Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

267 People found this comment helpful

I first discovered SAMe ( I think from a radio program in NYC) about 12 years ago when insurance ran out and I could no longer afford antidepressants. The AD's were also no longer performing very well. Coincidentally (I thought) I was suffering from the symptoms of Fibromialgia....very badly. Thousands of dollars and 2.5 years of varying fibro treatments ...guess what finally knocked it out. A...

Most voted negative review

35 People found this comment helpful

i DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS TILL TODAY.

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/12/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was motivated to try SAMe due to hip-leg-knee pain. The results were very good. I am able to exercise, walk, and do yoga without the joint pain! Recently, after a month on the product I am experiencing stomach cramping and intestinal pain. I am prone to the digestive issues. I will back off on using the SAMe, try every other day and see how it works. I believe in the product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BearMan | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/16/2021
Condition: Cirrhosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had cirrhosis for many years.Doctors say there is nothing I can take to help.Well,Sam-e has reduced my enzymes, Billy rubin,and I feel great.On a week,then skip a week.Then back on.400 mg

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angel | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/16/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first, everything was wonderful. I felt relief from my depression once the sam-e had time to kick in/process and it was like a weight off my shoulders. My depression didn't vanish completely, but it was far easier to manage and i felt a marked increase in emotional stability that i hadn't felt for a long time. However, after a few months of taking sam-e I began to notice side effects. My anxiety became so severe that I could scarcely breathe and was left constantly short of breath and struggling to draw breath, and I was having heart palpitations regularly. I also occasionally suffered from stomach pains. All of this went away after I stopped taking the sam-e, I haven't taken it since or had the same issues since I stopped taking it. I was taking 400 mg per day of Nature's Trove sam-e in the mornings before eating.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carla | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/15/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works AMAZING for my ADD. I couldn't tolerate the meds, not even 5 mg. I can focus again. I take between 400-800 mg. It did stop working for my depression though (it worked amazing for it the first weeks :() and I started to get a belly ache (i take it on empty stomach). But I will continue taking it for my ADD, highly recommend it if you're sensitive to drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shelbyms | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/29/2020
Condition: Fibromyalgia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibro and myofascial chronic pain. I take 400 mg first thing in the morning, on empty stomach. Within 4 days I noticed significant reduction to almost no pain. Mornings were easier to get out of bed and my mood significantly less anxious or frustrated (typically from always being in pain). Only downside is I'v had some nights hard to sleep, but not from pain (which I'll take). I'm on first month so I'm continuing to monitor if any side effects. Otherwise so far highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
7/28/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken this several times and the effects always the same. Feel ok for an hour or so followed by awful anxiety for the rest of the day..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zebra.dkj | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/10/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed w PTSD following a lengthy and complicated medical issue resulting in multiple surgeries, invasive testing, consultations and malpractice and severe pain. Hesitant to try any meds for what I assumed was a temporary situation. After reading "Healing Anxiety and Depression" by Amen

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Val | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/7/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking for less than a month for intractable lower back pain. In 2 weeks I had a 50 to 60% decrease in pain. I am taking 1200 per day and had minor heartburn a couple of days. I rate it as close to a miracle as I could imagine. I am so happy to have stumbled across a site which recommended this supplement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/9/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As usual, I'm the exception to the side affect rule as this gave me extreme tiredness, pains in my stomach and increased irritability, horrible vivid dreams, I heard noises that weren't there, and effected my vision. Very upset as I really wanted something "natural" to help with my energy level, mild depression and mood. I like to give things a full month, but couldn't get past 4 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/21/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using SAM-E for my arthritis (shoulders, back

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/9/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unable to tolerate antidepressant drugs, my Doctor recommended it. Within days it was working and after two months stopped it and I am fine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
4/26/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 400mg every morning for over ten years now. A friend gave me a box of the NutraLife brand and I've stuck with that. Once I tried one from the drug store and it seemed to work okay but I don't trust the quality of most brands on the shelves of Walgreen's. What it does for me is smooth out the mood swings and in general I feel better. I purposely went without twice, and both times after maybe ten days that creepy, dark anxiety came back. It was too scary so now I almost never miss a dose. I might try a larger dose to see if it helps more. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carson W. | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/26/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started to take this to help with my winter sadness S.A.D. which helped. I started with 200mg, but found that to be somewhat working. After awhile it seemed my body began to build up a immune to it, crazy more and giving me a headache if I missed a day. I bumped it up to 400mg, but got super foggy from it. At the start of this year I started experience bladder problems. I first assumed it was because I drank 300mg of caffeine a day, so I stopped. It was the feeling of always having to pee when nothing was there. I went in and got tested for everything. (UTI, Diabetes, gonorrhea, OAB) After seeing numerous specialist, they told me I either have prostatitis, or stop taking Sam-E (doctors best brand). Being 20, I said what the heck and stopped taking it. Later on, two days later I was completely back to normal. Iâ??ve tested it 3 times to make sure it wasnâ??t a placebo effect, but it always comes back. The pills worked for 1 year before I noticed these problems. Iâ??ve done research and there has been no trace of this with the medicine ever recorded. Interesting for sure!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
redreng | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/23/2019
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've never sought out a review of a medication just so I can rate it as well but this one helped me tremendously! I have osteoarthritis (mostly in my hip) and this helped relieve the pain and also helped my mood tremendously. Living with chronic pain can be depressing as well at times, but with this medication I have yet to notice any side effects and have a better mood and my brain feels less foggy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jannybaby | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/21/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nauseous and cramps after two weeks. Stopped for three days then took one and symptoms returned

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jer | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/26/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took SAM-E for approximately 3 months and was amazed at how much it helped my arthritis. I was almost completely pain free. However, after about a month I developed gastrointestinal problems and was diagnosed with IBS. By coincidence, I came across some research that suggested this could be due to the SAM-E. Apparently it is very rare to have this side-effect but unfortunately I did, because within a week of discontinuing use, my stomach was fine. I would highly recommend this supplement as you may not experience this problem. I have also had issues with depression for many years and have not been on medication due to side effects. After taking myself off the SAM-E I realized it had been helping me with that as well. I so wish I could continue taking it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan C | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/27/2018
Condition: Fibromyalgia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a MTHFR2 genetic mutation. I began taking SAMe (400 mg once a day) about 1 month ago for myofascial pain, and within 4 days I felt much better. It helps with methylation which lowers homocystine, so I want to continue using it. However, I began experiencing a serious lower back pain which felt like a vertebral issue, and since I couldn't think of any other change in my lifestyle or nutrition, I stopped the SAMe. After 4-5 days, I felt better, and began taking it again. After about 10 days the pain returned, so I've stopped taking it again. Now that about 5 days have gone by, I'm beginning to feel better again. I'm thinking about lowering the dose or using it on and off. Has anybody else experienced anything like this? The MTHFR2 mutation (one copy only) confounds the issue because SAMe should help me with methylation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1HealthyBee | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/30/2018
Condition: Osteoarthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pain is 90% gone! My degenerative disc is still present without pain!! Naturmade 400 mg 2x daily, for less than a week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1HealthyBee | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/30/2018
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using 800 to 1200 mg of Naturmade 400mg 2-3x a day, for about two weeks. I feel fantastic the fog, pain and depression are gone! It worked so quickly! Also have degenerative disc and have pain daily, taking the SAM-e that pain is 90 percent gone. Also have had joint pain in both shoulders, that too is gone, it's a miracle! Fortunately I have not experienced any side effects, the only exception is slight constipation, which magnesium citrate will easily take care of :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 |
8/28/2018
Condition: Fibromyalgia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading reviews I decided to try this for Fibromyalgia and maybe improve my mood and feelings. After 2 weeks it seems like has helped with all. No side effects. I generally feel better. Pain is better. I sleep better and don't wake up feeling horrible like I did. Seems to me is working and I feel physically and emotionally better !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More