012
Condition: Nocturnal leg cramps
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 160 mg of both calcium citrate and magnesium [daily], has virtually eliminated nocturnal leg cramps. No longer need prescriptive drugs to treat this condition. Best source is Thorne Labs which I order thru my Naturopath Physician.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheryl | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/18/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced severe side effects from taking calcium supplement. There was no information on the container about side effects and I think there should be. my GP did not know about the side effects and suffered from hives and skin rash for many months before side effects were recognised.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/6/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Tums Ultra 1000 (includes 1000mg calcium) that I take occasionally for heartburn. Recently I found myself taking 4 or so tables a day for a few days because of heartburn. And now suddenly I've noticed that my ears are ringing incessiently! A high pitch. That in turn is making me nervous so I also have diarrea. I am thinking that this increase in calium may be the problem and i was wondering if anyone else experienced this problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More